We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great food!”
Review of Iron Forge Inn

Iron Forge Inn
Ranked #1 of 1 Restaurants in Bellvale
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Outdoor Seating, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Georgetown, Texas
Level Contributor
184 reviews
92 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
“Great food!”
Reviewed June 23, 2012

We had a very large (20 people) group dine at the Iron Forge on a Saturday night, and the experience was very pleasant. The setting is quite intimate, the staff attentive, and the food was outstanding! The Iron Forge even created a special keepsake menu for our group. I would certainly dine here again the next time we're in the area.

  • Visited June 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank crusadercc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

66 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    35
    17
    9
    4
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
NY
Level Contributor
228 reviews
145 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 157 helpful votes
“relaxing night out”
Reviewed March 28, 2012

Our table was ready for us upon arrival & we where greeted with a smile. Cocktails to start were great. The restaurant has a lot of charm, great table. Our server was very good. The food presentation, good. We have been dining here for about 12yrs now, as well as the Tavern downstairs and most of the time it is not a disapointment.

  • Visited March 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank ChantillyLace28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greenwood Lake, New York, United States
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Best Restaurant in Orange County”
Reviewed February 11, 2012

If you can have one last meal let Eric Johannsen of Iron Forge prepare it for you. We have eaten in fine dining restaurants throughout the US and Europe and still can't wait for the next time we go to the Iron Forge. The ambience, service, and always the Food, the Food, and the food. Not to be missed.

Helpful?
2 Thank Betty Q
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
52 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Always good food in lovely setting”
Reviewed December 11, 2011

Just off Rt 17A between Warwick and Greenwood Lake, NY, the Iron Forge Inn provides a lovely "Inn" setting with lovely upstairs main dining rooms and, in summer, outdoor patio, plus the downstairs Taproom with separate menu. (The seating in the Taproom can be uncomfortable depending on where you sit).
The food ranges from excellent to very good, but is reliably good and often excellent. The Flatiron steak (on the Taproom menu but served upstairs if you ask) is superb, the salmon excellent, the appetizers and deserts are worth the calories.
This is one of two or three places in the area where we take family, friends, or just ourselves for a good meal in a lovely setting --where you are greeted warmly by the owners and the service is excellent.. Open Thursdays to Sundays only; full bar.

  • Visited December 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank wharfinger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greenwood Lake
Level Contributor
34 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Uneven, but sometimes great”
Reviewed December 11, 2011

There is a downstairs "bar" which I like but my friends don't like - it has a cozy fireplace in the winter, and there is a special bar menu. I found the service in the bar to be confused, slow, and unhelpful, but that was in the busy summer season. Friends like the hamburger in the bar. The upstairs is beautiful, cozy, fireplace in the winter (try for that room). Sadly, I have had uneven meals in both the "bar" and the upstairs. The steamed clams appetizer was so tough that it was inedible. I have had the brook trout when it was wonderful and when it was terrible (dry, tasteless, stale). The portions are not big, except for the pasta. Sometimes, an item will be on the menu but not available - dissapointing. The soups have always been good so far, homemade, tasty. There is a very nice "garden" area up the hill behind the restaurant, available in the summer. The garden fills up quickly, and it is best to get there by opening time to get a seat there.

  • Visited December 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Harborhome
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Iron Forge Inn also viewed

 

Been to Iron Forge Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing