We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Fantastic Dinner”
Review of Sage Bistro

Sage Bistro
Reserve with OpenTable
Sage Bistro is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #8 of 71 Restaurants in Bellmore
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Massapequa, New York
Level 6 Contributor
104 reviews
60 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 99 helpful votes
“A Fantastic Dinner”
Reviewed December 28, 2012

While doing some last minute holiday shopping, my husband and I decided to have dinner at the Sage Bistro. We were greeted quickly, seated and were brought water and bread immediately. The waiter came with the menus and took our drink order. I ordered a Brandy Alexander. It was perfectly prepared. We started with appetizers, escargot for me and french onion soup for my husband. Both were outstanding. We ordered the same entree, hanger steak in a peppercorn gravy, served with a potato galette and string beans. Perfect! For dessert, my husband had chocolate mousse, which he thoroughly enjoyed. Service was wonderful, food excellent and the price a bit high, but totally worth it.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank deedeelongisland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

96 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    38
    35
    13
    6
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
NEW YORK
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Maybe just a slip”
Reviewed December 24, 2012

Have been away for over a year. Sage was always a favorite , The service was and still is great but the food seem to have slipped since our last visit. The Boullobaise was sim[ply not up to the standard of the past, the seafoor cakes were overcooked and tasteless. The Lobster Bisque however was super.

We'll go back soon with the hope that we were there on an off night

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank LONGISLAND001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Merrick, New York
Level 5 Contributor
78 reviews
61 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“A hidden gem!”
Reviewed December 2, 2012 via mobile

Consistently excellent food. The wait staff is always attentive, the food always delicious and the best Cesar salad around! A hidden gem!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Sperberlaw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Merrick, New York
Level 6 Contributor
144 reviews
106 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 167 helpful votes
“What happened?”
Reviewed November 29, 2012

Although I've eaten in this restaurant many times and even written a positive review in the past I have to report a terrible experience that my son and I had this evening. The service was terrible, and the manager of the restaurant was disrespectful to me. The waiter was asked four times to bring bread and butter. My food was served cold, and the goat cheese tart was burned. The salad that came with the goat cheese tart was mushy. I don't understand what happened, especially with the attitudes of the servers. When I showed the burned tart to the manager he took it back, but charged me for it anyway. I won't return here!

Helpful?
2 Thank PennyAmouyal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level 4 Contributor
44 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Good food, attentive owner, romantic atmosphere.”
Reviewed November 5, 2012

Recommended for adults or couples, this little French Bistro should be on restaurant row in Manhattan!
The owner usually will greet you at the door and the decor is warm and relaxing. The food is French but not overly fussy. Anything we've ever had is delicious. The service is very attentive. Its moderately expensive and the only drawback is the tiny parking lot out back. We enjoyed it last valentines day very much , but will go for dinner during the week as well. Take someone special and you get good results!
One word of caution: do not ! Park in the Friendly's parking lot next door. You WILL be towed!

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank amyt114
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sage Bistro also viewed

Bellmore, Long Island
Wantagh, Long Island
 
Merrick, Long Island
 

Been to Sage Bistro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing