We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A wonderful respite less than an hour from NYC”
Review of Bedford Post Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Bedford Post Inn
Ranked #1 of 1 Bedford B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
NYC
Level Contributor
240 reviews
127 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 262 helpful votes
“A wonderful respite less than an hour from NYC”
Reviewed February 11, 2013

A wonderful respite that is less than an hour away from NYC. The Inn is a perfect get-away for a weekend trip from NYC.

The service was outstanding. The attention to detail was incredible. We booked at the last minute during a huge snow storm which we thought might be insane but turned out to be the perfect time to visit. There were only three rooms booked since all the "normal" people cancelled. The staff was so gracious and our stay could not have been better. The staff went above and beyond to ensure our stay was memorable despite many of them staying over since they could not get home. We felt like we were staying in a winter wonderland.

We were pampered from the moment we arrived. I was truly surprised that the man who graciously, helped us with our bags was the head chef. Everyone worked in tandem and truly went above and beyond.

The front desk manager greeted us with a glass of sparkling rose. An hour later, a delicious plate of pate and bread were delivered to our room. It was a wonderful way to start the weekend. The room already had a cute bag of cookies by our bed. At night, a plate of incredible chocolate truffles were placed on our bed with the fireplace lit. This was bliss...

Downstairs in the library, the refrigerator offers drinks at no charge. Each evening there is an hors dourve and free wine in the library.

The rooms are decorated beautifully. We were in number 6. (There are only 8 rooms.) The room has gas fireplace and a terrace. It is cozy with clean lines. I was surprised though, that I could hear the guests next door.

The bathroom was spacious with a separate water closet, claw foot tub and spacious shower. The bathroom could use a few more towels. The robes were Frette and the bath products were REN. I think the bathroom was bigger than my first apartment.

A continental breakfast of muffins, juice and coffee was delivered on a tray to the room each morning. The hotel graciously, included a full breakfast on the morning of the snow storm and then delivered a wonderful additional dish of scrambled eggs and lox. The barn was completely empty but for the three hotel guests. We were all treated wonderfully. Even the next day, when the hotel was back to business, the extraordinary service continued.

A session of yoga for two at the barn is included in the package. The studio is clean, well-appointed with large windows which allowed me to focus on the beautiful snowy vistas.

I would highly recommend the Bedford Post Inn. The only negatives are that it does not have a gym or a spa. Spa treatments are done in the room. But, the intimacy of the setting and the service make it an outstanding get away.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Intrepidtraveler53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

141 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    87
    17
    13
    13
    11
See reviews for
16
90
6
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (32)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed February 4, 2013

Disclaimer up front - we stayed here right after Hurricane Sandy hit the area and the Inn was running on a generator. But, they were open for business and we paid full price so have to say, the service did not measure up. We made the reservation through their online site and completed all the information about room preference, wine preference, newspaper preference - and we indicated it was our honeymoon. Nothing was personalized about our stay. Why ask if you're not going to deliver? We had a chilly, could-care-less reception from the front desk manager when we checked in. The night manager was very friendly and made an extra effort but receiving a few cookies in our room just does not make up for the lack of service, which is why we stayed here in the first place. We had the opposite experience of other reviewers - no one made us feel welcome or went out of their way.
Ate dinner next to Martha Stewart in the restaurant which is good indication that the food is outstanding and service is flawless. However, the next morning when we went to eat breakfast, the generator lost power before our meal could be cooked. Understandable but again, front desk made NO effort to make up for the inconvenience, acted like we were a nuisance for letting him know about the problem and never acknowledged that we were not getting the one meal that comes as part of the room price. Why pay so much to stay if you're not going to receive appropriate level of service?
The frette sheets, bathrobes, marble bathroom, footed bathtub and luxurious bath products were all marvelous. Exquisite housekeeping, unique exposed wooden beams and fireplace are just what you want from a bed and breakfast. Wine and snacks served in the 'library' were wonderful touch. Unfortunately the lackluster customer service ruined our stay.

Room Tip: Balcony room on second floor was spacious and sunny
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Coll S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manhasset, New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed February 1, 2013

The Bedford Post Inn is a beautiful understated luxury Inn just 45 minutes from NYC.
The rooms are elegantly appointed with fireplaces, Frete sheets and bathrobes, and heated marble floors in the bathrooms.

The staff could not be nicer! They really go out of their way to make you feel welcome.

The food is great both in the Farmhouse and the Barn.

It was a wonderful get away - and close to charming New Canaan Ct

The Bedford Post Inn is welcoming and warm and a great place to go when you want to relax and enjoy a wonderful few days in a New England like setting without having to travel too far.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RLH33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Briarcliff Manor, New York
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed January 2, 2013

My husband and I were looking forward to a lovely romantic New Year's Eve dinner and were very disappointed. The place had not been decorated for the occasion. The menu was disappointing, and the food we ordered was bland and unappetizing. There we only two choices for dessert, so if you could not eat chocolate and disliked bananas, you had to go home with no dessert. It did not even include coffee.
For the price and reputation, it was a very disappointing experience. From now on we will read the reviews before booking a reservation at these expensive places.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank 315MTD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bedford Hills, New York
2 reviews
Reviewed December 22, 2012

We stayed at the Bedford Inn for 10 days during Hurricane Sandy, when our home had no power. The Inn was so very comfortable and the staff did absolutely everything to make all the guests comfortable in a difficult situation. The staff worked so very hard and around the clock. Every person working there was kind, thoughtful and lovely. The food was wonderful. What could have been a very uncomfortable week became a pleasure because we stayed here. This is a lovely Inn. Beautiful, comfortable rooms, on a lovely property. Kind, thoughtful staff! Fabulous food!
I would certainly stay here again. Will continue to eat in the restaurant often.

Room Tip: Every room in this inn is lovely, beautiful!!!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cynthia M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brooklyn, New York
1 review
Reviewed December 14, 2012

We were looking for a restful stay not too far from our NYC home. That's just what we got at Bedford Post! The staff was warm and welcoming. Arriving to a gentleman greeting us at our car, who then escorted us to reception and served us champagne while we waited a few short moments in the lobby. He then showed us to our beautiful room that we did not want to leave! The restaurant we had dinner in (Farmhouse) was outstanding. Serving quality fair while at the same time not seeming to pretentious. We can not say enough about this place and its charming appeal. Will return for sure!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Frank R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed December 8, 2012

We checked in to our expensive tiny room to find the tv not working. We were dismissivley told on day 2 that it could not be fixed due to a missing part. The kicker was breakfast on our last day there. I ordered eggs from the menu that were described as sunny side up. I asked the waitress to have them flipped over. Her response was that they could not flip the eggs because the chef was too busy!!!! We were dumbfounded! $650 a night, which did not include breakfast, and they couldn't flip my eggs! We reported the incident to Relais & chateau and will never go to Bedford post Inn again.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Navrun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bedford
5.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Mt. Kisco (Westchester Cty)
16.9 mi away
Tarrytown House Estate on the Hudson
14.0 mi away
Delamar Greenwich Harbor Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
14.8 mi away
The Ritz-Carlton New York, Westchester
8.0 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Armonk Westchester Cnty Apt
13.8 mi away
Ethan Allen Hotel
Ethan Allen Hotel
#2 of 15 in Danbury
741 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bedford Post Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bedford Post Inn

Property: Bedford Post Inn
Address: 954 Old Post Rd, Bedford, NY 10506-1216
Location: United States > New York > Westchester County > Bedford
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Bedford
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Bedford Post Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Bedford Post, set in the heart of Westchester, at 954 Old Post Road in Bedford, NY. Bedford Post is home to an eight-room luxury inn, a yoga studio, and two distinct restaurants: The Barn, for casual dining, and The Farmhouse, our more formal dining room. Reservations are gladly taken up to one month in advance at the Farmhouse, and two months in advance at the Barn. Join us for daily classes, workshops and events at The Yoga Loft. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Priceline and World Independent Hotel Promotion so you can book your Bedford Post Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bedford Post Hotel Bedford

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing