We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Rustic charm” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Bedford Post Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Bedford Post Inn
Ranked #1 of 1 Bedford B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Rustic charm”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 7, 2012 via mobile

I traveled to BPI on a Tuesday night with 5 girlfriends to celebrate a friend's upcoming nuptials that weekend.  Upon our arrival we were pleasantly surprised by the beautiful grounds and rustic, well appointed rooms, complete with exposed beams and marble mosaic tile in the bathroom. 

After an afternoon yoga session, we were greeted at the fire pit with fresh baked cookies and lemonade- a fabulous touch! We had dinner in at the Barn, as the Farmhouse is closed on Tuesdays. The service was excellent- Jose took great care of us. The affordable prix fixe menu exceeded our expectations, as did the quality of the food. Afterward, we returned to the fire pit and enjoyed the tranquility of the reflection pool and each others' company.  In the morning, we treated the bride to be with a massage in her room, which is a lovely amenity to offer in lieu of a traditional spa. Overall, it was a wonderful night and we felt well taken care of. It was the perfect setting for such and excursion!

Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
Helpful?
2 Thank K C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

136 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    83
    16
    13
    13
    11
See reviews for
15
86
6
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (31)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Binghamton, New York
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 30, 2012

I'll start from the beginning. The Inn is on a lovely road that is quiet beautiful. We traveled in late July and the weather was quite nice - we were excited to enjoy the outdoor areas we had heard so much about. Of note - don't blink, or you will miss the sign for the Inn and turning around on the winding road is difficult. We stayed in a Queen Deluxe Room with exposed beams, a claw foot tub and a small sitting area. The room was nicely appointed, albeit small, but we were warned about that. We were greeted by a young man who was friendly and informed us of a wine hour that would be taking place in the lounge that evening. Perfect! It was a stressful drive and we were looking forward to relaxing a bit before exploring the grounds. He asked us a time we would like pastries and such delivered to the room for breakfast - we wrote it on a piece of paper as he instructed - 7:30 a.m. We entered the room and were impressed with the furnishings and attention to detail. The cleanliness and function of the room were above average with the exception of a very dusty lampshade above the bed (like dusty enough to think some of it may fall on us when we were sleeping) and a slow draining sink and shower. We rested a bit on the amazingly comfortable bed and went to the lounge to enjoy a glass of wine. We waited a bit, and a bit longer, but there was no wine hour. There were, however, samplings of bruschetta available. We waited about an hour and then left to roam around the grounds, which are beautiful. Cocktails were next - on the patio we were greeted by an exceptional staff and served promptly. We were repeatedly encouraged to enjoy the fire and reflecting pool after dinner. Dinner reservations were at the Farmhouse at 7:30. This was the highlight of the weekend. Service, atmosphere and food were delightful! We could not have asked for more. The staff was happy to answer questions and offered a few items to sample as well. Just a lovely experience. Again, we were encouraged to enjoy a coffee or cocktail near the fire and reflecting pool, so we figured, why not? Sounds like a great way to end the evening. As we approached the area with the fireplace, we noticed no fire, it was dark and bugs were abundant. We sat down and shortly after, a hostess came out to start a fire. We chatted with her a bit, she attempted to start the fire, but left before it actually started, so it fizzled out very fast. We tried to get it going to no avail, and with nothing to ward off the mosquitos, we decided to retire for the evening sans fire and sans coffee. On our way back to the room, the hostess asked if the fire stayed lit. We said no, it did not, and she mused about how she wasn't good at it. We went to bed, somewhat disappointed. On to the bedding - excellent, comfortable and luxurious, but get the king if you are used to a larger bed. The next morning we woke up expecting to have a lazy morning in the room enjoying pastries and coffee. We waited until about 8:15 then gave up and went to the lounge. The young man working apologized, as there was an error in the time they thought we wanted breakfast. He immediately made up for this by bring pastries and juice to us in the lounge. We explored the town a bit and returned for brunch at 11:30. The brunch menu was surprisingly limited. We ordered a cold corn soup and a veggie burger. Nothing remarkable. Overall the dinner experience and beauty of the grounds make this a lovely retreat, but the staff could be more professional and have more attention to detail. We missed the few experiences of the wine hour and romantic fire. Certainly an above average setting and grounds, but we expected more.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Care B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 22, 2012

I recently hosted my 50th Birthday at The Bedford Post and during the planning I thought that the party planner was VERY relaxed. However how difficult is it to organise a dinner for 12 women who were flying in from various places in the world. We had drinks on the wonderful terrace and hors d'eouvres served by waiters who had no clue as to what they were serving and stated that ! Inside the air conditioning blasted out freezing cold air onto the backs of three guests including me and the rest of the room felt like an oven. Every single guest complained including me several times. We were given the chefs table at their suggestion and would have been happy to have sat anywhere it was cool. The first course was splendid then the main course arrived with no sides just chicken or fish on a plate. My original contract stated there would be 2 sides for the table . The desert was also spectacular. After the event I went to pay and was told don't worry we have already charged it to your card, who pays a bill without checking it first ! I complained to the organiser and then called The General Manager twice the first time he promised to get back to me the other times he was simply busy. I finally got an email offering me a free dinner the next time I was in the US. I felt so insulted by this as this was offered to get rid of me all I really wanted was for them to admit their service is second rate to their food. I had eaten at the restaurant several times before and loved it even forgiving the knives and forks placed the wrong way round on my first visit. My review is really aimed at those people organising events there, don't until they have their act together.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
8 Thank Tina H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arlington, Virginia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 9, 2012

The Bedford Post Inn is a B&B with only one B. For a quality Relais and Chateaux property (designated as breakfast included) at a high price point, this is not acceptable.
The room we had was very stylishly, if minimally furnished. The furniture was Ralph Lauren. The bedding was the finest, most expensive Frette Italian sheets. But there were NO dressers, and nowhere to put folded clothes. There was no footrest for either of the two comfortable chairs.
We were told that coffee and pastries would be delivered to our room at a time we designated. When we asked where the breakfast room was, we were told how to get to the very lovely, downstairs café. At the appointed time, someone brought a tray to the room, containing two tiny French press coffee makers, each containing barely enough coffee for one ordinary size coffee cup. We were also given a basket, containing two small croissants, and four mini-muffins. We were also given two glasses of freshly squeezed orange juice, butter and jam.
An hour or so later we went down to the café for breakfast. There was a menu of cooked items, a broad selection of baked goods, and beverages. We ordered granola in yogurt and an omelette, along with two coffees and a bottle of water. We assumed the breakfast was part of the room charge. We were then presented with a bill, which, including the tax and tip, came to over $50, and were advised that the breakfast was not included.....that the included breakfast was the coffee and mini-pastries brought to our room. (The bottle of water we were charged $8 for in the cafe was the same bottle we had been welcomed to take for free from the refrigerator in the inn’s lounge.)
We have been to many B&B’s, including some in the Relais and Chateaux chain, and never have we received such a desultory breakfast. We have had better “included” breakfasts at Comfort Suites. The fact that the clerk did not make it clear that the café breakfast was not included only added to the insult.
An addition issue was the parking. The inn has only 8 rooms, and has many spaces for parking in its stony, unpaved lot. However, the inn also hosts many events and has an active restaurant, and when we returned late in the evening, there were no spaces anywhere near our room, forcing us to park in an auxilliary lot. We could not understand why the inn didn’t designate eight spaces for “guests”.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
14 Thank Steven R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York, New York, United States
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 8, 2012

My husband and I had one of our best nights away from home at the Bedford Post Inn. Just a short drive from Manhattan, we arrived at BPI with high expectations on the evening of our 4th anniversary. Everything was perfect from the customer service to our lovely room and very spacious bathroom (unlike our bathroom in Manhattan) to our incredible dinner followed by a cozy cappuccino by the fire pit. Breakfast outside the next morning was delicious and the setting was so incredibly peaceful sitting in the garden outside the cafe just below the amazing yoga loft. The food and menu for both of our meals were exquisite. The landscaping, decor and environment create a superb respite from normal life. It was such a relaxing 24 hours. Our high expectations were exceeded by the friendly and helpful staff at BPI. We can't wait to go back!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Molly G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
new york
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 6, 2012

I am a semi-regular brunch patron here, and while I love the menu, the location and the ambiance, the Barn is woefully understaffed, and the current staff needs to learn basic customer service. It's as if there is no manager on-hand to ensure that people get seated, menus are handed out, and orders are taken. While there seem to be a plethora of bussers, getting some one to take your order is a bit of a challenge, especially if you are seated outside in the garden. And when you do get up from your table and mention that you would like to order, you are treated as if you were bothering the hostess.
I think this could all easily be fixed with a capable manager on-site, managing the flow and the customer experience, and also hire a few more servers. It's a shame because while I love the food, I sometimes get embarrassed about bringing guests there, as they often get frustrated at the lack of decent service. I make jokes about “it’s the country, ha ha!” but it’s getting old.
Last weekend the only person who inquired about my brunch was the lovely valet, who is always kind and asks about our family. It’s a shame that the best customer service is from the guy parking your car.
For equally delicious food and 10x the customer service, try the Schoolhouse at Cannondale in Wilton, CT, about 30 minutes away. Worth the drive.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank bayleyzebub
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 3, 2012

The Bedford Post Inn navigates the rusticity it attempts to achieve with the refurbished building perfectly, while still creating a luxurious experience. The luxury is perfectly understated with each nook and cranny seemingly thought through. The room was larger than expected, as well as the bathroom with its marble mosaic floors (also heated), claw foot tub and large shower. All of this, though, without losing the elements of what this building used to be.

The only reason it's not a 5 star review is that if you're not here for yoga, the on-the-ground amenities are limited (while still fantastic) with an outdoor living room and zen garden. Definitely recommended.

Room Tip: Room 8 is on the corner.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank adam87am
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bedford
5.0 mi away
Holiday Inn Mt. Kisco (Westchester Cty)
16.8 mi away
Tarrytown House Estate on the Hudson
13.9 mi away
Delamar Greenwich Harbor Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
15.6 mi away
Castle Hotel & Spa
Castle Hotel & Spa
#5 of 7 in Tarrytown
4.5 of 5 bubbles 153 reviews
14.8 mi away
The Ritz-Carlton New York, Westchester
8.0 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Armonk Westchester Cnty Apt
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bedford Post Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bedford Post Inn

Property: Bedford Post Inn
Address: 954 Old Post Rd, Bedford, NY 10506-1216
Location: United States > New York > Westchester County > Bedford
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Bedford
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Bedford Post Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Bedford Post, set in the heart of Westchester, at 954 Old Post Road in Bedford, NY. Bedford Post is home to an eight-room luxury inn, a yoga studio, and two distinct restaurants: The Barn, for casual dining, and The Farmhouse, our more formal dining room. Reservations are gladly taken up to one month in advance at the Farmhouse, and two months in advance at the Barn. Join us for daily classes, workshops and events at The Yoga Loft. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia and Orbitz so you can book your Bedford Post Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bedford Post Hotel Bedford

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing