We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Don't miss it”
Review of The Farmhouse

The Farmhouse
Ranked #9 of 13 Restaurants in Bedford
Price range: $50 - $50
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Business meetings, Special occasions
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Full Bar, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Dining style: Fine Dining
Transit: Metro North to the Bedford Hills Station.
Description: Set in the heart of Westchester Country, the "Farmhouse" at Bedford Post provides the perfect backdrop for a first class dining experience. A Contemporary American menu highlighting local seasonal ingredients, matched by an exceptional wine list. Reservations are taken up to one month in advance. The entire Bedford Post property is home to two distinct restaurants - the "Barn" and the more formal "Farmhouse" - as well as an eight-room luxury Relais & Chateaux Inn.
New Yorker
Level Contributor
83 reviews
71 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Don't miss it”
Reviewed August 28, 2013

Previous visits to the BP were less than we'd hoped, but I'm so glad we gave it another try.

It's a rarity at any restaurant to find no fault with food, service or ambiance, but this was one of those occasions. We had the roasted beets with pistachio, crisp potatoes, local and foraged greens with a delightful citron vinegar, fagotelli- little pasta pillows from heaven stuffed with mascarpone cheese flavored with sweet corn and truffle, cornish hen and a veal dish. Everything was a delight. Our knowledgeable waiter was careful to collaborate w/us on the order and pairing of dishes served, and had us taste several wines until we found what we liked. He was excellent. They are making an effort to present their best, and it looks like they've succeeded.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank JoanAdria
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

94 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    28
    18
    18
    17
    13
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Aruba
Level Contributor
16 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“A beautiful setting”
Reviewed August 10, 2013

Being just out of the hospital with an immune issue we wanted to sit outside to avoid coughs and colds. They were very accomodating and the outdoor seating area was lovely. The wood burning oven was delightful. My pork chop was a bit chewy but the taste was good

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank luvrx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Salem, New York
Level Contributor
40 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“A real disappointment”
Reviewed August 6, 2013

My wife and I went to the Barn for my 65th birthday. As it was a beautiful evening, we asked to be seated outside. The service was poor, in fact so bad we left without eating desert as we were to mad to bother to eat it. The restaurant only had a prix fix menu so it was included. The portions were a joke - I ordered fried chicken and got two wings and a leg with a tablespoon of cole slaw. My wives salmon was very good. Don't go there unless you are willing to eat in a pretentious place and to put up with poor service for a chance to see a movie star.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank WilliamF525
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yorktown Heights, New York
Level Contributor
24 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Poor food and service with high prices in a lovely setting”
Reviewed August 5, 2013

A classic example of a pretentious restaurant that can get away with poor food and service and a limited selection all at high prices because they are in an affluent area with a paucity of fine restaurants. Too much emphasis on fresh vegetables as if that will compensate for all the other deficiencies.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank leon t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Incredible meal, beautiful indoor or out”
Reviewed August 5, 2013

One of the best meals I can recall. We ate outside on the patio but toured the inside dining - both are beautifully done. Cool little lounge inside.. decor suits the place perfectly. Very high end yet with country ambiance.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank meewahLA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Farmhouse also viewed

Bedford, Westchester County
Bedford, Westchester County
 
Bedford, Westchester County
 
Bedford, Westchester County
Bedford, Westchester County
 

Been to The Farmhouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing