We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Romantic, Cozy, Warm”
Review of Bear Cafe

Bear Cafe
Ranked #1 of 2 Restaurants in Bearsville
Price range: $0 - $27
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Special occasions, Romantic
Dining options: Late Night, Lunch, Dinner, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
in the Big Apple
Level Contributor
81 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Romantic, Cozy, Warm”
Reviewed October 22, 2013

We were very pleased with our BnB's referral to the Bear Cafe. Very pleasing interior, attentive waiter, delicious, attractively presented food. I had the red snapper and hubby had the sirloin. Neither of us could finish the portions. We also started with the quesadilla which would have been better shared by 4 than 2. Their bread was out of this world! Fabulous.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank marre5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

211 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    109
    69
    15
    13
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
193 reviews
120 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 95 helpful votes
“Good food. Stays open late.”
Reviewed October 22, 2013

One of the very few good restaurants in the area that stay open late and also do take-out. Very delicious food, good wine, but don't forget to make a reservation otherwise there will be a lengthy wait to be seated. For take out call well in advance.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank JarvNY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hartford, Connecticut
Level Contributor
21 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Excellent combination of ambiance, interesting menu, and location overlooking water”
Reviewed October 21, 2013

I have been here several times and never have been let down. The location is just a couple of miles outside of the main village, on the main road but the setting is wooded and right on the creek. Request a table by the window if you'll be eating during daylight hours because the restaurant is situated right over the water...lovely. Even the bar overlooks the water, so this is a great place if you are just looking for a drink and perhaps something light at the bar. The waiting area is even quaint and overlooks the water. I'm not sure about outdoor dining or delivery... you'd have to call. The lighting is perfect...cozy and romantic. Not a place to bring the kids unless they can hang in a more grown up atmosphere and chill out. The interior is lots of wood...great fireplace. The food is contemporary without trying too hard. Everything they do, they do well. The pumpkin ravioli was excellent, as was the french onion soup, grilled bean curd salad, and huge steak sandwich. I've never seen so many fries on one plate, actually. The service was attentive...normal staff with no attitudes. The cost was about $90 for 3. I've been here at lunch time, too and had an excellent brunch type entree as well. Just a wonderful place for so many reasons!

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank StandByTraveling
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Briarcliff Manor, New York
Level Contributor
49 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
“Worth a special trip”
Reviewed October 14, 2013

My husband and 2 girls (4 and 2) stumbled on this place on our way into Woodstock. Lucky stumble! It didn't exactly look family friendly (on the high end re: price and decor) but we took a chance and are so glad we did! The view (floor to ceiling windows in a room literally suspended over a creek bordered by fall foliage) was only beaten by the food and service. I had pumpkin ravioli and my husband had the pork chop. Both were out of this world. For the kids, they offered to make plain ravioli with red sauce or butter and cheese -- not on the menu, and delicious! They also converted soup cups into sippy cups for the kids. We went through about 3 loaves of bread. Not sure, but I am betting they make it on premises. It was soft and yeasty -- I could have made a meal out of that alone. So bottom line I guess: Attitude casual and friendly -- food and service second to none. Don't count on high chairs and standard kid-friendly features, that's not what it's about. However, if you can't get a babysitter or are just driving by like we were and your kids are reasonably well-behaved, go anyway! This place is worth a special trip. Really.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Elizabeth_T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
77 reviews
44 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Wonderful food!”
Reviewed October 9, 2013

Liked the food and atmosphere so much that we went there back there the next night! Onion soup is to die for and the entrees were delicious. If you have room for more, the strawberry shortcake was delicious!

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank Auscanuk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bear Cafe also viewed

Woodstock, Catskill Region
Woodstock, Catskill Region
 
Woodstock, Catskill Region
Woodstock, Catskill Region
 

Been to Bear Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing