We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Open today: 11:00 AM - 3:00 PM
Save
Book In Advance
  
Ways to Experience Bear Mountain State Park
from $65.00
More Info
Reviews (546)
Filter reviews
546 results
Traveler rating
282
177
48
21
18
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
282
177
48
21
18
Show reviews that mention
All reviews hessian lake appalachian trail merry go round great hiking memorial tower fall foliage hudson river day trip enjoy nature overlook lodge picnic area ice skating beautiful scenery whole family nyc skyline new york perkins memorial drive
Filter
Updating list...
292 - 297 of 546 reviews
Reviewed November 14, 2014 via mobile

This is truly one of the best places to visit always something to do. Although prices have changed from the old days its still a great fun filled day and brings back many fond memories!

Date of experience: November 2014
2  Thank Susan D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 11, 2014

We took a day trip to Bear Mountain for the Oktoberfest near Hessian Lake and fall colors, it was our first time going there and we found out that we should've been there earlier because traffic was crawling. It took us 2 hours to travel 3 miles, after that parking was full so we had to circle around a bit to park a little bit closer, so yeah, get there earlier when there's an event. If you like peace & quiet, I guess Oktoberfest is not a good time to go there, but you can definitely find a secluded spot if you want. The place near the lake was nice, and there's a trail that goes around the lake. Aside from the event & lake, there's an inn and some more stuff to do down south (ice rink, carousel etc). There are some trails to the east of the lake where you can see Bear Mt. bridge and the Hudson.

Date of experience: October 2014
2  Thank digitizedchaos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 1, 2014

We took a drive up from NYC and had a great time exploring the park on a crisp Fall day.
We really enjoyed the lookout tower and had wonderful views of the surrounding mountains and Hudson River. We had binoculars with us which really broadened our horizons.

Travelers Beware: Temporary toilets in the area have not been cleaned recently and many are overflowing.

It was a great day -- few tourists around and quite relaxing and peaceful!

Date of experience: October 2014
1  Thank 1lacrosse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 28, 2014

We didn't have time or the equipment to go hiking, but driving up th ePallisades toward Bear Mountain in Fall was great. And teh little, twisting, turning road to teh top was brilliant. We must have been on a particularly clear day because we could see the Manhatten skyline in the distance. Great way to relax.

Date of experience: October 2014
1  Thank Pete R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 25, 2014

The park is beautiful and amazing. In the fall you can see a lot of colored trees. Is perfect to practice hiking or to relax in front of the lake. Its very nice to go with friends, family or even alone

Date of experience: October 2014
Thank Claudene G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews