We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Enjoyable Stay with a couple But's, mostly Room Related” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Bear Mountain Inn

Lowest prices for {0} - {1}
Enter dates for lowest prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
We check up to 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices
Bear Mountain Inn
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Bear Mountain
GreenLeadersSilver level
Wolcott, Connecticut
Level Contributor
69 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Enjoyable Stay with a couple But's, mostly Room Related”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 11, 2013 via mobile

We had an enjoyable stay at The Bear Mountain Inn while in the area for a West Point visit. This was the ideal place to meet, some stayed at the Lodge, some at the Inn and some stayed elsewhere.

Sunday Brunch was fabulous, there was about 16 of us, food was plentiful and excellent, waitstaff was exceptional, and very attentive - a definite return if only for Brunch.

The room was large and clean but a couple things were annoying, only (1) chair - got around that by borrowing one from the hallway, - There used to be a mirror or something of sorts by the closet - now only holes in the wall. Towels and stuff were mostly replaced but not everything, something was always missing. Hot water wasn't that hot but OK, room temperature controls either were not working or not clear how to set, not a problem as we were trying to cool the room - open Windows cleared all

Would definitely return and hope things have improved

Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank Chetzak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liz M, Director of Sales at Bear Mountain Inn, responded to this review, March 13, 2013
Thank you so much for your feedback and comments! We are so pleased that you enjoyed your stay. Our Sunday Brunch is really a phenomenal experience, and to share with a group of friends makes it that much more fun!
In reference to your guestroom - I would love to learn specifically which room you were in so we can most efficiently work to alleviate the hiccups you experienced. We strive to always have our guests leave after a flawless stay - and we would like to fix our deficiencies.
Our heating and cooling system (including that which controls our hot water) uses new geothermal technology. This is the first full year we have been operating with it, and are still learning the most effective ways to regulate it - for this, I apologize. We absolutely are working diligently to fix this in an effort to eliminate this problem for the future.
Thank you again for your review! I look forward to hearing back from you and having the opportunity to welcome you back to Bear Mountain!

All the Best!

Liz
morrisl@guestservices.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

303 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    105
    106
    43
    33
    16
See reviews for
94
125
12
17
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (81)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Hungarian first
  • Korean first
  • Any
English first
Massapequa, New York
Level Contributor
23 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 19, 2013

I didnt stay at the Inn but I went up for a Valentines Brunch. I can't believe how amazing the food was. Everything was delicious, there was quite a variety, it was fresh, and presented beautifully. The waitstaff was so friendly and hospitable.
We had a great time, enjoyed quite a few plates, and enjoyed the modern/rustic ambiance.
I highly recommend and kudos to the chef !!!!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DEE31
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liz M, Director of Sales at Bear Mountain Inn, responded to this review, February 20, 2013
It is a great honor to have the opportunity to open the Inn for events such as Valentine's Day. We are so pleased that you enjoyed yourself, the atmosphere, and the food. We are incredibly lucky to have such an amazing chef in Michael Matarazzo, CEC, and please know we will be sure to pass along the compliments.


All the Best!
Liz M.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Antonio, Texas
Level Contributor
100 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 4, 2013

The Inn is really coming together. The fireplace room on the third floor is a great place to just relax and watch the fire in the Inn's original fireplace. The renovation's aren't quite complete, so you buy a glass of wine and it comes in a plastic cup. Oh well, still can't beat the atmosphere.

Room Tip: We have not slept here, only go for brunch, which is great and to relax in the Fireplace room. We h...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DownsizerNettie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NYS
Level Contributor
26 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 11, 2012

I haven't visited the Inn in 20 years and was happy that the renovation was finally completed. I have many memories going back to the 'ski jump days'
I reserved a room at the Inn, not Overlook bldg. Arriving late for the stay, I needed to shower, but there wasn't any Hot Water. I reported this to the front desk. No response.

Next morning:
No Satelite TV.
No Wi-Fi connection.
No HW for the meager continental breakfast items.

I reported this to a manager looking person. No follow up.
Upon checkout, I asked why there wasn't any action taken with my requests?
Weak, insincere, unapologetic excuses were spewed. Nothing.
Never, will I return.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Mirquat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liz M, Director of Sales at Bear Mountain Inn, responded to this review, December 13, 2012
Thank you so much for your thoughts and feedback. We appreciate all criticism as it allows us an opportunity to grow. Please know that the service you received is in no way indicative of the standards to which we hold any of our team members, and corrective measures will be taken immediately. I hope you can accept my most sincere of apologies, as your experience is in no way acceptable.
I encourage you please, to contact me directly at your convenience (email listed below) so we have the opportunity to speak about your experience at the Bear Mountain Inn in more detail.
Thank you again for your posting. We take every opportunity to better ourselves very seriously, and wish to make things right with you as well.


All the Best!
Liz Morris
morrisl@guestservices.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glen Cove, New York
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 12, 2012

Wasn't quite sure what to expect based on the reviews, but we had an amazing overnight at Bear Mountain Inn. Our room looked brand new, and it was sparkling clean. The lodge is intimate, yet majestic, and the decor was apt for the setting. The backdrop for the lovely inn was the amazing Bear Mountain, with all of its amenities. For this time of the year, we enjoyed the carousel, ice rink, zoo, and hiking. In warmer weather, there is a boating area and a pool.

The only reason we didn't give 5 stars was because of the limited dining options, and when you are at least15 minutes from the closest eating establishment, it is nice to have more onsite options. However, we understand a new restaurant opening at the inn on the second floor. This will be in addition to the cafe on the first floor, which is only open Thursday-Sunday and which is very casual. We did eat at the cafe for lunch, and the food was yummy and fresh.

While we went as a couple for a romantic weekend, the inn would also be appropriate for children as Bear Mountain has many child-friendly actvities.

Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank Nicole G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liz M, Director of Sales at Bear Mountain Inn, responded to this review, December 10, 2012
Thank you so much for your lovely comments! We are thrilled that you enjoyed your experience while staying at the Bear Mountain Inn. We do understand the inconvenience caused that comes with a lack of dining options and are working diligently to get our Food and Beverage Operations completed just as soon as possible.
Thank you for sharing your thoughts here - we hope you have the opportunity to stay with us again in the future.


All the Best!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
69 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 20, 2012

I was nervous to stay here after I read some of the recent reviews about poor customer service and other complaints. I'm happy to say that management must be taking the feedback seriously because we had great service! The room was very large, clean, modern and comfortable. Also, our room had a microwave and fridge in it which came in handy for leftovers. On the first night, we had a group staying in a suite next door. They were very loud - probably didn't realize how loud they were. We called the front desk and it was taken care of immediately. Staff gave us great recommendations for nearby restaurants and breakfast places. There is a lot to do in the area - hiking, sightseeing, etc. We drove up to Hyde Park for a day and Cold Spring on a rainy day. In all, it was a very relaxing and we would definitely stay at the Inn again!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MP_PhD1203
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liz M, Director of Sales at Bear Mountain Inn, responded to this review, October 22, 2012
Thank you so much for your kind words. We are in the business of customer service and therefore take any and all feedback very seriously - good or bad. Constructive or encouraging, guest experiences are the only way we can truly judge our success and it does not fall upon deaf ears. We have had, and will continue to grow through our share of growing pains as we walk through the experience of renovations at the Inn.
The entire team is very encouraged to read of your enjoyable stay, and we hope your travels will bring you to Bear Mountain again in the future. It would be our pleasure to consider you a return guest to our neck of the woods.

All the Best!
Liz Morris
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
54 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 8, 2012

We stayed in room 315 at the Bear Mountain Inn for 1 night and found our stay to be excellent. We thought twice about staying there after reading some rather harsh reviews below, but the thought of a motel in a city was easily wiped away as we drove into this picturesque landscape on a misty and wet afternoon.

The lovely room was one of their premium suites and was huge. Two bathrooms, a large comfortable King bed, a fireplace and a pull out sofa bed in case there were more than two of you.

The bathrooms were also big, with an amazing shower room, separate toilet and very nice eucalyptus scented toiletries.

The venue was a large wooden building, and maintenance work is supposedly being done - the restaurant is being built and will be finished Spring 2013 - but we didn't notice any building works that should dissuade you from visiting. This does mean that there isn't an on-site eating establishment in the evenings, but they have an extensive list of restaurants that are close-by as well as a list of companies that deliver food straight to your room. One can also purchase limited snacks and drinks from reception.

Parking was ample and I was even encountered by an inquisitive police car when I went out late to get something from my car; checking to see if I was staying at the hotel or not. Talk about security.

The breakfast was standard and one is invited to to head over to the Overlook lodge for breakfast with a view of the lake. Very nice.

The positive aspects include very helpful staff; Noreen was amazing and kind and Carrie went above and beyond the call of duty finding us a wine-opener as well as being very friendly. To be honest this was such a positive stay that I would even recommend it to friends. Never mind the hotel, the walks around the lake, the views, the serenity, even the curious gift shop will make your stay a welcome relief from the city.

The negative aspects are obviously mainly to do with food; the lack of restaurant and a limited menu at the lunchtime cafe won't please foodies - so if you plan a long stays there your stay might become a bit of a culinary desert. The venue is also big for weddings apparently, so weekends might be a little chaotic if you want a secluded romantic getaway.

To conclude I would suggest you ignore the reviews of the pedants below and go see for yourself. Even if you don't stay at the hotel; a day around Bear Mountain could be just the thing.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Wonderboy1000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liz M, Director of Sales at Bear Mountain Inn, responded to this review, October 17, 2012
Thank you so much for taking some time to share your thoughts regarding your recent stay at the Bear Mountain Inn and Overlook Lodge. We are so pleased that you had a great experience while at Bear Mountain. We have had our growing pains lately in reference to the renovations, but we are so thrilled with the almost-finished product and excited to give our guests an amazing stay.
Bear Mountain is truly a beautiful respite from the city, and we are eagerly awaiting the completion of our restaurant as well.
Your kind words are quite nice and we look forward to welcoming you again in the future.


All the Best!
Liz Morris
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bear Mountain
4.7 mi away
The Thayer Hotel
The Thayer Hotel
#1 of 1 in West Point
4.0 of 5 bubbles 921 reviews
3.5 mi away
Inn on the Hudson
Inn on the Hudson
#2 of 2 in Peekskill
3.5 of 5 bubbles 195 reviews
2.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites West Point
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.6 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Peekskill - Hudson Valley
7.3 mi away
Hampton Inn Harriman Woodbury
Hampton Inn Harriman Woodbury
#1 of 2 in Central Valley
4.5 of 5 bubbles 700 reviews
19.6 mi away
Tarrytown House Estate on the Hudson
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bear Mountain Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bear Mountain Inn

Property: Bear Mountain Inn
Address: Rt 9W, PO Box 351, Bear Mountain, NY 10911
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > Bear Mountain
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Bear Mountain
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Bear Mountain Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 48
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Bear Mountain Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bear Mountain Hotel Bear Mountain

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing