We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great place!” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Bear Mountain Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Bear Mountain Inn
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Bear Mountain
GreenLeadersSilver level
Saddle River, New Jersey
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
“Great place!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 13, 2012

We rented the king suite with a living room, for my birthday. We have a toddler so I wanted to be sure we had a place to put her to sleep but we could stay awake:) the room was huge and really nice...perfect! Friday the inn was so slow we felt like we had the place to ourselves. We ate at the cafe for dinner and it was great, chef must be from the south bc he makes a mean BBQ! Sat morning we went to the zoo, it's by donation only and a beautiful walk. The exhibits are not great but it looks like they are working on improvements.

By the time we finished there and got back to the inn around the lake was PACKED with day trippers blaring music. Took the tranquility away:( oh and there isn't a place for breakfast on site and boat rentals don't start till 11... Disappointing if it started earlier we would have enjoyed a little boat ride before the chaos. We were told they accept credit cards to rent the boat but then when we got there he said he wasn't set up for ccards. We left early. Next summer trip would be during the week I think. :)

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank dawnblaney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

302 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    104
    106
    43
    33
    16
See reviews for
93
125
12
17
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (81)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Hungarian first
  • Korean first
  • Any
English first
Springfield
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 27, 2012

I will start by letting you know that we stayed at the Lodge, not the Inn. I would not recommend staying at this hotel if you don't know the area and are looking for a fun vacation. Every single staff member that we encountered knew nothing about the area. They didn't even know anything about their own trails. They recommended that we take our bikes but there are no bike trails. One day I asked the staff if the tap water was OK to drink...she said yes. The next day the woman told us that it was not safe to drink the water and provided us with free water bottles. The next day a new staff told us the water was safe to drink. They couldn't get it straight. These people are incompetent and did not help to make our vacation enjoyable. The pool is a public pool and VERY crowded...don't count on it for your stay (the staff even thought it was gross). On a good note, the Cafe staff and food was awesome and the rooms were clean. This place is WAY overpriced and I would never stay there again.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank megysue3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liz M, Director of Sales at Bear Mountain Inn, responded to this review, August 28, 2012
Thank you very much for your feedback regarding the Bear Mountain Inn and Overlook Lodge. Whether positive or negative, we always appreciate feedback and use it as an opportunity for growth.
Please accept my apologies for the experience you had while staying at Overlook. We strive to offer the best possible customer service and your experience is certainly not up to the standards we expect from our team. We will use your critique as basis for training and improving. As well, it is unacceptable that the staff was not completely abreast of the status of the water - please allow me to apologize for the miscommunication. The state park water system is tied to a natural underground water source and is safe for consumption.
We at the Bear Mountain Inn and Overlook Lodge take each guests' stay and satisfaction with all our services very serious, and will ensure that all notes given are used for improvement. I am so sorry that your experience wasn't to the standard that we expect of ourselves, but invite you to please come back at anytime. It would be our pleasure to show you the true Bear Mountain experience.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reading, PA
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 26, 2012

While the newly renovated Inn is (or will be when completely COMPLETED) is lovely, it should not be open yet, as the hotel is still not finished. Also, there were hundreds of people enjoying the park on the hotel grounds, and all over the parking lot which was impossible to get into to, when I checked in. No ice machines yet, also dining is very limited yet. I think they should have waited to open when the hotel and restaurants are actually DONE being renovated.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Bookworms5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa Ontario
Level Contributor
48 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 25, 2012

This hotel was recently reopened after many years closed and it has not yet become a real hotel. The service was terrible. The directions on the web had some errors and I called the hotel for help. No one at the desk could help although it turned out we were close. Finally, the found someone but even she was not as helpful as I would expect. The hotel is in a spectacular location and the room is beautifully decorated. The beds were fine but the pillows were too big and hard and uncomfortable. The water has a slightly foul smell (I think it is well water) and showering was unpleasant. We were very disappointed to find out all the restaurants were closed except on the weekend. No one at the desk could recommend anywhere to eat supper or offer directions anywhere or even express the slightest interest in our desire for food. We went into the very depressed town nearby and had an awful meal at a BBQ place. The hotel should be able to either serve a decent meal or tell us where to get one. Even asking for ice was a problem and they had to go somewhere in the basement to get it and that took a while. The pool which is pictured on the web site is a public pool, it charges and it requires a car to get there. It is in a truly spectacular location with incredible views. I think a hiker or nature lover would enjoy this place. We stayed one night as we are driving south and it really is not set up to be a real hotel with the usual service I would expect. Since we paid a premium hotel price, I think we can reasonably expect a proper hotel experience and this was not provided.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank CapitalMom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liz M, Director of Sales at Bear Mountain Inn, responded to this review, August 28, 2012
Thank you so much for your review and for taking some time to give us feedback. Not matter the content - we are always grateful to hear from guests regarding their experience.
While the growth and renewal continues throughout the Bear Mountain Inn, we have had to weather some growing pains. Please accept my most sincere of apologies. I am so sorry that your experience did not meet your expectations, and please let me assure you that the service you received is most definitely not the standard to which we hold ourselves. Your review will be used as a training point for all the points of service you referenced where we could have performed better.
You will be happy to know that Bear Mountain State Park is in the process of reviewing and possibly renovating the fresh water service received by the Inn. You are correct - the water is fresh ground water, and remains a bit out of our control, however we are always willing to go to bat for what will serve our guests best.
I do encourage you to contact me directly (239.593.3339) should you like to discuss your experience further. As well, I would love to have you return to our property at anytime in the future. I can assure you that you will receive service to the standard we expect from all our staff and our property.


All the Best!
Liz Morris
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 14, 2012

Although The Bear Mountain Inn does have a few maintenance issues it is a great hotel. I believe some of the people on here leaving critical reviews seem to forget that the buildings are over 100 years old and they are state owned IN A STATE PARK. There will be bugs outside. There will be minor issues here and there. It comes with the history. By yelling at the employees for things they cannot help only makes the guests look ignorant. I think sometimes people tend to think they are entitled. I watched the poor front desk girl getting screamed at by a gentleman last week when we stayed there because he 'did not expect it to be so cozy and he wanted a luxurious room. I'm not sure where he thought he booked a room?!

About the hotel...
1) The staff is amazing. Super friendly. Super helpful. And very knowledgeable about the area. Kelly is amazing and the last few times we have stayed there she has not only remembered us by name but also remembered what beer we drink. We even bought her flowers last year as a thank you for making our trip a great experience.
2) The location is fantastic. You have a merry go round, hiking trails, boat rentals on the lake, fishing on the lake, an outdoor swimming pool, zoo, and museum! Plenty to do while you spend your day at their hotel.
3) The rooms are great, spacious, clean, comfortable.... everything you could ask for.
4) The views are to die for. I read a comment saying that the breathtaking views are anything but... BUT that is not the case. From the view rooms during summer you cannot see the view that the lobby has to offer (although you do have a gorgeous view) but you have to relize again that its a state park with trees that do grow leaves in the summer. You can even see all the way to the Hudson River.


I love the hotel. And just couldn't keep watching this nasty reviews coming in any longer. I think some people need to reflect on themselves, their attitudes, and their standards. It is not a 5-star hotel so dont expect that! And the staff would be more willing to bend over backwards for you if you are kind to them and stop cursing them out for idiotic reasons.


WE WILL BE BACK TO STAY SOON! (:

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Katie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cleveland, Ohio
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 7, 2012

My wife and I stayed here in the middle of the week in the summer. The semi-private lake is gorgeous, and the friendly staff don't have the formal rules you might find at other places, so you can just walk down to the lake and take out their canoes, kayaks or paddle boats. A hundred yards from the entrance is the trail head for a 1.5 hour hike up Bear Mountain, which starts out steep and is somewhat overgrown but yields incredible views of the surrounding mountains and lakes. For a completely relaxing and quick hike, you can drive 10 minutes and climb the broad trail up Hawk Mountain, which also leads to a great vista. When we were tired, we built a fire on their outdoor stone pit, and then sat in their outdoor jacuzzi and just enjoyed the peacefulness. The breakfasts were delicious, and they accommodated our vegetarianism wonderfully. They even let us sleep in late and have breakfast at 10 or 10:30. We will definitely go back if we have the chance.

Room Tip: We liked one of the rooms, the Polo Room, that was on the corner and had a great view and had an att...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Joseph M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carlisle, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
89 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 25, 2012

We had 37 people from our family stay here over Mother's day weekend for a family reunion. Some stayed at the Inn down by the lake and some in the stone cottages above the lake. The Inn has been recently renovated and they have some "start-up" issue. Little things like we needed an extra "key" but it could only be made at the Overlook Lodge, so it took a while. The rooms were excellent. The continental breakfast is a little weak but OK. The stone cottages were great for the families with kids. Rooms are very good and the central room and large porch gave us a place out of the weather (not needed this visit). We had a dinner set up for all of us and they did and excellent job, great food and service and they handled our several allergy issues perfectly!

Room Tip: Stone cottages can be problematic if you share with other guests. We had an entire cottage but all...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank BES09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bear Mountain
4.7 mi away
The Thayer Hotel
The Thayer Hotel
#1 of 1 in West Point
4.0 of 5 bubbles 916 reviews
3.5 mi away
Inn on the Hudson
Inn on the Hudson
#2 of 2 in Peekskill
3.5 of 5 bubbles 195 reviews
2.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites West Point
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.6 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Peekskill - Hudson Valley
7.3 mi away
Hampton Inn Harriman Woodbury
Hampton Inn Harriman Woodbury
#1 of 2 in Central Valley
4.5 of 5 bubbles 696 reviews
19.6 mi away
Tarrytown House Estate on the Hudson
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bear Mountain Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bear Mountain Inn

Property: Bear Mountain Inn
Address: Rt 9W, PO Box 351, Bear Mountain, NY 10911
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > Bear Mountain
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Bear Mountain
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Bear Mountain Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 48
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Bear Mountain Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bear Mountain Hotel Bear Mountain

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing