We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“I love this bar!”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Max's on Main

Max's on Main
Ranked #3 of 76 Restaurants in Beacon
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American, Bar, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Dining on a budget, Bar scene, Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Full Bar, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff
Hopewell Junction, New York
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“I love this bar!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 1, 2014

Excellent atmosphere. The menu is not only creative in names but in dishes. The fish taco's are incredible. So are the pierogies and the Beacon Rolls.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
3 Thank Bob E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

135 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    59
    59
    12
    2
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Barfood at a new low”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 3, 2014

We thought we'd try this place based on the strong yelp reviews, and they have Thursday night "steak" specials. It was by far the worst steak my husband has ever tasted, and mine was the worst cobb salad I have ever had. The salad had processed chicken (not grilled), and bacon bits (not really bacon). Terrible.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank Marie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
62 reviews
54 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Great spot in Beacon”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 26, 2014 via mobile

One of the spots recommended by locals. Been here several times since our first visit. Great beers, food and atmosphere. Recommend the chili and wings

Helpful?
1 Thank Monkeyboy88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Myrtle Beach, South Carolina
Level Contributor
51 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Still great”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 24, 2014

I first tried Max's back in September last year. Great food, great drinks and great atmosphere. We took a group of friends there this past weekend and it is still great. Phish tacos are fantastic. Wings were delicious....all entrees were great. The folks we went with were so pleased and thankful that we shared this 'find' with them. I highly recommend this place.
P.S. The brothers who own the place are great guys...striking up a conversation with them is not difficult.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Frank G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
151 reviews
79 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
“Great dinner spot, we'll definitely go back!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 18, 2014 via mobile

We felt like trying out a new place and we all went away happy after eating here. The Pierogie and garlic, rosemary fries appetizers were excellent. The chicken piccata was tender and delicious. The vegetables were fresh and cooked beautifully. I tried the corn fritters side dish and that was the highlight of this fantastic meal. We'll go back again soon!

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
4 Thank Izzy3000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Max's on Main also viewed

 

Been to Max's on Main? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing