We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“worth the trip”
Review of Dia:Beacon

Dia:Beacon
Ranked #1 of 34 things to do in Beacon
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Founded in 1974, this modern art gallery is well-known for a highly unusual, permanent display by conceptual artist Walter De Maria. De Maria's work is a massive display of a 2 foot layer of dirt!
Yorktown Heights, New York
Level 5 Contributor
84 reviews
42 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“worth the trip”
Reviewed September 3, 2013

This huge modern art museum is definitely worth a trip. Much of the art is massive in size and this place has the space to exhibit such art as it should be seen. Be sure to wear comfortable shoes!

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Laura C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

380 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    215
    101
    32
    13
    19
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Ashland, Massachusetts
Level 6 Contributor
176 reviews
59 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
“"come on!"”
Reviewed September 3, 2013

In my typical modern art museum experience, I prefer a 20-80 percent mix. 20% of the art should be interesting at some level. The art should be visually appealing, should be an interesting concept, or should make me think in a different way. The other 80% can be the typical "Oh Come On!" "Really!". I actually enjoy the artist attempting to justify the work with some ramblings about how the work speaks to the decay of morals in society or how it avenges the deaths of so and so. Unfortunately, the Dia was 100% "Come On!". Massive rooms were filled with only a hand full of paintings. Although it was sort of visually interesting to see the sparse surroundings, that could have been achieved with just an empty room. I have trouble saying this is not worth a visit since I still sort of enjoyed it... but I wish there were at least one or two works that would have held my interest.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Ashland A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“unique”
Reviewed August 28, 2013

I loved the museum. Also interesting for kids. It's a very unique museum on a surprising location (we came with the train from NYC, arrived at a tiny train station in a cute town, and walked to the museum. Very special)

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank 5maris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wapiti, Wyoming
Level 6 Contributor
163 reviews
12 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 92 helpful votes
“Great space”
Reviewed August 25, 2013

The space itself is fantastic and the layout is very easy to navigate. There was a good variety of exhibits, some more interesting than others-like every museum-the basement was perhaps the most interesting. While you're in Beacon, check it out.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank Becky F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Silver Spring, Maryland
Level 6 Contributor
828 reviews
316 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 341 helpful votes
“Enormous Space, Impressive Art”
Reviewed August 20, 2013

We've been visiting Dia Beacon since it opened. The art space is enormous, filled with art works that would be difficult to display elsewhere. For example, the single room of Warhol Shadows filled up the entire second floor of the Hirschhorn Museum in Washington, DC when it was temporarily exhibited there. Some of my favorites are the Sol Lewitt walls, the Dan Flavin flourescent sculptures, the Michael Heizer massive negative spaces, and the Richard Serra metal sculptures. There are few art spaces where these could be displayed. My one complaint is that the museum is too static. Whenever we return we pretty much see the same things with relatively few new exhibits. It could be argued that this is necessary in a museum of large art works, but a recent visit to the Massachusetts Museum of Contemporary Art, a similar large space, revealed a much more dynamic exhibit space. Definitely visit Dia: Beacon, but don't expect much new after the first visit.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank areview28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Dia:Beacon also viewed

 

Been to Dia:Beacon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing