We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A nice spot for lunch!”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Homespun Foods

Homespun Foods
Ranked #2 of 76 Restaurants in Beacon
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American, Cafe
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Kids, Families with children
Dining options: Brunch, Breakfast, Lunch, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Takeout
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
470 reviews
396 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 122 helpful votes
“A nice spot for lunch!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 26, 2014 via mobile

We hopped off I-84 west and stopped for lunch at this little spot on Main Street. If you eat inside, you order at the counter and then pick a seat. But if it's a nice day definitely go to the rear where there is a small patio garden with about 8 or 9 tables. There is table service in the garden, and the service was prompt and friendly. The menu has a nice selection of salads and sandwiches, and everything we had was well prepared and very good. A turkey sandwich on brioche was tasty, and a quinoa salad with black beans, red pepper, greens and a lime dressing was equally good. They also have a nice selection of beers. We will be happy to return the next time we are in the area.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Bob T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

92 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    52
    34
    6
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Polish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
24 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Happy brunch! at homespun in the garden”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 9, 2014

My Sunday favorite place for my brunch. Sitting in the garden. Happy flowers and singing birds make me enjoy my meal, and everyone enjoys the food and the good time at this place. It's a cool place on Main Street in Beacon. By the way, big happy chocolate coconut macaroon, and the fresh homemade cookie for the season... Try them! You will love it!

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank FernThai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beacon, Ny
Level Contributor
40 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Great place w/o exhorbitant prices”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 4, 2014

Ok, so this place is sort of a hybrid deli/restaurant, with almost self-serve if you want, but in the summer (or at least warmer weather), they have a nice back garden area where you can receive "regular?" restaurant service. The food is really good, but nothing fancy. It sort of has that "Brooklyn hipster" kind of mood.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Steve K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beacon, New York
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“This place is the heart and soul of Beacon”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 4, 2014

My wife and I have been coming here for several years, ever since the restaurant opened. We especially enjoy the outside garden in the summer months and the great staff here. The food is always great here – healthy and with the freshest quality ingredients. Homespun also runs the restaurant In DIA, our great local museum. YOU MAY HAVE A WAIT ON THE WEEKENDS BUT IT'S WORTH IT. You will also make the most interesting people in the area here. Try it!

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank ciaSlim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Long Island City, New York
Level Contributor
30 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Funky & cool”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 17, 2014 via mobile

Stopped here for breakfast on way Upstate. I've been driving through Beacon for many years and always loved the town. It looks to have finally made the leap from a town with a lot of potential to coming into it's own.

I had a great cappuccino and although I intended on having breakfast I opted for a Mediterranean tuna sandwich.

My only complaint was the temperature in the restaurant seemed to be somewhere in the 50's and we had to keep our jackets on the entire time.

Helpful?
Thank DAVID D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Homespun Foods also viewed

 

Been to Homespun Foods? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing