We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“The first review I've ever written.”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Beacon
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Chrystie House Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #1 of 6 Beacon B&B and Inns
New York City, New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“The first review I've ever written.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 7, 2013

My wife and I just returned from a two night stay at the Chrystie House B & B in Beacon. Chyrstie House is a GEM. It is very easy to get to from NYC by car or by train. On the road as you approach the house, you look up at this very beautiful, meticulous, stately but warm home on 4 acres of beautifully cared for land. Mr. Lee, the proprietor, greeted us. He is a warm, caring, engaging man, eager to share his love of and the history of his beautiful inn. He is very proud of all of the work that he has done to restore this historic building and like all ongoing projects, he ceaselessly works to maintain and improve his B & B. Our room was large, clean, comfortably appointed and well air-conditioned (throughout the 90 degree-plus weekend). There were extra amenities in our room including filtered water, cable TV and 5 closets. The breakfast each morning, which he caters from a local gourmet restaurant, is fresh and delicious. The common spaces of the house are sophisticated. This B & B is not cluttered. There are beautiful paintings all around which were painted by the very talented Mr. Lee, who is an artist, a historian, an illustrator and an exemplary host. He pays attention to every detail. He is solicitous, sincere, yet not obsequious It is obvious that it is very important to him that every guest is happy with their stay. Again, we had a terrific time at the Chrystie House and really recommend it to everyone.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Biocus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

98 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    84
    11
    0
    0
    3
See reviews for
8
67
7
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Farmingdale, New York
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 5, 2013

My husband and I stayed at Chrystie House for our 31st anniversary. What a lovely surprise! Our room was gorgeous! Our host, Yuan Lee, was an absolute delight and a pleasure to to have met. To share his life-long passion for art and history added such meaning and depth to our stay. Again, the house is lovely, and painstakingly restored. Yuan Lee's paintings are extraordinary, and his knowledge of American and local history is second to none. Treat yourself!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Michele S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 5, 2013

We are already planning a return visit to the area this fall and look forward to hearing more about the history of Beacon from Yuan, who is a wealth of information. He also provided great suggestions of sites to visit. The Chrystie House is an amazing building, decorated in large part with Yuan's fabulous paintings. The grounds are gorgeous as well and we got to enjoy them over a yummy breakfast on the patio. See you in the fall!!

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LV2TRVL14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Little Falls, New Jersey
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 27, 2013

I'm not staying at a hotel. At Cristie House, I am back to the history to admire the glory and beauty of history. To admire Yuan's timeless collections and Yuan's master pieces, his paintings and his knowledge about arts and history. His dedication to preserve the America history at all costs. I'm impressed with his determination to save and renovate the Christie House from been knocked down to be built to residential housing complex.

It's a must visit place when you come to Beacon!

Room Tip: Choose the room Mr. William Few Jr. (1748–1828), a Founding Father of the United States used to liv...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank FormosaRose
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jersey
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 24, 2013

Just back from a lovely stay at Chrystie House. The owner and host, Mr. Lee, is a storehouse of information about the history of the house and the entire area. All of the rooms are large and the entire house is beautifully furnished. Enjoyed a delicious breakfast alfresco while taking in views of large old trees and wildlife. Very peaceful setting. The area is a treasure trove of great restaurants and art. We especially enjoyed a trip across the Hudson to Storm King Art Center. There is a lot to see and do in the area and when we return we plan to stay at Chrystie House again!

Room Tip: All rooms are spacious and beautifully furnished.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HeyJude228
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
new jersey
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 20, 2013

I really enjoyed my stay the first time and, with friends in the area, I knew I would return. The house is still a great place to stay in the Hudson Valley NY area.

The host (Yuan Lee) is gracious, attentive, very informative and entertaining. After my first visit, I searched his name and found how renowned he is as an artist. His knowledge of the area and the house he restored is deep and fascinating.

Each room is comfortable, well decorated and has Yuan's own artwork. For the summer, he has placed portable air conditioners in each room which allows the guests to regulate their own climate. Since I am no fan of central air conditioning, this was a huge plus for me.

The breakfast is a true breakfast consisting of coffee, juice, a fresh fruit salad, pastry and a piece of quiche. That breakfast held me until dinner time. Since the weather was cooperative, Yuan served the breakfast outside.

I really cannot recommend this bed and breakfast highly enough.

Room Tip: I would suggest looking on the website to select the room that is best for you.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rattacasal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
44 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 18, 2013

CHRYSTIE HOUSE is a BONANZA! Yuan is a real gentleman and art and history expert. From the minute we got out of the cab, Yuan made us feel comfortable and welcome. Great old house with 4 good size bedrooms. The breakfast were excellent and filling.Very quiet location and walkable to Dia and town. Would go back in a minute!Very relaxing and enjoyable weekend in June.Thank You sir!

Room Tip: all rooms looked great. we had the big master suite.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Larry G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Beacon
8.1 mi away
The Thayer Hotel
The Thayer Hotel
#1 of 1 in West Point
4.0 of 5 bubbles 927 reviews
3.8 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites Fishkill
4.8 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Poughkeepsie/Fishkill
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.8 mi away
HYATT house Fishkill/Poughkeepsie
6.3 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Newburgh-Stewart Airport
5.1 mi away
Hampton Inn Fishkill
Hampton Inn Fishkill
#1 of 14 in Fishkill
4.5 of 5 bubbles 711 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chrystie House Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chrystie House Bed and Breakfast

Property: Chrystie House Bed and Breakfast
Address: 300 South Ave, Beacon, NY 12508-3610
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > Beacon
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 6 B&Bs / Inns in Beacon
Number of rooms: 4
Also Known As:
Chrystie House Hotel Beacon
Chrystie House b&b

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing