We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A great B&B”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Beacon
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Swann Inn of Beacon
Ranked #1 of 6 Beacon B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
San Francisco
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“A great B&B”
Reviewed October 26, 2011

We spent two nights at the Swann Inn and truly loved our stay. We stayed in the Red Parlor and it was a lovely suite with a gas fireplace in the parlor and a separate alcove with the bed that could be curtained off from the parlor that was cozy and romantic. Breakfast was outstanding - the pancakes and french toast were delicious and the fresh fruit, juice and coffee were excellent. We would highly recommend this as a must stay B&B. It is quite close to Storm King and the Dia and plenty of good restaurants on Main Street. We will definitely go back.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Evelyn_B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

140 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    103
    25
    10
    2
    0
See reviews for
13
99
5
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Philadelphia
Level 5 Contributor
62 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed October 24, 2011

We had a wonderful stay at the Swann Inn. Neil and Darlene our host and hostess were generous, warm and charming as is their Inn. Our room was spectacular. We had the Red Parlour Suite, and it is truly a suite, with a living room, bedroom and bathroom. Breakfast was delicious and elegantly presented. Coffee, tea and baked goodies were available all day. The location was perfect for our visit to DIA Beacon and Storm King.
Our stay at the Swann Inn was the best B&B experience we've ever had.
We would stay there again in a heartbeat.

Room Tip: We stayed in the Red Parlour Suite because it was on the first floor (less steps). It is their most...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank artymom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fresh Meadows, New York
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed October 18, 2011

We were a little hesitant to book our stay at the Inn with our kids in tow. Our children, who are 10 and 11 years old are more used to kid-friendly resorts and hotels, where there is little potential of breaking things or bothering the next door neighbors. We need not have worried - Neil and Darlene, the inn keepers, were the warmest hosts, and the inn was absolutely charming without being stuffy. There was tea, coffe, cocoa for the kids, as well as yummy red velvet cake in the bright and welcoming common room when we arrived. Breakfast was also served there the following day. As other reviewers have commented, breakfast was one of the highlights of our stay - for us it was fruit and a pastry to start, followed by a delectable spinach quiche, all so artistically presented.

Our room, the Tranquility suite, was very spacious and comfortable. It is a charming as well as functional room with a queen size sleigh bed, double bed, sofa bed, kitchenette and full bath. Our kids enjoyed playing on the foozball coffee table. There was a flat screen tv and wireless internet. We had some difficulty accessing the internet with our laptops, but my daughter had no poblems using wifi with her ipad. The beds were extremely comfortable - even the double.

Main street is within walking distance (15 min) but we drove into town to check out Dia, the local restaurants (Sukothai, not to be missed), as well as to attend the pumpkin festival at the sloop club. Beacon is a lovely town with many interesting shops. Our kids enjoyed watching glass blowing at Hudson Beach Glass. If you are interested in hiking up Mt. Beacon (a truly worthwhile but challenging endeavor), one advantage of staying at the Swann, is that the parking lot/trail end is just around the block. All in all, we had a lovely time and are already planning to return in the winter or spring.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank NYMom101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 6, 2011

In brief, the Swann Inn is: beautiful, clean, and comfortable. What more could a traveler ask for, from a B&B? Not a lot, frankly, but at the Swann you GET a lot more.

Neil picked us up at the train station and gave us a driving tour of the small town of Beacon, highlighting some favorite restaurants and gathering spots. Upon arriving at the Inn (which is located 1 mile from the town center, but far enough away to make you feel like you're in the country), we were offered coffee, tea and fresh cookies, and shown to our room. We were assigned the "Green Willow" room, and though another reviewer had a less than restful night's sleep there, our couldn't have been nicer (the bed was sturdy, and the mattress was firm and comfortable)! Our three course breakfast was delicious and more than ample (we both had the French toast), and we loved sitting at the bay window, looking out over the garden as we ate. Also, freshly made coffee and tea, cereals and snack bars are available 24 hrs a day. Nice touch! We will DEFINITELY be returning.

  • Stayed September 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mattr603
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 4, 2011

Best experience we have ever had at a Bed and Breakfast. The inn keepers were incredibly helpful and friendly. We felt welcome by the small town charm of our experience and would definitely stay there again the next time we visit this area. The breakfast was more than you would expect, great food!

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BrooklynTraveler322
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IJsselstein, The Netherlands
Level 4 Contributor
18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed August 18, 2011

We picked Beacon for our Hudson Valley trip and stumbled by chance upon this B&B. How lucky we were! The Swann Inn is a beautiful place, nicely tucked away along one of Beacon's quieter streets. Neil and Darlene are great hosts and go to great lengths to make your stay as pleasant as possible. Our room was gorgeous, and the beds were perfect, we slept like roses. In the mornings we were treated on Darlene's superb breakfasts. Her banana pancakes are the best I ever tasted. Neil is an endless source of information on all there is to do in Beacon and Dutchess County. This ended up being our favorite B&B in the State of New York!

  • Stayed August 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank josvdberg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 14, 2011

The innkeeper kindly waited up for my husband and me when we arrived late at night, offering us a snack. The breakfasts were out of this world, with small homemade pies with wine sorbet and fresh fruit, pancakes, eggs, done with such care and artistry. There are snacks available any time of day or night: homemade brownies or cookies with coffee or tea. The inn is very nicely restored, with comfortable beds and modern, clean bathrooms. I would stay there again in a heartbeat.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Laurie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Beacon
1.4 mi away
The Inn And Spa At Beacon
3.0 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites Fishkill
8.1 mi away
The Thayer Hotel
The Thayer Hotel
#1 of 1 in West Point
975 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.9 mi away
HYATT house Fishkill/Poughkeepsie
4.2 mi away
Hampton Inn Fishkill
Hampton Inn Fishkill
#1 of 14 in Fishkill
747 reviews
3.9 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Poughkeepsie/Fishkill
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Swann Inn of Beacon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Swann Inn of Beacon

Property: The Swann Inn of Beacon
Address: 120 Howland Ave, P.O. Box 1078, Beacon, NY 12508-4207
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > Beacon
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 6 B&Bs / Inns in Beacon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Swann Inn of Beacon, a Gothic Revival Victorian is a perfect retreat for hikers, and travelers looking to experience the beauty of the Hudson Valley in a relaxed B & B, nestled in a wooded setting at the foot of Mt. Beacon. Enjoy our tranquil homestyle rooms including queen size beds and private baths. NYC guests,we will pick you up at Beacon train station. Ask about Bannerman Island tour packages. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
The Swann Inn Of Beacon Hotel Beacon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing