We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wonderful and Charming Get-Away!”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Beacon
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Mt. Beacon Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #3 of 6 Beacon B&B and Inns
New York, NY
1 review
“Wonderful and Charming Get-Away!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 11, 2008

We recently stayed at the very charming Mt. Beacon Bed and Breakfast. The inn is beautiful, the food delicious. The rooms are immaculate with very comfortable beds and fireplaces. The bathtubs are amazing. It is a short walk to DIA Beacon and the town shops. I would definitely stay at this property again!

  • Stayed November 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank tommyellis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

60 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    46
    10
    3
    1
    0
See reviews for
2
54
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Baltimore MD
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 17, 2008

Mt. Beacon B&B is simply wonderful. My husband and I stayed at this beautifully appointed and welcoming inn for two nights, and it was a terrific experience. From the roaring fire in the living room to the elegant breakfast and warm hospitality of Lauren and her mother Barb, it was a memorable stay. One example of their cleverness and thoughtfulness: although there are only three guest rooms, there are two copies of the Sunday NYTimes at Sunday breakfast. And both the food and the atmosphere make lingering over the paper a pleasure. Once you arise, Beacon is a great base for exploring the Hudson Valley.
efw
Baltimore, MD

  • Stayed October 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank efw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 15, 2008

What made this excellent were the details. A lot of thought and good taste have gone into the appointing and operation of this inn. I also found that the price is less than what one can expect these days for comparable lodging. The decor is lovely yet clean rather than fussy. The bathroom was sparkling white and very inviting. Breakfast was well executed. Great experience over all!

  • Liked — Soaking tub, fireplace, homey-ness
  • Stayed October 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank jumbocrayons
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 28, 2008

We stayed at the Mt. Beacon last January and thought it was the perfect retreat. The house and bedrooms have been beautifully decorated and the food is delicious! The proprietor and her daughter were perfect hosts: welcomed us warmly but left us to ourselves. The master suite with fireplace is worth the extra cash; it's a lovely room. Plus it's only a short car ride from all of Beacon's attractions.
I would highly recommend it and definitely plan to return!

  • Liked — The vibe
  • Disliked — Not walking distance from Beacon's center
  • Stayed January 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank citytripperNYC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
buddygrey@yahoo.com
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 9, 2008

This was our second stay at the B&B in less than a year, the first time was in Nov. and the second in July. It is a lovely place with everything we look for in a B&B experience--large charming old home with tastefully appointed rooms, wonderfully sumptuous breakfasts, and delightful owners. It has just the right blend of antique furnishings that exactly suit the home without being over the top as we've seen in some other B&Bs. It is run by two very gracious women, a mother and daughter, who make you feel welcome and completely comfortable.

The rooms are large as are the bathrooms. Everything is spotless.

The only problem we had the first time (and this is really minor) was finding it because there is no sign out front. We drove two houses past it till we realized our error and only had to backtrack a few feet before entering the circular drive in front of the B&B.

We most definitely would stay here again.

  • Liked — The whole experience--the home, our room, the breakfast, the wonderful owners
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed July 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank Buddygrey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Beacon
3.1 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites Fishkill
4.1 mi away
HYATT house Fishkill/Poughkeepsie
8.2 mi away
The Thayer Hotel
The Thayer Hotel
#1 of 1 in West Point
4.0 of 5 bubbles 924 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.1 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Poughkeepsie/Fishkill
7.1 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Newburgh-Stewart Airport
4.4 mi away
Hampton Inn Fishkill
Hampton Inn Fishkill
#1 of 14 in Fishkill
4.5 of 5 bubbles 709 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mt. Beacon Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mt. Beacon Bed and Breakfast

Property: Mt. Beacon Bed and Breakfast
Address: 829 Wolcott Ave # 9D, Beacon, NY 12508-4257
Location: United States > New York > Beacon
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 6 B&Bs / Inns in Beacon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Mt. Beacon Bed & Breakfast at Wolcott Manor is a gracious 1911 colonial revival home located at the foot of Mt. Beacon. The elegant grand entrance foyer leads into impressive formal living and dining rooms. The spacious living room features a gorgeously mantled original fireplace and French doors leading to a covered Greek columned terracotta patio with in-ground swimming pool. The dining room accommodates separate seating for guests and also contains a large wood burning fireplace. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Mt. Beacon b&b
Mt. Beacon Hotel Beacon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing