We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Roundhouse(Beacon)
$229
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$212
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Spa
Economy Inn(Newburgh)
$75
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
Quality Inn & Suites Fishkill(Fishkill)(Great Value!)
$150
$130
QualityInn
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Countryside Motel(Cold Spring)
$75
Booking.com
View Deal
Windsor Motel(New Windsor)
$64
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$139
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$95
ExtendedStay
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$149
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Reviews (30)
Filter reviews
30 results
Traveler rating
22
4
0
2
2
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
22
4
0
2
2
See what travelers are saying:
Filter
Updating list...
25 - 30 of 30 reviews
Reviewed July 12, 2009

My partner and I found the Botsford Briar, on a hilltop about a quarter mile from the Beacon Metro North station, the perfect place to escape from NYC. Crossing the threshold was a step back into a more relaxed and elegant time with all the modern conveniences. The view from the deck of sunset over the Hudson was breathtaking. The morning light was just as welcome with a hearty, fresh breakfast delivered to the room. In between there is the river front on one side and galleries, restaurants and shopping with friendly locals on the other. Can’t wait to return.

  • Stayed: July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank hermesdionysos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 11, 2009

We were there for 3 nights in July 2009. Owners were very helpful -- gave tips on touring and restaurants. The first day there, we had a hard time leaving the 2nd floor deck -- the view was just spectacular. The B&B is at the top of a steep hill. Sitting on the porch had us at the top of the tree canopy -- at the same level as Chimney Swifts and numerous other birds.

There was plenty of fruit and a variety of breads for breakfast. We also got a hard boiled egg and yogurt.

The inside of the B&B is in great shape. The outside is a work in progress -- it is a huge, old building. You will see some peeling paint and some other aspects of the house that need work. This did not detract from our enjoyment of the place.

We already have reservations for our next stay.

  • Stayed: July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank EM G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 22, 2009

My husband and I stayed at the Botsford Briar for our anniversary. We took the train up from NYC (a short and beautiful hour and a half trip) and walked to the B&B from the train station (about 10 minutes, up a steep hill). The location was great, the owners were wonderful and the accommodations were just what we needed. We stayed in the Rose Room, which has a partial view of the Hudson out one of the windows. Breakfast is brought up to the room, which was an unexpected luxury.

  • Stayed: June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank slbklyn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 17, 2009

Stayed in the spacious MAGNOLIA ROOM while in town for a wedding. A minute or so from downtown Beacon, this inn, tucked into the hillside of a residential area is a destination in itself, offering a clear view of the Hudson River below. While the layout includes easy access to the public deck via the private sun porch, the highlight of the accommodations is actually the well-appointed bathroom. Tastefully designed and furnished with modern functionality, there was no greater pleasure on-site than a hot shower with adequate water pressure at the end of a long day full of activity and then slipping into one of the two comfy sleeping arrangements. Perfect for a snoring spouse like me who was just getting over a sinus infection. That said, a space heater on the porch and a beverage refrigerator with complimentary drinks might've been nice too.[ROOMS-- 4.5 out of 5]
As far as innkeepers go, I've never seen such a strong integration of personal talents into the overall decor of a bed-and-breakfast. From the hand-sewn curtains and bedcovers, to the metalwork accents, one cannot help but take notice. When their remodeling and redecorating projects are completed, perhaps guests can have even more access to these highly talented and interesting hosts. Had they been dull people or uninterested in us as guests, I might've been put-out by having to ask that our shampoo and conditioner be refilled.
[SERVICE-- 4.25 out of 5]
Although fall was just around the corner, my wallet did feel a little light having to pay the full autumn leaf-changing price during our four-night stay.
[VALUE-- 3 out of 5]
Not particularly messy guests, we still found our room picked up in a consistent manner. Only when we drove to the back of the driveway did we feel we were on the perimeter of a construction site.
[CLEANLINESS-- 4 out of 5]
Continental breakfast delivered on a tray each morning to the room was a nice touch. It comes highly recommended to those who aren't really into bonding with other guests. The breakfast itself was fresh and balanced. Yet, if pursued, there is plenty of room to add to the overall value of a guest's stay with a couple hot selections featured in a rotation.
[DINING-- 3.25 out of 5]

  • Stayed: September 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jblane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 16, 2008

My girlfriend and I stayed at the Brotsford Briar for a get-away from NYC and it fit the task handily.

The hosts and owner were very friendly and helpful. The room was clean and spacious, with all the amenities we needed. We stayed on the second floor room looking west over the Hudson, we had our own closed-in sun room. Unfortunately, this is less of an attraction for that room now, because they've built a second floor deck for all the guests to use, just outside this sun-room. The bonus is that all the guests get a second floor deck looking over the Hudson.

Also the breakfast was tasty, with ample fruit and breads and came right on time each day.

It's very walkable from the Brotsford Briar to downtown galleries, stores, and restaurants, and to DIA: Beacon.

  • Stayed: August 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank bcrowley8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews