We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Beautiful views!”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Wall's Wharf

Wall's Wharf
Ranked #3 of 18 Restaurants in Bayville
Cuisines: American, Bar, Seafood, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene, Special occasions, Families with children, Scenic view, Kids, Large groups, Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Lunch, Drinks, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Television, Valet Parking, Waitstaff
Roslyn, New York
Level Contributor
233 reviews
136 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 123 helpful votes
“Beautiful views!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 20, 2013

My friends and I enjoyed a lovely, relaxing afternoon with good food, lovely service and a magnificent view of Long Island Sound. The Citrus Salmon Salad was prepared well and presented nicely. I can see that children would not be welcomed unless they were well behaved.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank passionate-gardener
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

127 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    33
    46
    17
    11
    20
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Long Island, New York USA
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Seafood Mix Grill or Horrible Service?”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 3, 2013

Do not go to this restaurant, especially if you are a family with young children. The food is expensive and mediocre, at best. The service was surly. We were there to celebrate a birthday and Wall's Wharf was the low point of the evening. The piece de resistance was the hostess coming over and, in her nastiest tone possible, accusing our children of attracting the seagulls. This is a restaurant on the beach that touts itself as a family restaurant. Our children were playing on the beach, along with several other children on the beach, while a table full of diners and their food enjoyed their meal on the beach. The hostess decided our children were responsible for the flock of seagulls that gathered. She yelled at our children and then came over and yelled at us. At this point, we spent approximately $130 on appetizers and drinks and we decided to leave rather than spend $200 on the food and drinks we ordered and subject our children and our selves to further hostile treatment and disrespect. Fact of the matter is, the hostess did not see our children do anything. They were playing on the beach. Oddly enough, seagulls congregate on beaches. The restaurant had several tables set up on the beach; if you serve food on the beach it has to be within the realm of possibility that seagulls might be attracted to the food. Yelling at children and berating customers; is this really Wall's Wharf's idea of good customer service. For the high prices, long wait and bad service, take your money and your family elsewhere.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
5 Thank dollibass
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huntington, New York
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Poor customer service, Rude, loud and obnoxious”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 3, 2013

My family has been to this place for years and the service has gone down considerably. Tonight was the last straw. Some person in an awful outfit approached us with a terrible attitude about our kids. Instead of speaking to us in a calm, professional tone, she was rude and apparently an expert in animal life. This was the worst possibly customer service we have ever experienced after spending thousands of dollars. Tonight they lost out on another couple hundred. This person told us we could leave if we wanted to, so we did! as our meals came out. I sure hope they didn't serve those to someone else, but they probably did. We will tell our families, friends and anyone else who reads this. It is a great view, but badly run business.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Don B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cold Spring Harbor, New York
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Save your money!!”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 3, 2013

The food is mediocre, but overpriced. The management was very rude and unprofessional. When I called to make a reservation earlier in the day, I was told it was open seating however, when we arrived, I was told the prime spots were reserved. While many tables were open, we sat and were ignored by our waiter while being charged $30.00 for average overcooked seafood. Save your money, Bayville is down the road with the same view and great food. We are not returning.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank JennCoden
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Bad management”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 22, 2013

There was an extremely ruth and an unprofessional manager on duty last night (Sunday July 23th)...
We went there a weekend ago. We had a nice Sunday at the beach right in front of the restaurant. Later on we asked for a table, sat down and had dinner watched the sunset... We were a party of 4 people and we nearly spent 400$, but we had a nice and relaxing day and for most of us who work very hard during the week this was priceless. Yesterday we returned to the same place wanting to have another gateway like last weekend. We sat at the beach and right before we asked for a table, their manager came out and start talking to us as if we were doing something absolutely wrong...? He was screaming in front of all the costumers sitting outside that this was a private beach and we had no right to be there and how he is going to call the police...and he was so mean and aggressive, that we couldn't understand exactly what was happening. There was no sign saying that the beach is private, and when we told him that we were here last week and nobody said anything and we were planing to get a table again and have dinner at the restaurant he screamed at us that we are not welcome at his restaurant and we can't come back ever again!
I just want to say that his voice and tone was absolutely mean and offensive. He ruined the entire evening for us. The 3 of us are working in the restaurant business for many years, one of us is a restaurant owner and we know what hospitality means, and this manager is way too far from that.
Anyway, we got the message, we will never go back there and we will never recommend this place to anyone.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Plamena V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Wall's Wharf also viewed

 
Bayville, Long Island
 
Bayville, Long Island
Oyster Bay, Long Island
 

Been to Wall's Wharf? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing