We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great View but”
Review of Wall's Wharf

Wall's Wharf
Ranked #5 of 18 Restaurants in Bayville
Cuisines: Seafood
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast, Reservations
New York City, New York
Level 6 Contributor
174 reviews
83 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
“Great View but”
Reviewed June 26, 2012

More Truth here, incredible views & a table on the beach, fantastic.
Food is good a bit pricey, we went on a holiday and and our food took 90 minutes because the kitchen was backed up & we received no apologizes from the Waitress just that's it's a holiday parking is terrible.
All and all a good experience, would go again but not on a holiday.

  • Visited June 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank TruthRUS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

134 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    35
    49
    17
    11
    22
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Hills of Dix, NY
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“On the beach dining”
Reviewed June 7, 2012

My wife and I used to come here often when we were dating. Now we have two young children and still come here frequently. The food is average but the service is very friendly and you can't beat the views. Outdoor dining is on the beach. The interior decor is nautical classical. They have a large bar area. If you like oysters, you'll be disappointed with the lack of selection but you'll certainly appreciate the freshness. Lastly, if you go bring bug spray as the citronella candles aren't very effective

  • Visited May 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Nooyawkar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boulder, Colorado
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Go for the beach setting rather than the (sea)food”
Reviewed May 21, 2012

We had late lunch for five on a Sunday. Choice of seating varied between outside patio (beach), inside bar and inside dining room. Parking was a wait but valet were doing their best given the limited space. We ate in dining room due to packed patio and empty bar. Calamari appetizers for the table were bland and lacked seasoning. Main courses (all seafood) were generally good, fresh and well presented. Service was OK; staff seemed rushed but motivated. In summary, we would go there again but value was lacking with the seafood dishes. The cost was $45 per head which included a couple of drinks each. We will try the burgers and lower priced staples next time; probably a better bet!!

  • Visited May 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank solyluz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Woodbury, New York
Level 6 Contributor
235 reviews
75 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 222 helpful votes
“average food- good views”
Reviewed January 21, 2012

Very average food if you don't eat seafood. I have been here for lunch and dinner. The outside menu is a different menu from the main dining room as it is less expensive and you can get sandwiches and burgers besides seafood. Outside seating is more difficult to get on a warm summer night. You are sitting just a few feet from the beach. Parking can be difficult on a great night or a warm sunny Sunday.

Visited November 2011
Helpful?
Thank whenzuc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Locust Valley, New York
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great View”
Reviewed December 29, 2011

The food is okay, but everyone comes here for the view. Get a glass of wine (wine list is good) or a cold beer, order the tuna tower appetizer, and watch the sun set over Long Island sound. They also have Adirondack chairs on the beach if you're not hungry and just want to enjoy a drink on the sand.

Helpful?
Thank Jacqueline B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Wall's Wharf also viewed

 
Bayville, Long Island
Bayville, Long Island
 

Been to Wall's Wharf? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing