We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Bad service - poor food-great view”
Review of The Pine Island Grill - CLOSED

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
The Pine Island Grill
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Waitstaff
Restaurant details
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Waitstaff
Seaford
1 review
“Bad service - poor food-great view”
Reviewed July 7, 2013

We had been to this restaurant when it was the Pine Island Grill. It was very good then. This time around the hostess left us standing on the deck for 15 minutes while they looked for someone to set our table. In the meantime other parties were seated (we had a reservation and we were on time). Our waitress to took forever to come to our table, waited 15 minutes for our drinks. The waitress said the bar tender was backed up. When the drinks came the waitress told my wife they were out of the wine she ordered. and those were the highlights.
Management needs to retrain the staff and retrain the staff. The icing on the cake was the fact a wedding was taking place on the lower deck outside with the DJ blaring thru the entire restaurant. Even our horrible waitress admitted it was too loud. She said this is the first time they did this. I will never go their again. The view is great.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Dennis S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

24 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    2
    8
    4
    5
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
New York
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“The new ocean restaurant”
Reviewed May 26, 2013

The new menu at the ocean in bayville long island was a plesant surprise. I had a skirt steak that was very flavorfull. My crabcake appitizer was a work of art as well as full of crab and quite flavorfull. My lunch dates ceasar salad had too much ancohvie flavor to it but was not bad. Prices are reasonable for the type of place it . Give the ocean a try as the food was better than when it was called the pine island grill

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank postalman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bellmore, New York
Level Contributor
20 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Delicious food in a beautiful setting”
Reviewed October 28, 2012

Dined at Pine Island Grill at the Crescent Beach Club. Stopped by, unplanned on a Friday night at 8:30pm, valet told us that the kitchen closed at 9:00pm. We weren't rushed or made to feel that they wanted to close up. The food presentation was eye appealing and everything was quite good. We had salads, Mussels Fra Diavolo -sauce was great!- and Poached salmon. The dessert was a molten chocolate lava cake with ice cream on top that was decadent. Great experience. Only downside, waiter disappeared a few times, and was very jumpy(drugs!). We didn't drink because we were driving too far.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank BetsyK443
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glen Cove, New York
2 reviews
“Crap Food and Service Awesome View”
Reviewed October 4, 2012

The view is close to unbeatable on the top deck. But for $16 for an Absolut Martini that took forever to get to the table, they can keep it.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
Thank Michael P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
12 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Awesome view”
Reviewed September 19, 2012

I’ve been to Pine island Grill 4 times over the past year. The food isn’t top notch but the view is breathtaking. Wait service is on the slower side – but it’s a nice change from most restaurants where you feel rushed to pay and leave. Drinks are great. I’ve dined here on both weekends and weekdays for lunch and dinner and am surprised that the restaurant always seems fairly empty. The setting (and view esp sunset) is great for romantic dates.

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Ashiena P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Pine Island Grill also viewed

 
Bayville, Long Island
 
Bayville, Long Island
Bayville, Long Island
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing