We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Sufficient, but probably won't be back!”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of The Anchor Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Anchor Inn
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Bayside
Bethesda
Level Contributor
41 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Sufficient, but probably won't be back!”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 21, 2012

We stayed here at the suggestion of our cousins, because it was the only place that had any rooms left during graduation weekend! It seemed clean, but the rooms were small and the walls were thin! Noisy neighbors kept us from a good night's sleep.

On the plus side, there was limited free parking and the location was great for our purposes.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank beaglefest
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AnchorInn1, General Manager at The Anchor Inn, responded to this review, May 25, 2012
Thank you for your review. We are glad to hear that our housekeeping crew is doing a good job of keeping the rooms clean. At the same time, we are sorry that you couldn't get a good nights sleep due to some noisy neighbors. In the future, both for your sake and other who will be staying at our hotel (or any other), if you have noisy neighbors, the best course of action is to contact the front desk. 90% of time, when people are asked to quiet down, they say they didn’t realize they were disturbing other guests and then they stop. The weekend that you were here was very busy, we had the graduation in town as well as a large wedding party. Sorry for any inconvenience they may have caused and we hope to have you back again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

141 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    38
    40
    18
    17
    28
See reviews for
47
32
18
18
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Boston, MA
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 20, 2012 via mobile

Stay at the Ramada down the street. Hotel is outdated. Our room had stained sheets, dirty carpets, was "non smoking" but all you could smell was smoke. Overall a dump. AAA discount is a scam. When we booked, we were told we'd get the AAA rate. Coincidently, when it was time to check out the AAA rate "wasn't available" that weekend. Won't be back.

  • Stayed May 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Cb430
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AnchorInn1, General Manager at The Anchor Inn, responded to this review, May 21, 2012
Thank you for your review and we are very sorry to hear that you felt misled by the AAA rate/discount. While it is true that sometimes we offer greater AAA discounts than at other time, if you were quoted a rate and that rate was not honored, then this is a clear error on the clerks part. If you could please contact the hotel via email or phone, We will most certainly make any rate adjustment necessary to correct the error.
You also mentioned that the sheets were "stained", once again I would encourage you to contact us so we can figure out which room you were in and which housekeeper made beds with sheets that were not perfect. The sheets are provided to us from an outside company that washes and presses them for us. If they are not keeping to the standard that they are supposed to, we need to know about it.
Lastly, we are in the process of renovating all of the standard room bathrooms from top to bottom (new floors, walls, vanities, etc). Perhaps you stayed in one of the rooms that has yet to be completed. In addition, the common areas are also currently being redesigned by a decorator and will be updated in the next couple of months.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Knoxville, Tennessee, United States
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 10, 2012

Our only trip ever to New York (for daughter's wedding). We stayed March 20-24th, 2012. Every front desk staff was over and beyond accommodating and truly cared that our stay was a great experience. All other staff was very nice and cordial, always greeting as we passed and nice (as well as helpful) conversations in the breakfast room. It surprised me how friendly everyone was after we'd heard of the rudeness of the atmosphere around people in New York. It turned out that our hotel was only 3 miles from daughter's apartment - how convenient!!

The underneath parking without extra daily cost was a HUGE draw for us and such an added convenience. They were even having it repaved in the back when we first arrived, so they do keep the place updated.

They're located in a safe area, with a Starbucks right across the street and other restaurants within walking distance. Was able to try my first White Castle meal - the cheese 'n ranch fries I highly recommend!

The breakfast room had your standard continental fare; milk, juice, coffee, bagels (delivered fresh each morning), cereal, waffles, etc. It's plenty to fill you up. The outside patio table you enter from the breakfast room was nice to sit at.

Our room was very pretty with a king sized bed and they have in-room safes & refrigerators in the furniture that houses the TV (very intuitive!). The bed was comfortable even though more firm than I was used to. Ample room to sit or work at desk, etc. They were very prompt at housecleaning and supplied extras if we needed them.

If you're not wanting to be in the riffraff of areas like Manhattan (we visited there for the 9/11 Memorial, it's a jungle up there!) but would like an outlying area where you can rest and relax then visit other places if that's the intent of your trip, I would highly recommend The Anchor Inn above any other. We were very fortunate our daughter guided us in where the safe areas were and felt blessed we landed here.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Paula L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AnchorInn1, General Manager at The Anchor Inn, responded to this review, May 11, 2012
Thank you very much for your wonderful and detailed review. We are very happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay and the services we provide. We hope to have you with us again soon in NY.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jacksonville, Florida
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 7, 2012

I stayed at the hotel over the weekend. I didn't have a reservation, the young lady that checked us in was very polite & helpful. My wife wanted some directions & she printed them out for us, she recommended a great restaurant for dinner. She even help me to make arrangements in ordering roses for my wife, it was her birthday. We had a lot of questions & she was quite knowledgeable & patient with us. It wasn't a planned stop but it was a great little hotel, warm & welcoming . The services were wonderful.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jb1426
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AnchorInn1, Manager at The Anchor Inn, responded to this review, May 11, 2012
Thanks very much for your review. We strive for excellence in service and try to help out in any way we can. Come visit us again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Schenectady, New York
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 23, 2012

Stayed there recently for business. Looked blindly on Internet for something on the western portion of Long Island that still had access to the beach. The hotel worked out perfect for that, got work done and did a little r and r.

Room Tip: I had the king deluxe which was just right size
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rbadft
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AnchorInn1, Manager at The Anchor Inn, responded to this review, April 24, 2012
Thank for your review. We are very happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us. Many people upgrade to the deluxe rooms with the whirlpools tubs, microwaves and 42" LCD Tv's, for a few $'s more they get more than their money's worth.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 15, 2012

I had a nice experience at the hotel last night. The room had a king sized bed and I got a room with a jacuzzi. The best part of the visit was Cheryl, the front desk person who checked me in yesterday and out this morning. She is very professional and friendly. It doesn't hurt that she is a beautiful and very sensual woman. Too bad she is married.

  • Stayed April 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank FrankG0007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AnchorInn1, Manager at The Anchor Inn, responded to this review, April 24, 2012
Thanks for staying with us again. It's a pleasure to serve you and glad to see that you approve of our staff selection and training methods.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bayside
0.3 mi away
Adria Hotel And Conference Center
0.3 mi away
Best Western Queens Gold Coast
2.6 mi away
Inn at Great Neck, BW Premier Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.9 mi away
The Andrew Hotel
The Andrew Hotel
#2 of 2 in Great Neck
3.5 of 5 bubbles 193 reviews
4.2 mi away
Hotel de Point
Hotel de Point
#7 of 18 in Flushing
4.0 of 5 bubbles 262 reviews
3.3 mi away
The One Boutique Hotel
The One Boutique Hotel
#11 of 18 in Flushing
3.5 of 5 bubbles 66 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Anchor Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Anchor Inn

Property: The Anchor Inn
Address: 21534 Northern Blvd, On the Corner of 215 Place and Northern Blvd, Bayside, NY 11361-3465
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > Queens > Bayside
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Bayside
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — The Anchor Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 66
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Comfortable, convenient and cost effective, the Anchor Inn offers AAA accommodations for both the business and leisure traveler. Simply put, the Anchor Inn provides convenience to Manhattan as well as Long Island at affordable rates with downtown amenities. Whether you are traveling for a relaxing weekend, a corporate event, or a meeting downtown, no one showcases more unique accommodations. The Anchor Inn's front desk is open 24 hours a day for our guests' comfort and convenience. At most other hotels check in time is 3 pm, but at the Anchor Inn check in time is 12 pm, giving you more time to settle in and relax before dinner or an evening on the town. Our business center is open 24 hours a day where you can check your email, surf the web or put together some last minute documents while away from home or the office. Our state of the art fitness center is open daily from 8am through 10pm. It features a treadmill, recumbent bicycle, and a weight stack machine. We provide free high speed internet access via WIFI. We offer Lodgenet movies, music, and games on demand direct in each room. New York City convenience at very affordable rates. Leave your car and take a sightseeing tour of Manhattan arranged through tour operators that will pick you up and return you directly to the hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Anchor Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Anchor Hotel Bayside
Anchor Hotel Bayside
Anchor Motor Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing