We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Best Steak in NY down the street and we didn't even know it.” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Uncle Jack's Steakhouse

Uncle Jack's Steakhouse
Reserve with OpenTable
Uncle Jack's Steakhouse is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #3 of 150 Restaurants in Bayside
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $31 - $50
Cuisines: American, Steakhouse
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings
Dining options: Brunch, Dinner, Lunch, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Parking Available, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Street Parking, Takeout, Valet Parking, Waitstaff, Wine and Beer
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Cross street: 40th Street
Transit: LIRR Station – Bayside stop (2 blocks), Queens Bus 13 & 31 within one block. Parking: Valet parking available.
Description: The place to meet, eat and enjoy the finer things in life. Specializing in 21 day dry aged USDA Prime meats, Kobe beef, Australian lobster tails and offering a wide array of seafood and wines. Join us for our old world charm and impeccable service. William Jack Degel honors his Godfather, the proprietor of Jack's, a 1930's prohibition-style Victorian speak-easy. At Uncle Jack's, where the motto is "Customer is King," his legend lives on.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
22 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Best Steak in NY down the street and we didn't even know it.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 4, 2012

As far as I am concerned it is better than lugers and del friscos. Delicious from start to finish. Wouldn't order the cream spinach again.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank Marietta B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

116 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    59
    33
    14
    6
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
112 reviews
60 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
“Used to be better !”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 27, 2012

I have eaten here several times as I don't live far. The food is still good but no "wow" factor anymore. Service was also not as good. Very disappointed.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank KCfromKCNY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New york
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Good but not extraordinary”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 26, 2012

Porterhouse seems to be the choice of meat there and it's for two. Service was very good too. Probably the best steakhouse in queens, but nothing compared to Long Island or the city.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Jmhsu23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
14 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Best steak EVER!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 23, 2012

Great Food, excellent service. Uncle Jack's in Bayside is my go-to restaurant for special occasions. We usually split a porterhouse for 2, and it never disappoints. Everything on the menu is absolutely delicious!

  • Visited January 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Urvashi S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RandBS
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great food and amazing service”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 15, 2012

I just had a business lunch for six at Uncle Jack's today and couldn't be happier. We were celebrating a milestone with a client and wanted to make sure we had a special place to celebrate. The client suggested Uncle Jack's and it was just great. The food was reasonably priced, very tasty, and nicely portioned. Three of us got the salmon; it was perfectly cooked. The waiter was so good - we actually all commented at the end how knowledgeable and excited he was about his job. You could tell he was a really foodie and loved his job - it made the lunch that more special. He made a suggestion on a crabcake appetizer for everyone and it was just perfect. I'm out to lunch for business often in Manhattan and this place is easily as good if not better than any place I've ever been. I only wish I had more reasons to go to Bayside. Although, I believe they have a few other locations I should keep in mind.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank RandBS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Uncle Jack's Steakhouse also viewed

 

Been to Uncle Jack's Steakhouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing