We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good food on the water in a casual environment”
Review of Molly Malone's Restaurant - CLOSED

Molly Malone's Restaurant
Dining options: Breakfast, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Reservations
Reston
Level 6 Contributor
319 reviews
234 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
“Good food on the water in a casual environment”
Reviewed August 6, 2014

Had a delightful lunch looking at the boats going out side on the covered patio. Very casual outside though, not upscale if that is what you are looking for.The service was outstanding and the food every bit as good. We all shared potato skins and they were great. Some of us had a Reuben, made just the way it should have been. I am not much of a drinker and like things sweet and just loved the toasted coconut martini. Delicious. A lovely lunch. I would definitely go back again.

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Gail C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

25 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    10
    6
    4
    3
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
long island ny
Level 5 Contributor
57 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“We felt mislead...”
Reviewed July 22, 2014

We went early on a saturday night based on a friends recommendation. I called at the last minute to see if I can get a reservation. Success.....but I was told reservations are for inside only and outside was first come first serve and there was no wait outside now. ok so we head out and when we get there, 30 minutes later - there is an hour wait for outside...interesting because we were seated next to a couple who had the same experience except they were only 10 minutes away...sounds like someone didn't give out the right information. Is this the way they always operate - get you there and then your captive...idk. its was their first time at Molly Malones as well.

Now our waiter didn't come over to us for atleast 30 minutes...he didn't know he had our table. really? only waiter in the section.... and the hostess said that he does...idk ...food was just ok...asked for sauce on the side - came on the chicken...

After several complaints to the hostess, the owner came over to appoligize and said that the waiter was new....saturday night in the summer..so unprepared...our drinks took forever as well - which was supposedly the bar's fault...Inside restaurant was NOT full. A very large section was given to a new waiter- if that was the truth... would NOT go back. My party felt mislead and patronized.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank mean1234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Pierce, Florida
Level 6 Contributor
295 reviews
213 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 115 helpful votes
“Had Fun at Outside Bar!”
Reviewed July 17, 2014

We went to Molly Malone's with a bunch of friends to enjoy the music at the outside bar. The band was excellent, people were dancing, and the bar tender was quick with the drinks and made you feel welcomed.
I personally don't know how the food is since I limited my night to beverages.
I would definitely go again - and next time sample the food.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TravelingB0B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Long Island
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Very good food, nice place inside, great location”
Reviewed July 15, 2014

Our dinners were very good. The food was tastey, the portions were nice size and the service was welcoming. The manhattan clam chowderw as the best I have ever had and was filled with chopped clams. They also serve Irish soda bread at the table and it was very very good. The steak sandwhiches were juicy and cooked perfect. The chicken spicy pasta was fantastic. As for the view, it can't be beat. And the inside is brand new, completely renovated. We bumped into one of the owners while we were there, Pete Higgins, what a nice guy!

Definitely will be back.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Italy851
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sarasota, Florida
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“wouldn't return again”
Reviewed July 1, 2014

We met friends for lunch there on Saturday. There were six of us. Three of our meals were mediocre with one of them having a hair in it. After being told the meal with hair in it wouldn't be removed from the bill, it was still on the bill.
The women's bathroom had a child's soiled pair of underpants left of the toilet paper holder. We told an employee, but twenty minutes later it was still there.
The day manager didn't seem to care about any of the complaints. Will not return here again.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank mikieh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Molly Malone's Restaurant also viewed

Bay Shore, Long Island
Bay Shore, Long Island
 
Bay Shore, Long Island
 
Bay Shore, Long Island
Bay Shore, Long Island
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing