We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An old standby with a new look”
Review of Captain Bill's

Captain Bill's
Reserve with OpenTable
Captain Bill's is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #4 of 140 Restaurants in Bay Shore
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $31 - $40
Cuisines: Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Cross street: Montauk Highway
Transit: Captain Bill's is a short trip from the Bay Shore train station.
Bay Shore, New York
Level Contributor
68 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“An old standby with a new look”
Reviewed January 24, 2014

This Bay Shore landmark has had a few make-overs. The last was after super storm Sandy. The food has remained good and the views are magnificent if you have a window table. The great thing about this place is that the noise is tolerable. There is no loud background music and the conversation level is terrific (at least when I have been there).

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Dale T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

184 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    75
    60
    28
    6
    15
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Grapevine, Texas
Level Contributor
169 reviews
118 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
“Dinner down by the Docks”
Reviewed November 25, 2013

I like this place, it is old, and consistent. I chose to get married here, in a dinner party turned wedding- just because it has all the elements I wanted in place. A nice waterfront location, convenient to mass transportation, good food. We pop in and out of here on occasion, but will always have a place to go back to that is consistent.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Islandbean
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Level Contributor
37 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Captain Bill, your ship has sailed”
Reviewed November 6, 2013

This was the worst restaurant week meal I have ever had! The calamari was good until it cooled off a little at which time it turned into rubber bands. The shrimp has a spongy texture, and the stuffed clam was so "doughy" I couldn't eat it. The flounder and scallops were ok, and so was the dessert. The potatoes were overcooked, but the vegetables were excellent. They were the best part of the meal. The waitress didn't even offer the coffee and tea that were included with the meal. It definitely wasn't worth the gas it took to get there!

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Global_traveler02
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Springfield, Missouri
Level Contributor
22 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“A good find!”
Reviewed October 10, 2013

We enjoyed a nice, evening meal with a good view overlooking the water. The restaurant had a relaxed atmosphere while maintaining it's class. The server was knowledgeable and attentive. The salmon and the chicken were both a delight. Salads are tasty, but very large portions before a full meal. Would like to return to try other menu items.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank CMP1015
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Long Island
Level Contributor
34 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
“Geat location, excellent food and service”
Reviewed September 5, 2013

This very attractive restaurant is located at the Bayshore Marina, directly on the Great South Bay. The view from the dining room is beautiful. Our waitress, Tara, provided great service and was friendly and cheerful. The fried calamari was very good; crispy and tender. My tuna steak with wasabi and soy sauce was slightly overdone, but still delicious. My wie's shrimp and lobster over linguini was delicious and had so much seafood in it, she couldn't finish it. We thoroughly enjoyed our dinner and would definitely return again.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank mongcop3086
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Captain Bill's also viewed

Bay Shore, Long Island
Bay Shore, Long Island
 
Oakdale, Long Island
 
Bay Shore, Long Island
 

Been to Captain Bill's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing