We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“SUCKISHHH”
2 of 5 bubbles Review of Captain Bill's

Captain Bill's
Reserve with OpenTable
Captain Bill's is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #4 of 140 Restaurants in Bay Shore
Price range: $31 - $40
Cuisines: American, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Special occasions, Large groups, Bar scene, Business meetings, Kids, Scenic view, Families with children
Dining options: Late Night, Lunch, Dinner, Brunch, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Parking Available, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Valet Parking, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Cross street: Montauk Highway
Transit: Captain Bill's is a short trip from the Bay Shore train station.
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“SUCKISHHH”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 25, 2012

We were deciding where to eat and we spotted captain bills restaurant. We looked at reviews and the majority of them were negative.First impression was to move on because there were no cars. But we decided to take a chance because we were hungry. We went in... The people were friendly, we were seated quickly of course. They took our order ,acted like they knew it but got the orders allllll wrong !!!!!!!!!! The decor was completely ratchet, they say it has been around 1938 , and that's exactly what it look like.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Lem72098
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

177 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    70
    59
    27
    6
    15
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Copiague, New York
Level Contributor
75 reviews
53 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Very haughty seafood place”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 12, 2012

Portions are small, food so so and way overpriced. Too much to pay for the beautiful views.

Helpful?
2 Thank Fyreandice
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bradenton, Florida
Level Contributor
33 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Poor Service and Poorly Prepared Food”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 28, 2012

My wife and I knew we were in trouble service-wise when we told the witress we didn't want any wine or cocktails. You could almost see her lose interest in us as she assumed (wrongly) that we would be ordering inexpensive dishes and so her tip would be small. She rarely came back to check on us which would have been nice because the food took forever to arrive.

We both had salads as an appetizer. The salds were fine but took over twenty minutes to arrive. When they did arrive, the server didn't bother to ask if we wanted frsh pepper. She simply disappeared.

Our entrees came almost thirty minutes after that. My wife had a shrimp dish with shrimp so overcooked that she said she was certain they would bounce if she dropped them. I ordered a seafood medly and except for the scallops which were prepared well, the fish filet was tasteless and barely warm while the shrimps were overcooked just as my wife's had been.

We live in Florida and eat at seafood restaurants there all the time. We have never had such a poor seafood dinner as we had at this restaurant.

  • Visited June 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank dtccexec
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Long Island
Level Contributor
65 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Excellent dishes, slightly expensive”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 10, 2012

We have been coming to this restaurant for several years and it is always consistent. Food is excellently prepared although some things are slightly expensive. We find that we can get a better deal at lunchtime than dinnertime. It is right in the middle of boating country and there are always boats to admire during the season.

  • Visited June 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank mrsbz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plainview, New York
Level Contributor
295 reviews
221 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 106 helpful votes
“Food Good, View Nice, Service Lacking”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 9, 2012

It was probably the best mussels in wine sauce I ever had at a restaurant. Breadcrumbs were mixed in with garlic/wine/butter sauce which gave the mussels a creamy tecture that really held the flavor. Then the view--overlooking a the Bay Shore Marina, it's a very nautical setting.

But the problem was the service. At first, we requested seating in the bar area thinking that a light far dinner with the klds would be good, and we waited, and waited, until we requested to be moved to the main dining room. We must have came on a busy Wednesday night as there was absolutely no bus service. Our plates piled up unitl we requested that they would be removed.

The place could be increadible if the service was better organized. I value service as much as the quality of the food. When i go out to eat, I expect to be catered to.

  • Visited June 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Insbro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Captain Bill's also viewed

Bay Shore, Long Island
Bay Shore, Long Island
 
Bay Shore, Long Island
Bay Shore, Long Island
 
Oakdale, Long Island
Bay Shore, Long Island
 

Been to Captain Bill's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing