We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Poor Service and Poorly Prepared Food”
Review of Captain Bill's

Captain Bill's
Reserve with OpenTable
Captain Bill's is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #3 of 140 Restaurants in Bay Shore
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $31 - $40
Cuisines: Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Cross street: Montauk Highway
Transit: Captain Bill's is a short trip from the Bay Shore train station.
Bradenton, Florida
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Poor Service and Poorly Prepared Food”
Reviewed June 28, 2012

My wife and I knew we were in trouble service-wise when we told the witress we didn't want any wine or cocktails. You could almost see her lose interest in us as she assumed (wrongly) that we would be ordering inexpensive dishes and so her tip would be small. She rarely came back to check on us which would have been nice because the food took forever to arrive.

We both had salads as an appetizer. The salds were fine but took over twenty minutes to arrive. When they did arrive, the server didn't bother to ask if we wanted frsh pepper. She simply disappeared.

Our entrees came almost thirty minutes after that. My wife had a shrimp dish with shrimp so overcooked that she said she was certain they would bounce if she dropped them. I ordered a seafood medly and except for the scallops which were prepared well, the fish filet was tasteless and barely warm while the shrimps were overcooked just as my wife's had been.

We live in Florida and eat at seafood restaurants there all the time. We have never had such a poor seafood dinner as we had at this restaurant.

  • Visited June 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank dtccexec
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

190 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    77
    62
    29
    7
    15
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Long Island
Level 5 Contributor
65 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Excellent dishes, slightly expensive”
Reviewed June 10, 2012

We have been coming to this restaurant for several years and it is always consistent. Food is excellently prepared although some things are slightly expensive. We find that we can get a better deal at lunchtime than dinnertime. It is right in the middle of boating country and there are always boats to admire during the season.

  • Visited June 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank mrsbz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plainview, New York
Level 6 Contributor
295 reviews
221 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 108 helpful votes
“Food Good, View Nice, Service Lacking”
Reviewed June 9, 2012

It was probably the best mussels in wine sauce I ever had at a restaurant. Breadcrumbs were mixed in with garlic/wine/butter sauce which gave the mussels a creamy tecture that really held the flavor. Then the view--overlooking a the Bay Shore Marina, it's a very nautical setting.

But the problem was the service. At first, we requested seating in the bar area thinking that a light far dinner with the klds would be good, and we waited, and waited, until we requested to be moved to the main dining room. We must have came on a busy Wednesday night as there was absolutely no bus service. Our plates piled up unitl we requested that they would be removed.

The place could be increadible if the service was better organized. I value service as much as the quality of the food. When i go out to eat, I expect to be catered to.

  • Visited June 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Insbro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Long Island, NY
Level 5 Contributor
98 reviews
68 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Nice View, Food just OK”
Reviewed May 25, 2012

It was our anniversary and we were in the mood for seafood so what better place than Captain Bill's? We had a table by the water so the view was great! Appetizers: baked clams and crab cakes were both terrific! I had the mahi mahi special and it was only OK - a disappointment for me. There was too much liquid on the plate - don't know what it was from but something was not drained properly. My husband had the broiled seafood platter and he thought it was good. Again - nothing spectacular but passable. We have had lunch here on several occasions and it was always great so it might have been an off night for the chef. It was definitely an off night for our waitress so that might have added to our mediocre experience. We'll give it another try though.

  • Visited May 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Jet Gal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madison, Wisconsin
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Horrible Service - Won't return”
Reviewed April 27, 2012

4.27.12 Arrived party of 3 at 6:30. Promised table by 7:00. Informed hostess we could eat in bar area. Sat in bar for 65 minutes while tables sat empty and others were seated in under 15 minutes. Not approached for drink or food order in bar. Not overly busy for a Friday night. No attention and clueless management. Sad business

  • Visited April 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Jim G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Captain Bill's also viewed

Bay Shore, Long Island
 
Bay Shore, Long Island
 

Been to Captain Bill's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing