We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Staff in need of Corporate Support”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Quality Inn & Suites Palm Island Indoor Waterpark
Ranked #8 of 12 Hotels in Batavia
Bowling Green, OH
Level Contributor
68 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Good Staff in need of Corporate Support”
Reviewed April 12, 2013

This hotel is an older unit, as are many similar hotels in the area, but the maintenance staff needs to get on the ball. Wall paper was peeling, tiles were missing and there was an exceptionally odd lack of furniture in common areas. Visitors step out of a damaged elevator into a large reception room on each floor to no furnishings what so ever. It feels like they have had a garage sale and were left empty. The furnishings they have scream "1990s" and "Clean Me!" Generally, this hotel is being let down on two ends: 1) the maintenance staff are not on top of the needs of an older hotel and 2) corporate needs to invest in the property. When I see signs of ill repair and upgrading needs, the root cause usually comes back to corporate management failure. I am, though, conflicted in this review because the staff (including the site management) was truly wonderful. The desk staff was exceptional and would be right at home in a posh resort. The programming staff also did an exceptional job of offering promotions for their on site restaurant and even provided a movie night for the kids to give the parents some respite. In short, on the hotel end, the establishment was clean and the site staff, outstanding, but corporate needs to support the hotel.

The water park was cute and was very appropriate for smaller children. If you are looking for a big water park hotel, this isn't it, though. The water park is a very nice added feature, but is really a giant kiddie pool. The pool area was clean and well stocked. the gift shop was sparse on products, but had all the basics. The pool staff was OK, mostly walking around in a daze as their primary focus was on the safety of the herd of children in the pool area. I was pleased with the quantity of staff. Each pool area had its own staff member, creating a very safe play environment. The hot tub was nice, but whatever designer thought it was a good idea to put it on the other side of a big fiberglass rock which has a basketball hoop on the other side, allowing stray balls to splash into the hot tub area on a very regular basis ... needs to go back to common sense school.

For a family weekend, this hotel fits the bill, but as a vacation destination, it wouldn't be a top choice - though it could be with some corporate investment in the property. Compared to other hotels in Batavia, this is a good choice as the options are a bit sparse.

Helpful?
Thank Paul A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ParkRoadHospitality, Manager at Quality Inn & Suites Palm Island Indoor Waterpark, responded to this review, May 31, 2013
Thank you for a truly honest and fair review. Our staff works so hard to provide excellent service and its great when that is recognized. Our owners really are investing back into the property on a consistent basis but of course more can always and should be done. Your comments are so helpful, I will share with them and use them to make the plans and take action for the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

377 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    101
    96
    71
    58
    51
See reviews for
220
29
10
44
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (77)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Fairport, New York
1 review
Reviewed April 9, 2013

The water park package offered by the hotel in conjunction with the Palm Island Water Park was a great value. Te package included overnight accommodations, four water park tickets and a credit toward a delicious breakfast buffet. The water park was perfect for our five and two year olds to have fun together and my husband even took advantage of the two larger slides. The rooms/bathrooms were a bit outdated but otherwise clean. Great overnight close to home!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Michelle W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ParkRoadHospitality, Manager at Quality Inn & Suites Palm Island Indoor Waterpark, responded to this review, April 11, 2013
Thank you for the review! We try to keep the price of the package affordable for families such as yours, its good to hear that you enjoyed the stay. We will look forward to having you on a return visit! Thanks again!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheektowaga, New York
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed April 8, 2013

Great Time. Great Price. We all had a great time at the hotel, and indoor waterpark. The breakfast buffet was awesome.Rooms can use some updating along the windows,everything else was great! Go for package deal, it was well worth the price. Definately would stay again!

Room Tip: Request a suite, $20.00 more per night, double the size of regular room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LawrenceB104
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ParkRoadHospitality, Manager at Quality Inn & Suites Palm Island Indoor Waterpark, responded to this review, April 11, 2013
Thank you for the review! We are so glad you enjoyed your stay. We are excited about the updates we are currently making including replacing ALL the windows. Also great comment about the suites, families just love the extra space and the extra TV is always a hit (not all parents enjoy watching the same shows as the kids!!) Thanks again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheektowaga, New York
1 review
Reviewed April 7, 2013

great time very nice hotel a little out dated but very nice. the water park was very nice and kid friendly i only wish it was a little bigger and better ventilation but other than that it was a great time.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jreese129
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ParkRoadHospitality, Manager at Quality Inn & Suites Palm Island Indoor Waterpark, responded to this review, April 8, 2013
Thank you for your review! I am so glad that you enjoyed your stay. We are currently working on updates for the hotel and have plans for an expansion to the waterpark as well. We look forward to offering even more. Thanks again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buffalo, New York
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed April 5, 2013

I stayed one night MAR 29th with my 2 boys 6 and 10. The hotel is not that clean. Kind of musty from every walking though the hotel wet from the water park. the carpets were dirty and the hallway of the side entrance was dumpy. also they have huge flood lights outside the rooms pointed at the windows so at night the light comes in.
At first the outside and the lobby look really nice at check in till you get to the room then you see its age. the rooms are run down.
the water park was ok good for small kids but any one over 9 or 10 will get board fast. the stairs to the slides were dirty and i didnt want to walk on them bare foots.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 357DennisW357
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ParkRoadHospitality, Manager at Quality Inn & Suites Palm Island Indoor Waterpark, responded to this review, April 8, 2013
Thank you for your comments, we place great value on the feedback we receive and use it to make future plans to our property. The carpets in all the hallways will be replaced this year. Also our plans to expand the waterpark will consider the older kids interests but it is correct that our main focus of the park is for children under 12. Thanks again for your review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed April 4, 2013

I went there for a conference. The hotel is old and really needs an update. The rooms were spacious but there was an odd smell that permeated everything. They also didn't have WiFi, you had to have a cable in order to plug your laptop in and it only worked at this very small table in the room. Not convenient for business travel.
The "waterparK" is connected to the hotel but is a completely separate business.
The bar and food were good.
Overall, not terrible for the price but nothing I would seek out again.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dispatcher307
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ParkRoadHospitality, Manager at Quality Inn & Suites Palm Island Indoor Waterpark, responded to this review, April 8, 2013
WOW! A review from a stay in October! We have made so many changes in 6 months! First off, our interenet has been completely replaced throughout the building. We offer high speed free WIFI everywhere and since installing new equipment at the beginning of this year, we have had ZERO issues with it. Secondly, we have been consistently making updates to the property. We just replaced the carpeting in the hotel rooms, added new pullout beds in the suites, the restaurant has been COMPLETELY remodeled. This year, all the carpeting in the hallways is getting replaced and our banquet facilities are all getting a facelift as well. Lots of exciting changes. You should come back and check it out! Thank you for your comments!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rochester, New York
1 review
Reviewed March 12, 2013

We brought our 4 year old 20 month old and both of them had a great time. There is enought things to do in the water park that kept them busy for hours and the water temp was warm enough. Room was clean and the resturant had great food. We are planning on going again soon.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lisa V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ParkRoadHospitality, Manager at Quality Inn & Suites Palm Island Indoor Waterpark, responded to this review, April 8, 2013
Thank you for your review! We love to hear about the families enjoying their mini-vacas with us! Cant wait to see you again...
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Batavia hotels
0.2 mi away
Best Western Crown Inn & Suites
0.4 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Batavia
0.3 mi away
Red Roof Inn Batavia
Red Roof Inn Batavia
#4 of 12 in Batavia
135 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Hotel at Batavia Downs
Hotel at Batavia Downs
#3 of 12 in Batavia
31 reviews
0.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Batavia - Darien Lake
0.4 mi away
Hampton Inn Batavia
Hampton Inn Batavia
#2 of 12 in Batavia
437 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Quality Inn & Suites Palm Island Indoor Waterpark? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Quality Inn & Suites Palm Island Indoor Waterpark

Property: Quality Inn & Suites Palm Island Indoor Waterpark
Address: 8250 Park Rd, Batavia, NY 14020-1275 (Formerly Clarion Hotel Palm Island Indoor Waterpark)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > Batavia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 12 Hotels in Batavia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Quality Inn & Suites Palm Island Indoor Waterpark 3*
Number of rooms: 195
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Home of the Palm Island Indoor Waterpark!!! Whether traveling for business, leisure or planning a meeting or banquet, the Quality Inn & Suites Batavia in the Darien Lake area will make your stay a memorable experience by providing excellent service, impeccable rooms, and fantastic dining options. 195 spacious guest rooms including 48 executive suites will provide all of the amenities expected by modern travelers. All of the rooms are oversized with refrigerators and microwaves, the executive suites include a separate sitting area with a dry bar, desk, speaker phone and two TVs. The entire hotel is equipped with free high speed wireless internet access. This hotel has over 10,000 square feet of meeting and banquet space. Conveniently located on Park Road at exit 48 off I-90, situated approximately 25 miles from both Buffalo and Rochester, New York. This beautiful Batavia hotel is located less than 45 miles from Niagara Falls/Seneca Casino. Short walk to the Batavia Downs Casino, Race Track and Video Gaming and located only 10 miles from Darien Lake Amusement Park. Also nearby are Letchworth State Park, Terry Hills Golf Course, NYS School of the Blind, Genesee Community College, Iroquois National Wildlife Refuge, Dwyer Stadium (Home of the Muckdogs), Jello Museum, Antiques and much more. With free parking and accessibility for trucks, buses, and RVs. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, Choice Hotels, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Quality Inn & Suites Palm Island Indoor Waterpark reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Batavia
Batavia Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing