We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Poor payouts”
Review of Batavia Downs

Batavia Downs
Ranked #1 of 14 things to do in Batavia
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Rochester, NY
Level 5 Contributor
63 reviews
26 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
“Poor payouts”
Reviewed October 20, 2013

Newly refurbished racino is clean, airy, and roomy. There are many new slot machines and 2 enclosed smoking rooms. However, the payouts are extremely poor or non- existent. My wife and I spent 3 hours on Sunday morning in the new racino playing the slot machines. I lost $120 on about 20 different penny machines and never got the free games bonus, not even once. My wife also never got any free games. Nice racino, but no wins equals no fun. I'll visit seneca niagara casino or Finger Lakes racino. We feel we have a better chance of winning. If you want to visit a newly refurbished racino with new restaurants and bar, then Batavia Downs is okay. However, if you want to win occasionally, I wouldn't recommend this racino.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
5 Thank Zimski
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

216 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    104
    54
    37
    5
    16
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Amherst, New York, United States
Level 4 Contributor
22 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Batavia Downs”
Reviewed September 12, 2013

They have seasonal horse race track and a small race track casino, no table games slots only. It is a pleasant place to visit and enjoy an day or a few hours of gambling on slots or the horses when they are racing. One thing I like is the non smoking atmosphere which is better for me and my allergies; but they do have an enclosed area for gamblers who smoke. The casino is actually in the upper part of the building and escalators quickly take you there. And if you cannot use the escalators, there is an elevator available down a hall to the right of them. I cannot comment on the food served there because we usually eat at Alex's Place or the Red Osier before coming,, which are two excellent restaurants in Batavia - we are not locals of the Batavia area, but enjoy the hour plus ride to the region.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Patricia U
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 5 Contributor
51 reviews
31 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Very friendly”
Reviewed September 3, 2013

I went to both the horse track and inside to the casino. Very clean. Does have a smoking room which even around the room smells like smoke due to opening of doors. Tons of different machine and games to try. Tons of offers for free play different offers each week.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Tiffany H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Smyrna
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
19 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Large Non smoking gambling”
Reviewed September 3, 2013

Finally, a casino that has a large non smoking area that did not require us to walk through a smoking area. Slots were a little higher than at some casinos (minimum plays). But there were a lot of slot machines.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Jo Ann L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Haverhill, Massachusetts
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Batavia's Sole Entertainment Venue”
Reviewed August 21, 2013

The games and food were average, at best. Fellow gamers were friendly, however, and the in-laws seemed to enjoy the seedy vibe.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Matty2999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Batavia Downs also viewed

 

Been to Batavia Downs? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing