We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice to visit”
Review of O'Lacy's Irish Pub

O'Lacy's Irish Pub
Ranked #4 of 79 Restaurants in Batavia
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Irish
Dining options: Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night
East Bethany, New York
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Nice to visit”
Reviewed October 4, 2013

Nice to visit one time for the atmosphere. The bartenders were outstanding, and sitting at the bar was wonderful. When we moved to a table, however, it was an entirely different story. The waitress was quite rude and impatient with us. The food was simply okay. HOWEVER, do not hesitate to stop in for a genuine Irish pub experience.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank CissyShepard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

143 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    81
    44
    12
    2
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Rochester, NY
Level Contributor
338 reviews
223 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 156 helpful votes
“An Olde World Pub”
Reviewed September 30, 2013

I've been to a few Olde World Pubs and when my GF suggested we take a break and visit O'Lacy's which she had been to before, it got my attention.

In our travels together we love to frequent Bars and Grilles for the atmosphere and food. We are particularly fond of eating at the bar and getting to know the bartenders who are a wealth of information about the areas we are visiting.

O'Lacy's proved to be just the sort of place we love. It reminded us of another little Irish bar in Bar Harbor called Leary's Landing Irish Pub. A great place if you ever get there.

The original idea was only to stop for a drink and refresh ourselves but a quick look at the appetizers on the menu convinced us we had to try something. We were first surprised to find cheese, sausage and crackers on the appetizers menu. We don't normally see that. There was also Clams Casino and soups. They also had many various kinds of "Chips" in different flavors and quantities. My GF suggested the "Chips" but a limited quantity thinking I would not care for them.

I order a traditional beer on tap and my GF ordered a glass of wine. I was surprised at how full the glass of wine was. This place is not stingy on the wine.

When the cheese, crackers and sausage came out in a basket I knew we were not going to be able to eat the whole thing. Again no stinginess here. The "Chips" we ordered were the smallest order called "Regular size" on the menu. When they came out we thought OMG! who can eat that much. We also ordered the sauce for the chips the name of which escapes me, but it was sensational!

Well the Chips proved to be outstanding! Sort of reminded me of Lay's Originals, lighter and the sauce that came with them provided an entirely new eating experience. And the quantity was Huge! I'm glad we didn't order a large basket.

We looked over the rest of the menu and this told us we had to come back some time for dinner. A lot old Irish classics on here. Might bring the parents along too. They've been to Ireland and would love this trip back in time.

The whole place smacked of Olde World decor. I loved it. I would go back in a heartbeat.

One reviewer said it was too dark, so I'm thinking they haven't been to many Olde World Pubs. As for not bringing the 12 year old to such a place, please don't. Children shouldn't be in a Pub in the first place. Especially sitting at the bar drinking kiddie cocktails.

O'Lacys is a little off the beaten path but findable and there is parking galore. Go....you'll love it.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Alain L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Excellent Food”
Reviewed August 19, 2013

We were on the road and needed to stop off the highway for dinner. We had a great meal - true to the positive TripAdvisor reviews! Our favorites were the beef stew and the chips. The service was fantastic and the food came out quick.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank TripAmm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Quaint Irish Pub”
Reviewed August 2, 2013 via mobile

Quaint little pub, with a delicious menu! Their reubens & stew are definitely a favorite. You've never really had a Guinness till you've had one here! Complete with a shamrock in the foam. The service is exceptional!

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Cheryl R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scottsville, New York
Level Contributor
29 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Good company, wonderful pub fare and 14 taps!”
Reviewed July 8, 2013

An old favorite of ours. My wife and I got there on Friday July 5 after a couple month absence. Same great food, same nice people (customers AND staff). An Oasis in Batavia, well worth the trip.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank joseph m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed O'Lacy's Irish Pub also viewed

 

Been to O'Lacy's Irish Pub? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing