We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Pretty restaurant, good food and drink. Nice wait staff”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Larry's Steakhouse - CLOSED

Larry's Steakhouse
Price range: $9 - $32
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions
Dining options: Late Night, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Description: We offer the most extensive choices of quality steaks and seafood in the area but our menu is varied enough that anyone in your party can find something great to eat. We serve early lunches, late dinners and offer a private dining room for your next event.
Batavia
Level Contributor
126 reviews
66 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Pretty restaurant, good food and drink. Nice wait staff”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 6, 2013

Very reliable steaks and ahi tuna. Some nice specials. Our favorite local restaurant. Nice little patio for warm weather dining.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank SunshineV88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

78 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    27
    16
    9
    11
    15
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Attica, New York
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Bad steak, bad service, good soup, nice atmosphere”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 29, 2013

Only went to this restaurant because we had a gift certificate- wouldn't return. We were greeted nicely and seated by a hostess, prompt drinks...then our experience deteriorated. Soup was delivered to two of us, but was extremely hot on top and cold in the middle (microwave?), we had to ask for the salad for the third person in our party (after the soup was gone- couldn't find waiter). For the three people seated at the table we were given two sets of cutlery and only 2 rolls. Dinner arrived in good time, but two of the steaks ordered were thin and tough. The marinated steak skewers were good, most likely because they were very thin and soaked in seasoning. We had to ask for the side of macaroni and cheese after dinner was delivered. Water seemed to be doing us a favor for bringing things we ordered after we asked for them. We watched the server have a conversation with his friends while we patiently waited for the check.

Will NOT visit again and do NOT recommend to anyone.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Amber L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Batavia, New York
Level Contributor
73 reviews
46 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Great food!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 19, 2013

While titled 'steakhouse', Larry's has plenty of other options. The steaks are simply fantastic - awesome flavor - none of that nasty gristle. The sides are spectacular. The salads are awesome. The stacked eggplant appetizer is unique and delicious! Check it out!

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank BataviaBev
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, TX
Level Contributor
65 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Good for business travel”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 15, 2013

I stopped for dinner when in town for business. I am from Houston TX and was at a loss for places to eat in a small town. It was a Monday night at 7 pm and there were three other tables with diners. Service was prompt, the glass of wine that I ordered was a good temperature (I hate reds served at room temp or warmer and this was just slightly cool.) The salad was lackluster - clearly an iceberg bag mix but with fresh cucumbers. It was a shame because the house vinaigrette was actually really tasty. The roll was warm and delicious. I ordered the haddock stuffed with crab with a side of veggies. The veggies (green/yellow beans and baby carrots) were just ok, but the fish was terrific. Texture was good, so I think the fish was fresh. The dill cream sauce was very good - thick but not broken. The crab stuffing was the real star. There was no breadcrumb filler and the flavor and texture were very good. Overall, the meal was adequate and I would eat here again and try something else, the menu was quite varied and the prices were reasonable. The same meal in Houston could easily cost twice as much.

My only real complaint as that my male server needed a facial hair trim/haircut to look more clean. I only say that because at a "fine dining" place such as this, impression is still everything.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Stelligena
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Binghamton, New York
Level Contributor
15 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great place!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 20, 2013

We stopped in late one Saturday morning (2/16/13) hoping to get a quick sandwich and get back on the road. Once we saw the menu and chatted with the bartender/waiter/son of owner, we ordered the Osso Bucco and the Ahi Tuna. Both were worth ordering, but the Osso Bucco is the reason for writing the review. This was one of the best versions of this meal that I've ever had. If we are passing through again, we will be sure to stop and get the Osso Bucco again and try another item from the menu. I suggest you do the same.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank StillMill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Larry's Steakhouse also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing