We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Great Family Camping” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Kittatinny Campgrounds

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Barryville
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Kittatinny Campgrounds
Save
You added Kittatinny Campgrounds to your Saves list
Level Contributor
17 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Great Family Camping”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2014

I go camping with my family and I also enjoy trips with friends - adults - This place is wonderful for families. t is quiet at night for great sleeping nestled in wooded sites, in nature, with beautiful trees. They provide fire rings, free hot showers bathrooms, and water at the site as well. We even had an outlet at our site to fill air mattress or charge electronics. However there is NO SERVICE here. We had to drive a mile away. At first we were a little upset and then the peace of the place sunk in and we were happy that there was no ability for facebooking, no phones ringing, all of our attention went into the here and now. We spent our day and night right there at the site, even though there is so much to do. We spent time exploring the huge stream , took easy hikes, found orange salamanders, but it was amazing, no animals disturbed our tent or food. I am used to hanging up the garbage or putting it in your car at night. But at night the sound of the water flowing by you lulls you to sleep. The staff is a great bunch of professional young people, who seem to be very happy doing what they do. It was a really nice surprise. Will definitely bring family back there.

Room Tip: Sites in the 200's are beautful.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank juk2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kittatinny C, Manager at Kittatinny Campgrounds, responded to this review, September 23, 2014
Thank You for your review, we value all our guests’ feedback.

We are glad to hear you enjoyed your time at the campground in the 200’s section. We agree wooded sites, nature and beautiful trees with no ability to Facebook is what it’s really all about!

Please feel free to email us at info@kittatinny.com directly, we hope to see you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

76 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    9
    10
    15
    17
    25
See reviews for
31
7
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2014 via mobile

I visited this site recently and it was one of my best camping experiences. I Was Hesitant to visit this site after reading the reviews. The campsite was clean, the bath houses very clean. The staff was friendly. And the staff at the zip line went above and beyond to assist us. I was very impressed. The view was amazing. Going back in a few weeks. Can't wait to share my experience with my family.

Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank kesha y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kittatinny C, Manager at Kittatinny Campgrounds, responded to this review, October 29, 2014
Thank You for your review, we value all our guests’ feedback. We are glad you choose us, enjoyed your first trip here and found our facilities impressive.

Our staff strives to make every zip line ride a memorable experience, we are happy to hear you found them especially helpful. The views that our Dual Racing Ziplines offer are truly one of a kind.

Please feel free to email us at info@kittatinny.com directly if you need anything.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Level Contributor
25 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2014

We hauled and then set up our own camps in the wild. Regular shower and bathroom - with hot water. Rafting, zip line, BBQ, trekking... and the even have their very own waterfall.
We are looking forward to going there next year too.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank VilTry1ce
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kittatinny C, Manager at Kittatinny Campgrounds, responded to this review, October 29, 2014
Thank You for your review, we value all our guests’ feedback. We are happy to hear you enjoyed your second visit and all the amenities our campground and adventure center has to offer.

Hope to see you next year for a third visit!

Please feel free to email us at info@kittatinny.com directly if you need anything.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
66 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2014

Have been here two years running and going to keep the tradition alive this year as well. Typically rent a group site far away from everyone else, and travel with 20+ people. The grounds are clean, and they are very willing to let us have fun without intervention. The water river is amazing, but bring your water socks or your going to have some sore feet.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank Chris R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kittatinny C, Manager at Kittatinny Campgrounds, responded to this review, October 29, 2014
Thank You for your review, we value all our guests’ feedback. We are happy to hear you and your friends enjoyed your third visit to our group campsites.

We agree, wear something protective on your feet! The Delaware River is amazing in many ways.

Hope to see you next year for a fourth visit!

Please feel free to email us at info@kittatinny.com directly if you need anything.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ribeirao Preto, SP
Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2013 via mobile

For those who like to go camping in a place where you can easily go to a regular bathroom and shower, this place is great. Pretty open sites with BBQ area and parking space. Is pretty cool that you can park your car next to the site too.
I also recommend their rafting tour. Is pretty cool :)
Going back next summer.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Nathalia C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Middle Village, New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2013

Over crowded, beyond disgusting bathrooms, and rude staff. When I first walked into the bathroom I got sick to my stomach so I will spare you the details. My husband went to the office to complain about the bathrooms at around 8:00pm and was told "We had someone in to clean them at 4 but it's you people who are using the bathrooms." The next day they were even worse. The grounds were rocky, unkept, and dirty. Safe yourself some aggravation and look for another campground.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Lori L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Barryville hotels

New York City, New York
Level Contributor
21 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2013

Just got back from kittatinny this morning with my husband and our dog. The first 2 nights we stayed with a large group of friends and we had a nice time. It wasn't loud and the employees came around in trucks a few times a day and even gave us extra garbage bags. The staff at the main house were friendly too. Now I know this is camping and not a 5 star hotel, but the bathrooms are absolutely disgusting. We paid $30 for 2 nights and you'd think they'd have decent facilities. I'm grateful that I was able to take a warm shower each day but the bathrooms are just gross--water and mud were always on the floor. At night practically all the toilets were clogged. All the activities are so expensive (I think kayaking was $45). I don't get how they only have a few bath houses for such a large property. With all the money they charge you there should be decent bathrooms. Who knows how often they are cleaned (mold was all over the bottom wall of one shower). 2 of our friends booked their campsite at kittatiny right near us and the neighbors were rude as anything. Blasting music past 11:00 then this morning one of them blasted music at 6:45 am!!! I was so pissed. No common curtesy at all. Overall we had a fun time but I don't think I'd come back here.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
2 Thank CR501
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Barryville
13.4 mi away
Hotel Fauchere
Hotel Fauchere
#1 of 7 in Milford
4.5 of 5 stars 326 reviews
15.1 mi away
BEST WESTERN Inn at Hunt's Landing
11.9 mi away
Rodeway Inn
Rodeway Inn
#7 of 7 in Milford
3.0 of 5 stars 45 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
15.0 mi away
Hampton Inn Matamoras
Hampton Inn Matamoras
#1 of 2 in Matamoras
4.5 of 5 stars 499 reviews
7.5 mi away
Woodloch Pines Resort
2.4 mi away
Catskill Mountains Resort
Catskill Mountains Resort
#2 of 5 in Barryville
4.5 of 5 stars 22 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kittatinny Campgrounds? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kittatinny Campgrounds

Property: Kittatinny Campgrounds
Address: 3854 State Route 97, Barryville, NY 12719-5929
Location: United States > New York > Catskill Region > Barryville
Amenities:
Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 4 Specialty Lodging in Barryville
Number of rooms: 350
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Kittatinny Campground has 350 campsites on 250 acres in both beautiful wooded and open grass settings. Located in Barryville, New York, it is the premier campground along the scenic upper Delaware River in the Catskill Mountains offering prime (Delaware River front and Beaver Brook) or wooded sites. A beautiful trout stream winding through an enchanted forest of hemlock and oak provides inviting brookside camping in addition to our open, grass-covered sites bordering the Delaware River. Join us around the warm glow of a campfire for an evening under the stars after a day of relaxed fishing or exciting whitewater rafting. Kittatinny Canoes offers daily trips for experienced and novice paddlers. Raft, canoe, kayak, tube, calmwater and whitewater we have something for everyone, regardless of your experience level! ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Barryville Base And Kittatinny Campgrounds Hotel Barryville

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing