We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very Disappointed and too pricey.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Medbery Inn and Day Spa
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Ballston Spa
Reviewed July 7, 2014

This was an important trip for my family. I booked 3 rooms for 2 nights each, with the hope of a Bed and Breakfast experience. At $237 per night I expected a breakfast as promised. I understood we would have to go elsewhere for it, but didn't expect a meger $5's. The waffle place was great but ended up costing my husband and I another $20. The second night we had to search for the maid to get the gift certificates for the next day since they were not provided. She was very nice, but never around and the only one ever there. When I needed an extra towel, I had to find it myself. We needed an extra pillow, all I could find was a pillow case which I put on a bolster. She never ate at the places we asked about for breakfast and couldn't answer any of our tourist questions. The condition of the facility was extremely disappointing. It is in a state of disrepair, although they seem to be fixing it up since I could smell paint and see area's that had been painted and area's that needed to be. I will never return, and feel extremely disappointed that we paid so much money for no service since the coffee provided wasn't even good and when I put creamer in my coffee and it curdled!

  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Beth V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (49)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

25 - 31 of 49 reviews

Reviewed March 21, 2014

This was the second time I have been to the Medbery Inn and Day Spa. Both times I had a great experience! It is beautifully decorated, clean, and a comfortable and relaxing environment. Both times I had a mineral bath and a massage and both were very enjoyable. The mineral bath makes your skin feel wonderful! What I really wanted to post about specifically was the massage I got from Nikki and how she went above and beyond what I was expecting. I talked to her about how I have been having migraines and she went out of her way to accommodate my needs and gave me a wonderful massage and advice about things I could do to help. It was wonderful service and I highly recommend her and the spa to everyone!

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Nicole L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 13, 2013

My husband booked a "suite" at the Medberry Inn and spa which consisted of a small bedroom with a whirlpool in the bathroom. The Inn was very outdated including the tiny television. On our floor was a coffee area which was not fresh. Their website gave the impression that we would have our choice of restaurants for breakfast. We were given vouchers for one restaurant that didn't even cover the cost of coffee, eggs and toast. The only silver lining was a nice pedicure that my husband booked for me. We would never stay there again.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Flashmom10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 15, 2013

I just love coming in last minute for the day. The local charm makes me feel like I've gone away for the weekend! Spa services are very nice, and Bill is excellent. Can't wait for my next day spa treat!!

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank RenLin_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 16, 2013

We went to this spa and inn a few times for a relaxing, romantic get away but the last time it was disappointing. The rooms are not cleaned very thoroughly, We were signed up for spa services that we did not order and that we were expected to pay for! The manager/owner was very unfriendly also. We will not be going back. This place has gone down hill in several ways.

Room Tip: I would go to another place if you want a good experience.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank MagiLevine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 12, 2013

This is our second year in a row going to the Medbery for a weekend getaway. We aren't into the track or any of that, and we had such a wonderful time last year, we decided to go back again, before it gets busy! Family owned and run, it is just such a treat. The most comfy beds, wonderful suites, directions to fun places to go in Saratoga for the evening, spa services to die for...you name it, it's all there!! Thanks again for another amazingly fun and relaxing weekend!! See you next year!!

Room Tip: We have only stayed in the suites.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MichMcCluskey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 22, 2013

This was my second trip to the spa for a mineral bath. The mineral bath are something we can not experience in my state. The staff at the spa are always polite and helpful. The manager has
always given us great tips like eating at the whistling kettle and what to do in Manchester, VT.
This time, Jim (I believe his name is) had to reopen the SPA at night because I discovered I lefted my I phone in the bath room. He know we were on a tight schedule because it was a road trip and was very agreeable around helping us out by looking for my phone! Thanks again
A road trip to NY is not complete without a mineral bath!

Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
Thank Jeanine S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ballston Spa
3.4 mi away
Roosevelt Inn & Suites
Roosevelt Inn & Suites
#21 of 34 in Saratoga Springs
331 reviews
6 mi away
The Inn at Saratoga
The Inn at Saratoga
#8 of 34 in Saratoga Springs
447 reviews
4.6 mi away
The Gideon Putnam
The Gideon Putnam
#9 of 34 in Saratoga Springs
1,227 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.3 mi away
Hyatt Place Saratoga / Malta
6.5 mi away
Saratoga Arms
Saratoga Arms
#2 of 34 in Saratoga Springs
632 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Medbery Inn and Day Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Medbery Inn and Day Spa

Address: 48 Front St, Ballston Spa, NY 12020-1711
Location: United States > New York > Ballston Spa
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Ballston Spa
Price Range: $150 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Medbery Inn and Day Spa 3*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
From the ambiance of our cozy guest rooms to the practical elegance of our meeting and reception rooms, Medbery Inn & Spa is a unique lodging experience in Saratoga Springs. You'll feel the stress of the day slip away as soon as you enter one of our beautifully appointed guest rooms or suites. Experience pampering the old fashioned way, with luxurious furnishings, baths with whirlpools, and cozy guest robes fully at your disposal. Don't be fooled by the ambiance: our rooms come with high speed internet access and desk space to make sure business travelers have exactly what they need.More than just an inn, we can provide you with Salon and Spa packages to suit every taste. Relax with our mineral baths and spa treatments that include facials, body treatments, hair and nail services. Put the cares of the day behind you completely with Saratoga Massage Therapy, where you can choose from several types of massage to relax and renew your body and spirit. We hope you join us for an unforgettable stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Orbitz and Hotwire so you can book your Medbery Inn and Day Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Medbery Hotel Ballston Spa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing