We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (397)
Filter reviews
397 results
Traveler rating
290
79
13
12
3
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
290
79
13
12
3
Show reviews that mention
All reviews other guests mokoro trip hippos and crocodiles great game drives great fun female lions welcome song beautiful birds pack of wild dogs highlight of our trip game viewing safari drives cape buffalo fire pit tent ryder tracker
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
158 - 163 of 397 reviews
Reviewed July 27, 2015

Great camp with very good staff , good food , really felt good esspecially the service and good game area . Been there twice and planning to go back there for the third time .The accomodation is also very nice and good fishing too .

Date of stay: March 2015
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
2  Thank Luuk K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 25, 2015

We spent 4 nights at Pom Pom in July 2015. On each day we took the excursions offered by vehicle, motor boat, mokoro, and on foot. In all case the guides made the trips enjoyable and interesting. We had some brilliant wildlife encounters including leopard and elephant. Even when the game was not plentiful it was fun watching the guides at work. They always found something interesting. Back at the camp the accomation was very comfortable, and the service excellent. We really liked the family feel about the place. All meals are eaten together at one big table, with all guests and guides seated together. You soon get to know each other and it made for lively and interesting discussion.

Date of stay: July 2015
  • Trip type: Traveled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank JJ R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 20, 2015

We loved Pom Pom! There are many ways your breath is taken away from the start: the bush flight, seeing the tiny "airport," the drive to the camp, the warm welcome with singing, but what really did it for us was walking into the main lodge and seeing the view: STUPENDOUS. It's just. so. gorgeous! The main lodge is a beautiful crescent shaped open structure that embraces a bonfire area, which is lit at night. It's right on the water, and you hear hippos telling each other jokes and laughing, and frogs, and birds. You watch sweet little bushbucks nibbling on the grass and nonchalantly walk through the lodge to the other side. Monkeys fly through the trees and occasionally steal banana bread from the buffet.

Frank and Andy and the staff are so welcoming and friendly and at your service. Our guide, Max, and tracker, Lake, were spectacular and finding the game we desired to see: elephant, leopard, lion, giraffe, more impala than you can count... the game drives are amazing and will leave you desiring a visit with your chiropractor when you get home. Gorgeous sundowners out in the bush with a bit of a nibble and beverage.

The food at Pom Pom was amazingly good. Taken at one big table, all the guests (30 max, I think) dine together, along with a guide or two, and maybe a staff member. We're drawn to the table by a bit of a drumming, then presented our menu and wine. Everything is wonderful. (It's great fun to try all the different types of venison: kudu and warthog and so many other tasty bits!)

The rooms are wonderful. Well, they're tents, really. Each has a private deck with a view of the delta. We had the one family tent, which has a second (huge!) bedroom ideal for our kids (ages 8 and 11). The shower is outdoors and wonderfully strong and hot. My brother and his wife enjoyed tent #9, which is a bit of a hike from the main lodge but is the honeymoon tent with a gorgeous outdoor tub for a relaxing soak.

We all agreed that we would absolutely return to Pom Pom. We spent three nights there and loved every second of our stay.

Room tip: Only one family tent; and you can't walk from tent to tent after dark so consider this if traveling with children.
Date of stay: July 2015
  • Trip type: Traveled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Bullwinke72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 6, 2015

Spent two nights here in December 2014. It was low season and it worked in our favor as the first night we were the only guests. The airstrip was nearby and the entire staff was out front to greet us as we pulled in. The service level here was very high and no detail ever seemed overlooked. The good was fresh and well presented. A selection of wines and beers was always available. For the morning wake up call, the staff would bring your morning drink of choice. A very nice touch!

Tent was very spacious and immaculately clean. Couldn't have asked for anything more. Game drives were fantastic -- again, great staff. No request was ever too much -- we couldn't have been more pleased! Highly recommended.

Date of stay: December 2014
  • Trip type: Traveled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
4  Thank TheHappyTraveler73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 28, 2015

Huge tented chalet. Massive bed and soft pillows. Plenty of towels. Separate lounge, Large bedroom. Toilet and double handprinted wash basins. Outdoor shower and bath. Fabulous food. Complimentary laundry, drinks and spirits with your accommodation package. Communal dining area. Outdoor fire setting at dusk where guests congregated with free drinks till dinner was served. Andy the manager was very efficient. Guides joined the guests for dinner and lunch.

Room tip: Taken by jeep at dusk to your chalets.
Date of stay: June 2015
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Diana De S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews