We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great memories”
Review of Pom Pom Camp

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Okavango Delta
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Pom Pom Camp
Certificate of Excellence
Dorchester, Dorset
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great memories”
Reviewed December 11, 2013

It is just over 4 weeks since we visited Pom Pom so we have had chance to digest the magical 2 nights we spent there. Our photographs are a great memento, we saw lots of game but a large herd of elephants crossing the river just metres away from us whilst we were on our mokoro trip must be a highlight. It was very nice meeting up at meal times and comparing sightings with other guests. We found all the staff very friendly and professional, the guides and drivers were excellent. My favourite photo is of 2 lions relaxing by the airstrip, we had only landed 5 minutes earlier but the guide was keen to show us the 'sights' immediately!

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank sheba86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

284 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    205
    58
    9
    9
    3
See reviews for
51
156
16
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (57)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
117 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed December 4, 2013

We arrived from an excellent safari in the Masai Mara and worried we would be dissappointed at PomPom. It is such a different experience that there is no comparison. We flew into the private airstrip on a tiny plane and took in views of the Delta. Pom Pom overlooks the delta and is so peaceful. The accommodations were lovely (far more luxurious than our previous tented camp) and the service was exceptional. The food was delicious and the setting of the camp beautiful. Tessa and Baloo run a tight ship, that may be why things run so well but as others have said I did find them a bit overbearing at times. I liked that the staff joined you for meals and you could ask questions.
The dug out canoe and boat trips in the morning were peaceful and different from land safaris - I even started to get excited about birds! The scenery was lovely and although we did not see an abundance of animals we certainly got close to elephants and lions - it was amazing.
We had not seen a leopard in the Mara despite searching for hours. Our guides Max and Lake took us out on our final afternoon with one goal in mind - to find a leopard. We spent several hours searching and thought we would leave Africa without seeing leopard. Then our wonderful guides spotted a mother and cub - it was so exciting. The sundowners after the afternoon safari were a great touch and heading back to camp in the dark an adventure. I could have stayed longer at Pom Pom just to have a day relaxing.
The other thing about the camp is the experience of elephants and smaller animals walking through the area, pretty amazing. On our last night we heard the close roars of lions - the sound filled the air and really was an experience in itself.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JPWRDB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth
Level Contributor
168 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed November 9, 2013

We really enjoyed our stay at Pom Pom. The staff and amenities were great, and the accommodation luxurious. We slept soundly despite noisy hippos etc. All the meals were good and there were lots of them. Breakfast, brunch, dinner interspersed with enjoyable game drives (our guides/trackers were excellent) and mokoro (dugout canoe) excursions. We saw lots of wildlife and enjoyed mixing with other guests over drinks. Ideally we would have liked an extra night to really relax.
We really liked the open and friendly atmosphere.
Coming from Australia where tipping is not part of our culture, I found it a bit annoying to have to put tips in envelopes for the various staff members. I wish they would just increase the overall tariff and save us the trouble but I guess this system works for them

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Perthcott
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
34 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed November 3, 2013

Tented villas are great. Open game traveling through the camp is a nice touch and makes sleeping enjoyable (although elephants and hippos can be noisy at night!). Food was great, and guide (LT) was good. Overall a great experience, but not that unique so instead of 3 nights we would have only stayed 2 nights. The friendly but 'stiff' attitude of management, when present, put a damper on the feeling and enjoyment of the experience.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Roydyn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NSW, Australia
Level Contributor
170 reviews
61 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 117 helpful votes
Reviewed October 31, 2013 via mobile

A stunning spot in the delta. Our tents were superb, the food excellent and the staff friendly. We had great game drives with excellent trackers/guides and an excellent morning on the water. The relaxed friendly attitude made this Australian feel at home, where other camps can be stuffy. I would highly recommend this spot.

Stayed October 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank TravelChick78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed October 31, 2013

Thank you so much to the wonderful friendly and helpful staff at our favourite place Pom Pom! Every day was a true delight! Special thanks to LT our wonderful, friendly and very knowledgeable guide and his wonderful tracker BT who was also our very able poler for our trip in the mokori. Thank you also to Max, the gentle giant for patiently tracking the two male lions and female lions ...... an awesome experience.....thank you. Every day provided a new experience and we found the accommodation excellent, the whole staff amazing, including the management!!!!! In summary, wonderful staff, wonderful management, great food, beautiful place, great accommodation! Visit it people!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank aunty_ha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oundle, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed October 29, 2013

We agree and endorse the review by Phil and Annie, our Pom Pom experience was marred by awful manangemnt. Prior to arriving at Pom Pom we stopped at the Linyanti Bush camp which was brilliant and the staff and management could not do enough for you.
I must say though the Pom Pom tents were the best on our trip around Africa. There were more guests here than other camps with sometimes three drive vehicles out at a time and two large tables for meals. We liked the smaller camps better, giving a more personalised service/ feel and when you find a kill there would be only one vehicle rather than the 5 at Pom Pom (due to the close proximity of other camps.
The game was good and the guides were excellent 'thanks Max', great knowledge and tracking abilities and a brilliant sense of humour.
We would have rated this camp as excellent if not for the hosts Tessa and Baloo (?) who though obviously efficient and focussed but were not adaptable to change or able to fully meet the needs of their guests without appearing disgruntled.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Malcolm F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Okavango Delta hotels
70.3 mi away
Mankwe Bush Lodge
Mankwe Bush Lodge
#1 of 1 in Okavango Delta
45 reviews
20.6 mi away
Sanctuary Chief's Camp
Sanctuary Chief's Camp
#3 of 27 in Moremi Game Reserve
213 reviews
5.1 mi away
andBeyond Xaranna Okavango Delta Camp
andBeyond Xaranna Okavango Delta...
#10 of 71 in Okavango Delta
148 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
50.8 mi away
Kadizora Camp
Kadizora Camp
#16 of 71 in Okavango Delta
74 reviews
25.6 mi away
Wilderness Safaris Mombo Camp
Wilderness Safaris Mombo Camp
#9 of 27 in Moremi Game Reserve
220 reviews
26.5 mi away
Sanctuary Stanley's Camp
Sanctuary Stanley's Camp
#23 of 71 in Okavango Delta
166 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pom Pom Camp? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pom Pom Camp

Property: Pom Pom Camp
Address: Botswana
Location: Botswana > North-West District > Okavango Delta
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 71 Specialty Lodging in Okavango Delta
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Pom Pom Camp 4*
Number of rooms: 9
Also Known As:
Pom Pom Camp Hotel Okavango Delta
Pom Pom Camp Botswana/Okavango Delta

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing