We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent in every way”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Pom Pom Camp

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Okavango Delta
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Pom Pom Camp
Certificate of Excellence
Caracas, Venezuela
Level Contributor
16 reviews
3 hotel reviews
“Excellent in every way”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 10, 2013

The installations, the guides, the staff and above all the delta itself with all the variety of wild life made this experience very rewarding and unforgetable.
If you are interested in birds there is large variety of species and yhe best way to see them is in the mokoros.

Toni & Henry

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank hhopkinsm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

278 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    199
    58
    9
    9
    3
See reviews for
49
154
16
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (57)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Lee-on-the-Solent, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 9, 2013 via mobile

Our stay here was amazing from start to finish. We were made to feel like part of the family by Tessa, Balou and the staff. The tents was very spacious and in a beautiful setting. Food was lovely and plenty of it. The trackers were very good and knowledgable. Elliot, our trackers was great and did a fantastic job of tracking lions and leopards. Being a concession there were no jostling for position with other jeeps and being able to go off road added to the thrill. We can honestly say it was without doubt the best holiday we have had and we would love to go back to Pom Pom camp again. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mfreegard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane Australia
Level Contributor
54 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 5, 2013

We were at the Pom Pom Camp at the same time as reviewers "ashgrins" and we also had a fabulous time. We had been travelling for three weeks in Africa prior to our arrival and were having a great trip but when we arrived at the Pom Pom Camp we actually felt like we were "in Africa".
The fact that there are no fences keeping out the wild animals adds an exciting element to the accommodation. At no time did we feel unsafe but you have to be mindful that an elephant or any other animal could be on the path to your tent.
We had great fun tracking a leopard - which our guides expertly found.
We highly recommend staying here.
We were very well looked after in the middle of Africa. There is no reception for mobile phones or Internet which is wonderful. This allows you time to relax and enjoy being there.
Thank you Tessa, Baloo and all your wonderful staff.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MazBrisbaneAustralia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arkansas
Level Contributor
95 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 4, 2013

You would hardly call Pom pom cheap but it is in the realm of affordability. If offers both game drives and water activities - definitely an advantage. The camp setting was fabulous, the food great, and the staff nice. I think this is one of the best value camps in the Delta. while I was at the camp, the other guests all expressed possitve thoughts about the camp when compring to other camps they stayed at.

We saw millions of animals and birds , including leopard and lions hunting.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mrmackay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beacon Bay; East London
Level Contributor
105 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 1, 2013

After a short flight from Moremi Crossing we visited Pom Pom Island. This was the only one of our three resorts visited which offers a vehicular game drive - a pleasant change after all the boats. We were fortunate to see the lions getting stuck into a giraffe after a recent kill and also a female leopard as she tried to hunt down some food for her and her cub. We also had some good hippo sightings.
Accommodation was great, Tessa was a wonderful host and if you're as lucky as we were, try and get Elliot as a guide - I am sure they are all good at their jobs however, but he had to do some hard work to find us a leopard which he succeeded in doing. There are also boat trips and mokoro (canoe) rides on offer. The main building is one of those indoor/outdoor affairs and we found this to be

Room Tip: Try and get 1-3, some of the rooms are quite far from the main lodge.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank omegacon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bengaluru, India
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 27, 2013

We were first-time travelers to the Okavango Delta, and this camp was recommended to us by others who had been there. Right from the welcome to the moment we left, the experience was very good. Tessa and Baloo, who run the camp at the time we went, were very friendly and informative. The timings for the game drives are 7.30 in the morning and 3.30 in the evening, with a continental breakfast at 7 and brunch at 11 am. Following the evening game drive, we return to the base by sunset. On our experience, our guide Elliott was an expert in tracking the animals, and took us to a leopard which was chasing a group of impalas. The impalas managed to escape though. Right now, a lot of animals have migrated to other regions in the camp. We were able to see lions, leopards, giraffes, jackals, elephants(obviously), wildebeest, hippos, and many kudu/impalas. But we did not get to see any zebras or hyenas. The mokoro ride was also a nice experience at this time of the year as the water was plenty. You're most certain to spot a few hippos. The night game drive is just for the experience(it is very chilly and make sure you're well protected). The guide couldn't show us much during the night drive, so it was more of a dud.

The tents are very well organized and offer good privacy. If you're a young couple, you must definitely opt for the tent which is at the farthest, with a bath tub in the open (I believe there is only one tent that has this available). Having a bath in the open with elephants/antelopes grazing nearby is definitely an out-of-the-world experience.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ashegrins
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
australia
Level Contributor
156 reviews
67 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 1, 2013

We transferred with Mack Air from another lodge in Central Kalahari and arrived with a stunning view of the Delta area. The camp was located on the Delta and one of the activities was being taken out in the Mokoro (canoes) which was very relaxing and interesting. The tents were well appointed with showers located outside (but private). All foods, beverages, safaris morning and afternoon teas, wines and beers, soft drinks and snack were included. The drivers and guides were excellent and located many animals and birds, and generally making us feel welcome and relaxed. Would happily recommend and return.

Room Tip: Careful of Elephants and Baboons in camp!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ms62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Okavango Delta
70.0 mi away
Mankwe Bush Lodge
Mankwe Bush Lodge
#1 of 1 in Okavango Delta
3.5 of 5 bubbles 44 reviews
17.9 mi away
Sanctuary Chief's Camp
Sanctuary Chief's Camp
#7 of 27 in Moremi Game Reserve
5.0 of 5 bubbles 202 reviews
48.1 mi away
Kadizora Camp
Kadizora Camp
#18 of 70 in Okavango Delta
5.0 of 5 bubbles 69 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
165.1 mi away
Ngoma Safari Lodge
Ngoma Safari Lodge
#2 of 20 in Chobe National Park
5.0 of 5 bubbles 401 reviews
26.9 mi away
Sanctuary Stanley's Camp
Sanctuary Stanley's Camp
#24 of 70 in Okavango Delta
4.5 of 5 bubbles 160 reviews
0.0 mi away
Sanctuary Baines' Camp
Sanctuary Baines' Camp
#34 of 70 in Okavango Delta
4.5 of 5 bubbles 112 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pom Pom Camp? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pom Pom Camp

Property: Pom Pom Camp
Address: Botswana
Location: Botswana > North-West District > Okavango Delta
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 70 Specialty Lodging in Okavango Delta
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Pom Pom Camp 4*
Number of rooms: 9
Also Known As:
Pom Pom Camp Hotel Okavango Delta
Pom Pom Camp Botswana/Okavango Delta

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing