We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What an amazing place and great experience”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Oddballs' Palm Island Luxury Lodge
Certificate of Excellence
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
79 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“What an amazing place and great experience”
Reviewed July 26, 2011

My family (wife and 2 kids, 14 and 12) and I stayed at Oddballs Enclave (which only has 5 tents, so maximum 10 people) for 3 nights. It is very close to the main Oddballs camp. The setting is amazing, and it is incredibly relaxing. The staff are incredible, with Ponnie and Gloria looking after us like Kings. The food is fabulous also. The tented accomodation is very good, beds super comfortable, and even the open air showers are a great experience. The best part of the trip is of course the mokoro rides and the walking safaris. We went out for 2 hours in the morning and 2 hours in the afternoon. I was wondering how we were going to fill in the rest of the day, but they flew past, chatting to other guests, eating, reading, relaxing etc. Even the kids didnt get bored here. Our guides, Kitso and MD were fabulous, knowledgable and energetic, and made us feel very special. If you had told me would chase Lions on foot before we got there I would have said "no way", but it happened, and was safe, even if it doesn't sound like it. We saw Lions, Elephants, Zebra, Giraffe, Warthogs, Impala, plus more, all at relatively close range, on foot - very different to being in a car or even a 4WD. A really big highlight was the guides taking us to their village on one of the outings. If you want to visit an absolutely authentic african village, then ask your guides if they will do this. They were happy to do it, and many of the local women came to see us with their hand made wares. Whilst it wasn't cheap to buy from them (souvenirs throughout africa are generally exceptionally cheap), we were happy to buy stuff, given we were very lucky to be getting access to their village, and when you see how they live you understand how much it means to them to sell some of the goods they hand craft in the village. If you want to just see a mass amount of animals in a short time, then this isnt the place for you. However if you want a unique African experience, in a stunning location, then I doubt you could surpass this. I would suggest 2-3 days is about the right amount of time here.

Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank DarrenMilne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

122 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    85
    25
    8
    4
    0
See reviews for
25
53
7
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
16 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed July 15, 2011

We are a family of 4 (2 teenagers) and we have just returned from a 4 night stay at Oddballs as part of a longer Botswana adventure. Our mokoro trips into the Delta were extremely relaxing. As expected, we saw lots of wildlife. What was a surprise was the amazing 'underwater garden' of the Delta. We went out in the mokoro in the early morning and the afternoon, each for approx 2 hours. The rest of the time we relaxed in a chair on the deck in the sun, reading, chatting and listening to the hippos nearby. KT and his team of staff were always friendly and helpful. The meals were fantastic and a real highlight for the kids! The tents are set on a wooden deck with comfortable camp beds, sheets, warm bedding and a solar powered light. The adjoining bathroom facilities are open air. The loo is a flush toilet, the shower is a bush shower ie. a bucket of solar heated hot water coming out through a shower head. The bar and lounge area is clean and very comfortable and a perfect place to watch the sunset. Oddballs has approx 15 tented rooms so is quite small. Some nights, elephant come right into the camp and shake the trees above the tents showering them with palm fruit. A great place to spend a few days.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank sunnysideupmam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, England
Level Contributor
17 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed June 21, 2011

We spent just two nights at Oddballs as part of a two month Africa trip, and wish it could have been longer. The service, the camp, the wildlife - all were amazing.

Joyce and KT were excellent hosts dining with us each evening and lighting us fires - they even treated us to a bottle of wine on our last might.

MD was our guide for the two days and when we told him we wanted to see lions, he took us to track them on foot. We saw a male and a female literally metres from us - exhillerating! We also saw loads of elephants, zebra, warthog, baboons, velvet monkeys and stunning bird life. We even caught a glimpse of the elusive Pel's Fishing owl.

The accommodation was in simple dome tents with nice comfy mattresses but although the tents were simple, the setting was beautiful - right on the edge if the river with an open air shower facing the sunset. We could hear so much wildlife outside our tent in the evening, which was exciting - hippos, banboons and lions roaring in the distance.

Only downside us that it's not cheap - a two night stay and flight into the Delta cost about £900 for two. But all good and activities are included. And they feed you very well! It is expensive, but worth every penny!

  • Stayed May 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Burch1980
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
4 reviews
Reviewed May 30, 2011

We had an incredible stay at Oddballs. Thank you to all the staff for making it what it was.

Mama Joyce was always there to help with a smile on her face, although just being there is all the help you need. We even got here involved in a game of charades!

Our guides Thaba and John were brilliant guys. Very knowledgable about the delta and both interesting and funny guys.

Incredible peaceful spot, plenty of hippos and elephants around us well.

Great trip - highly recommend!

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DustyTrail11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Doetinchem, The Netherlands
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed May 19, 2011

We have just returned home (holland) from a safari in Botswana. It was amazing! We stayed a few nights at Oddballs camp and did a mobile camping safari for photographers in the Okavango and Savute. Though we thought it would be rough, the mobile camping was quite luxury (great food) and the tents at Oddballs comfortable. We were told All our compliments to Letaka Safaris in Maun as well as to Patricia from Wildlight Safaris who had organised all. (she used to be the manager at Oddballs) Not a single hick up and lots of good game. We have now the task to start selecting from hundreds of amazing shots.

Helpful?
1 Thank JacWillemsen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte, North Carolina
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed April 14, 2011

We just returned from our trip and a 3 night stay at Oddballs Enclave. This is the middle level camp on the island where Delta has 3 lodges. The Enclave offers a luxury experience in an intimate setting. We enjoyed the private tented room with queen sized bed and beautiful linens. We had a private outdoor restroom attached by elevated walk for late night access, with bucket shower and hot & cold running water. It is a fantastic shower experience. The food was the best of the guest houses and lodges we stayed at while traveling in Africa. If you are staying at one of the other camps on the Delta Island I understand that the food is the same and as good at each. At the Enclave all alcohol and laundry is included and I was amazed they were able to remove some of the stains in my hiking clothes.
Since it was off season our game viewing experience was limited, but our guide "TK" was excellent and we enjoyed our walks and makoro trips. If you are all about the game viewing this might not be the place for you in the off season, but the overall experience is still wonderful.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank NConthemove
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Level Contributor
30 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed January 5, 2011

We arrived at the Oddballs airstrip and were greeted by Joyce, the warm friendly and efficient manager of the Camp. Although the accommodation is simple, the beautiful location, excellent guides and relaxed feel of the place totally makes up for it. The food is simple and well prepared-- it far exceeded our expectations considering all provisions must be flown in. Bird watching can be done while sipping a sundowner in the open air lounge. If you really want to get a feel of the beauty of the delta, this is the place for you. The staff make you feel as if nothing is a problem and will join you at meals to chat about local animals and life in the delta.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Roberta-Jayne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Okavango Delta hotels
0.0 mi away
Mankwe Bush Lodge
Mankwe Bush Lodge
#1 of 1 in Okavango Delta
45 reviews
0.0 mi away
Sanctuary Chief's Camp
Sanctuary Chief's Camp
#4 of 27 in Moremi Game Reserve
213 reviews
0.0 mi away
Kadizora Camp
Kadizora Camp
#17 of 71 in Okavango Delta
74 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Hyena Pan Tented Camp
Hyena Pan Tented Camp
#14 of 27 in Moremi Game Reserve
40 reviews
0.0 mi away
Mapula Lodge
Mapula Lodge
#19 of 27 in Moremi Game Reserve
79 reviews
0.0 mi away
Xakanaxa Campsite
Xakanaxa Campsite
#21 of 27 in Moremi Game Reserve
5 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Oddballs' Palm Island Luxury Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Oddballs' Palm Island Luxury Lodge

Property: Oddballs' Palm Island Luxury Lodge
Address: Chief's Island, Botswana
Location: Botswana > North-West District > Okavango Delta
Hotel Style:
Ranked #39 of 71 Specialty Lodging in Okavango Delta
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Number of rooms: 12
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jovago.com so you can book your Oddballs' Palm Island Luxury Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Oddballs Palm Island Hotel Okavango Delta
Oddballs' Palm Island Luxury Lodge Botswana/Okavango Delta

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing