We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hosts !”
Review of Camp Okavango

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Okavango Delta
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Camp Okavango
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 12, 2007

Camp Okavango offers a relaxed atmosphere in beautiful surroundings. We stayed for a couple of nights in the middle of a land safari and enjoyed the slower pace of life and rides in the local mocorros (?). The guides do struggle a little with english - which made me a little uneasy on the walking safari. All in all a clean and very friendly place. The pool was very cold - and so was the beer !

  • Stayed: May 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank Birdal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (242)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

182 - 188 of 242 reviews

Reviewed November 20, 2006

The Okavango Camp is an uninspired camp. It is in need of basic maintenance from the cracked table first greeting you in reception to the cracked toilet lid and body in our tent. The floor mat in our tent was grossly discolored and the bathroom had a utilitarian hinge. This camp is rated as 5 star, but I think it should be rated as 2 star at best. The rooms were comfortable and were surfaced cleaned daily, but the above was unacceptable.

The buffet meals with tin foil covering the serving bowls, garden hoses strewn all over the grounds throughout the day, and the plastic covered outdoor furniture showed a laziness by the camp management to make your experience truly forgetable.

Stayed: October 2006
10  Thank Hates_Flying
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 13, 2018 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: January 2018, traveled with family
Thank bucephale71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 4, 2017
Google Translation

  • Stayed: October 2017, traveled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank balirac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 20, 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: October 2017
1  Thank Lulubluel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 5, 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: October 2017, traveled as a couple
Thank Amenon123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 14, 2017
Google Translation

Stayed: June 2017, traveled as a couple
Thank 242alex67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Okavango Delta hotels
20.6 mi away
Camp Moremi
Camp Moremi
#5 of 29 in Moremi Game Reserve
296 reviews
16.6 mi away
Sanctuary Chief's Camp
Sanctuary Chief's Camp
#2 of 29 in Moremi Game Reserve
249 reviews
37.5 mi away
Kadizora Camp
Kadizora Camp
#5 of 73 in Okavango Delta
139 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
25.7 mi away
andBeyond Sandibe Okavango Safari Lodge
andBeyond Sandibe Okavango Safar...
#12 of 73 in Okavango Delta
245 reviews
62.2 mi away
Tuskers Bush Camp
Tuskers Bush Camp
#20 of 29 in Moremi Game Reserve
6 reviews
49.9 mi away
Selinda Camp
Selinda Camp
#17 of 73 in Okavango Delta
205 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Camp Okavango? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Camp Okavango

Address: Nxaragha Island, Botswana
Location: Botswana > North-West District > Okavango Delta
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 73 Specialty Lodging in Okavango Delta
Hotel Class:4 star — Camp Okavango 4*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are very pleased to announce that the NEW Camp Okavango has officially opened 14 April 2016. The entire camp has been rebuilt and what has been the existing camp has been removed completely. Camp Okavango, due to its very unique location in the heart of the Okavango Delta, is one of the very few properties which can truly offer an authentic Okavango Delta water wilderness experience to prospective visitors. Camp Okavango is a stalwart of Botswana and Okavango Delta safari tradition. Camp Okavango is located on Nxaragha Island, which is surrounded by water all year round. This is a permanent water camp and the ideal location from which guests who truly want to experience the real Okavango Delta can do so. Accommodation is in spacious, elevated and unique safari suites, all raised on decks above the ground and with en-suite bathrooms. There are 11 standard safari suites and one double capacity, inter-leading family suite. Activities are all guided and take the form of boat cruises, mokoro excursions and guided walking safaris on the network of islands within this incredible water ecosystem. Camp Okavango has its own airstrip and can easily be linked to a network of other safari properties by means of light aircraft transfers. Camp Okavango is Managed and staffed by an enthusiastic team of Botswana citizens, some of whom have been at Camp Okavango for more than 36 years. Elevated walkways will connect the rooms to one another and to the main camp public areas, allowing guests to wind through trees as they walk to their rooms. The safari suites encompass a foyer and lounge, large bedroom and ensuite bathroom equipped with double vanity and shower, with an expansive deck accessible through large retractable doors from the room. The family suite has an additional bedroom with separate entree to the bathroom area. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Camp Okavango Hotel Okavango Delta
Camp Okavango Botswana/Okavango Delta

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing