We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A most fabulous staff”
Review of Camp Okavango

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Okavango Delta
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Camp Okavango
Certificate of Excellence
california
Level Contributor
31 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“A most fabulous staff”
Reviewed August 26, 2013

Camp O offers a distinctively different kind of safari than most other camps in that there are no game drives in road vehicles. All game-viewing is by boat or on foot so I would recommend pairing this camp with another one that does road drives for a full experience in Okavango Delta. However, you won't find a more delightful and enthusiastic staff with Managers Action and Lydia setting the atmosphere of friendliness, kindness, and bending over backwards to please. On our first afternoon we took the mokoro canoe ride in the delta and saw up close a malachite kingfisher which posed and perched so still for us to take dozens of photos. The peacefulness of the delta cannot be surpassed as we glided along with Robert poling the mokoro and pointing out myriad birds. Then in the midst of the water, a table set with a white tablecloth and sundowners greeted us. The staff served us by wading up to each of the mokoros with almost any drink one desired as the sun set and reflected in the water of the delta. It was truly magical.
The next day a small group of us asked for the best birding guide, who was Obed, and he took us on a bush walk for viewing. It was amazing, especially since we heard the racket of hornbills, crakes, starlings, etc. because the rare fishing-owl was in the trees. Unfortunately we didn't site it, but seeing so many other birds made up for it. After this marvelous morning, Obed and Ona steered our water boat to a clearing in the midst of an island set with white linen table clothes, buffet, full bar and the whole staff ready to serve us lunch.
In the bush walks I felt like a privileged guest allowed to be in the same terrain where elephant, lechwe, giraffe, cape buffalo had grazed. It was exhilarating to see elephants 100 feet away or a row of impala staring us down as we quietly moved amidst the tall grasses. The boat rides gave us a relaxing view of the extensiveness of the delta, and our final afternoon drive was capped when Robert steered us to a pool of about a dozen hippos.
There’s something so special about this camp in that the staff creates little surprises like the different locations where the sundowners are served, the dinner on the lawn by candlelight, and the “bush” lunch. Their dance and song performance was the final highlight at our last dinner in the camp. The Camp O staff were the warmest and most exuberant hosts that made our stay a one of a kind experience in Africa.

Room Tip: Rooms are tented so at night it gets cold in the winter. Remember to pick up your hot water bottle b...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tripcr8zy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
walbots, Director of Sales at Camp Okavango, responded to this review, August 29, 2013
We are delighted that the efforts of our team at Camp Okavango did so much to enhance your experience of the Okavango Delta and of course, of your recent safari to Botswana. We loved having you as our guests and thank you so much for noticing the extra effort put in by everyone of us - as this little bit of credit goes a long way for us to ensure that we exceed the expectations for our future guest. Your review is very rewarding and kind - thank you very much for this.

with warm greetings - Action, Lydia, Obed, Robert, Ona and the entire family of staff at Camp Okavango.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

195 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    132
    44
    12
    6
    1
See reviews for
24
107
9
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (32)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Riverside, California
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed August 16, 2013

The rooms are intimate and inviting with the most comfortable beds (and I have a back problem). Outstanding customer service on every level from the room attendants, guides, food attendant, to management everyone is at your beckon call. The choice of the boat or land safaris allow you to see so many different animals from the BIG 5 to the little 5. Sometimes you get what you ask for in extremes. I asked Action (Manager) for monkeys and the next morning I was woken up by 3 baboons jumping on top of my tent. But Zeges was able to chase them away. Also had the opportunity to go fishing and the fish we caught was prepared for dinner that same night. The food was outstanding & all the sundowners were memorable. One of my most favorite places in Africa!

Room Tip: Ask for Jessie's Suite - It is the honeymoon suite and it is Gorgeous!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Kathryn H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
walbots, Director of Sales at Camp Okavango, responded to this review, August 18, 2013
Dear Kathryn

It was wonderful having you stay at Camp Okavango as our guest. Many thanks for your very kind review of your experiences with us. We are truly pleased that the Okavango Delta and our Camp Okavango had such a positive impact on your visit to Africa.

We look forward to welcoming you back one day.

With warm safari greetings, Action and the team at Camp Okavango
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed August 16, 2013

Our time at Camp Okavango was amazing. I only wish we could have stayed longer. We were immediately met by our guide Toffee as soon as we got off the plane. Our first afternoon we were taken on a traditional mokoro canoe ride which was very relaxing and got to see our first sunset in Botswana. Then it was back to camp for pre-dinner drinks and entertainment by the staff - loved it! The food was excellent and really enjoyed the staff dining with us telling us stories. Our second day started early in the morning with a boat ride to a nearby island for our walking safari. I enjoyed every minute of it as it was much different than the traditional game drives. Then it was back to camp for breakfast and a relaxing day before our afternoon boat ride.

The staff were extremely friendly and knowledgeable. A huge thank you to Toffee, our guide, for making this a truly memorable experience. We were his last guests before he left Camp O to come to the USA for a year as a guide but you never would have guessed it. He was extremely professional even on his last day of work. I'm sure he will be missed around camp.

Added bonus: drinks and laundry are free

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lori M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
walbots, Director of Sales at Camp Okavango, responded to this review, August 22, 2013
Dear Lori

We are happy to see that you are back home after your recent safari in Botswana. Many thanks for being our guest at Camp Okavango, it was our pleasure being your hosts. We are very glad that you enjoyed your stay with us and enjoyed, not only the natural wonder and beauty of the Okavango, but also the value which we have in the manner in which our staff deliver their service to you and our other guests.

We already miss Toffee very much, but like so many of our other staff, he has gone to the USA to improve on his customer service skills and we look forward to welcoming him back next year to join our team again. Your comments about Toffee are very kind as well and he will be pleased to read this.

We hope that one day, the rhythm of Africa will lure you back and certainly hope that Camp Okavango and our team will have the pleasure of you being our guest once again as well.

With warm safari greetings

Action, Lydia and the Camp Okavango team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reading, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
157 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
Reviewed July 26, 2013

We stayed at four camps with Desert and Delta - this being the last - a fitting culmination! Each was flawless and unique in its location and presentation. This was airstrip or boat only access, hikes on private islands with guides who brought a lifetime of experince with them, private boat trios along the secret channels of the water, and the outstanding food, service, and accommodation we were constantly engulfed with during our two week safari. To say highlight is improssible, as each moment was close to perfection - but a surprise fully staffed and entertained picnic lunch in the heart of the wild was beyond! Standing on a hill in the tall grasses, surrounded by 360 degress of life, freedom, and the beauty of our world will forever be burned into our memory. They even sent a postcard to us after the trip at home to thank us for coming and ensure our safe return home. Way to go Action, Lydia and team :) Thank you, thank you, thank you, Adrienne. Amazing!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Shannon S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
walbots, Director of Sales at Camp Okavango, responded to this review, July 28, 2013
Dear Shannon S

We are delighted to read your kind words and this incredible review of your experiences with us at Camp Okavango. Many thanks for taking the time to do so. We are very happy that the Okavango Delta has made a mark, and we wish that the good memories of your experiences will remain for a long time.

It was only a pleasure having you stay as our guest and we sincerely hope that one day we will be able to welcome you back to Camp Okavango.

Kindest regards

Action, Lydia and the Camp Okavango family.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
1 review
Reviewed July 19, 2013

Camp Okavango was undoubtedly the highlight of our African trip. Arriving on the grassy airstrip we were immediately welcomed by our guides Tao and Obed. The atmosphere in the camp is relaxed and fun but the team are very organised and the attention to detail is everywhere. Our tent was very comfortable kept spotlessly clean. The food at the camp is excellent and we were even treated to a take-away lunch as we had an early flight on our last day! What also makes the camp special is the amazing location in the delta. The mokoro boat trip is a relaxing and serene experience, enhanced by watching an elephant shaking palm trees in the distance. Although there are no game drives at this camp, you can get a totally different perspective on the African wildlife. The guides are so knowledgeable about the area and the animals and being on foot means you can really experience nature first hand. We were very lucky to see two male lions and a lioness relaxing in the bush which made for an unforgettable end to our visit. Keep up the good work at Camp O and a special thank you to Tao, Obed, Action, Lydia, Reetang, Carol and all the team.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kieran D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
walbots, Director of Sales at Camp Okavango, responded to this review, July 24, 2013
Dear Kieran D

Many thanks for your very kind review of your experience with us at Camp Okavango. Thank you for recognising the efforts of our team - we really enjoyed meeting you and enjoyed the privilege of introducing you to the paradise in which we live.

We hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back some day in the future?

With kindest regards, Action, Reetsang, Lydia, Obed, Tao, Carol and the entire team at Camp
Okavango.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Navan Ireland
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed July 19, 2013

As part of our trip around southern Africa we stayed at the camp for 2 nights in July. In that short time we had amazing walking safari and boating experiences. The standard of service, food and accommodation at the camp is exceptionally high. We even enjoyed a beautiful lunch overlooking the delta from a secluded deck. The atmosphere in the camp is relaxed and welcoming but everything is very organised and the staff are always professional. Our guides Tao and Obed were very knowledgeable and endeavoured to show us as much as possible of the unique landscape. We managed to see elephants, giraffe, buffalo, kudu, bushbuck, baboons and many interesting birds. We even saw a lioness wrestle with her recent buffalo kill and two male lions enjoying the early morning sunshine, The major advantage of the walking safari is that you can observe the wildlife in a very natural setting as well as having the time to notice smaller aspects of the ecosystem as you walk around. One of the most unforgettable experiences of our visit was the trip by mokoro through the sweeping grasses of the delta on our first evening. The truly peaceful setting allowed us to enjoy a memorable African sunset as we sipped our sundowners on the boat. The thoughtful and personal approach from Action and all the team at the camp really made our visit a special experience we will never forget. With luck we will return soon. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sarah B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
walbots, Director of Sales at Camp Okavango, responded to this review, July 21, 2013
Dear Sarah B

It was a real pleasure having you stay at Camp Okavango as our guest. Thank you sincerely for this incredible review of your experience with us. Indeed you were lucky with the wildlife encounters you had and we are very pleased that Obed and Tao added value.

We certainly hope that we are able to welcome you back in the near future.

With warm safari greetings - Action, Reetsang and the entire team at Camp Okavango.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
46 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed June 27, 2013

We had a very brief and memorable stay at Camp Okavango-- a single-night's stay in late June was probably too short, although we got to do a safari by boat on the delta, including sightings of crocodile, hippos, monitor lizards, numerous birds, and even the rare red lechwe. A hippo even leaped at us to express his unhappiness at our desire to share the waterway. Among the tall papyrus grass, we were immediately immersed in a totally foreign land. No other place on the planet can compare to the Okavango Delta.

Our guide, Toffee, was terrific, and the food at the lodge was also good. We later enjoyed a nature walk on nearby Buffalo Island, where we had several extremely close encounters with herds of elephants.

We didn't get to see the stars in all their glory due to a full moon, but our experience was enchanting nonetheless. The nicely appointed permanent tent got pretty chilly, and we were awoken by the roar of a territorial baboon the next morning, but such are the charms of nature! Recommend that you request extra blankets.

Highly recommend this place, which is about a 30-minute bush flight from Maun. Once in a lifetime experience.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ktowner6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
walbots, Director of Sales at Camp Okavango, responded to this review, July 8, 2013
Dear Ktowner6

We are truly thankful for you very kind review of your stay at Camp Okavango. We appreciate that you only had the one night with us, which often does make it difficult to truly fully experience a property such as ours, and acknowledge your kind words about our staff and services.

Hopefully we will be able to welcome you back to Camp Okavango for a longer visit some time in the future??

With warm safari greetings, Action, Toffee and the Camp Okavango team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Okavango Delta hotels
54.3 mi away
Mankwe Bush Lodge
Mankwe Bush Lodge
#1 of 1 in Okavango Delta
3.5 of 5 bubbles 44 reviews
16.6 mi away
Sanctuary Chief's Camp
Sanctuary Chief's Camp
#7 of 27 in Moremi Game Reserve
5.0 of 5 bubbles 205 reviews
23.8 mi away
Third Bridge Campsite
Third Bridge Campsite
#16 of 27 in Moremi Game Reserve
4.0 of 5 bubbles 80 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
37.5 mi away
Kadizora Camp
Kadizora Camp
#16 of 70 in Okavango Delta
5.0 of 5 bubbles 71 reviews
33.3 mi away
Sanctuary Stanley's Camp
Sanctuary Stanley's Camp
#29 of 70 in Okavango Delta
4.5 of 5 bubbles 161 reviews
0.0 mi away
Xakanaxa Campsite
Xakanaxa Campsite
#19 of 27 in Moremi Game Reserve
5.0 of 5 bubbles 5 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Camp Okavango? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Camp Okavango

Property: Camp Okavango
Address: Nxaragha Island, Botswana
Location: Botswana > North-West District > Okavango Delta
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 70 Specialty Lodging in Okavango Delta
Hotel Class:4 star — Camp Okavango 4*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are very pleased to announce that the NEW Camp Okavango has officially opened 14 April 2016. The entire camp has been rebuilt and what has been the existing camp has been removed completely. Camp Okavango, due to its very unique location in the heart of the Okavango Delta, is one of the very few properties which can truly offer an authentic Okavango Delta water wilderness experience to prospective visitors. Camp Okavango is a stalwart of Botswana and Okavango Delta safari tradition. Camp Okavango is located on Nxaragha Island, which is surrounded by water all year round. This is a permanent water camp and the ideal location from which guests who truly want to experience the real Okavango Delta can do so. Accommodation is in spacious, elevated and unique safari suites, all raised on decks above the ground and with en-suite bathrooms. There are 11 standard safari suites and one double capacity, inter-leading family suite. Activities are all guided and take the form of boat cruises, mokoro excursions and guided walking safaris on the network of islands within this incredible water ecosystem. Camp Okavango has its own airstrip and can easily be linked to a network of other safari properties by means of light aircraft transfers. Camp Okavango is Managed and staffed by an enthusiastic team of Botswana citizens, some of whom have been at Camp Okavango for more than 36 years. Elevated walkways will connect the rooms to one another and to the main camp public areas, allowing guests to wind through trees as they walk to their rooms. The safari suites encompass a foyer and lounge, large bedroom and ensuite bathroom equipped with double vanity and shower, with an expansive deck accessible through large retractable doors from the room. The family suite has an additional bedroom with separate entree to the bathroom area. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Camp Okavango Hotel Okavango Delta
Camp Okavango Botswana/Okavango Delta

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing