We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Camp Okavango in the Delta Botswana”
Review of Camp Okavango

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Okavango Delta
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Camp Okavango
Certificate of Excellence
Bilpin
Level Contributor
18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Camp Okavango in the Delta Botswana”
Reviewed May 31, 2013

This was the highlight of our African Experience. Camp Okavango was an extrordinary place in the middle of nowhere but with all the luxuries and comfort of a 5 star hotel. The staff were such fun to be with and very proffessional in what they do. We are a couple in our late sixties and 70's and enjoyed the tranquility and serenity of this heavenly place.
Mike and Judy Australia

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank samanthaBilpin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

195 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    132
    44
    12
    6
    1
See reviews for
24
107
9
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (32)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed May 16, 2013

Camp Okavango is in a good location with its own airstrip making it easy to access. We knew to expect lots of birds and not too much by way of game viewing and we were not disappointed. The river trips and walks on nearby islands were really interesting with our expert guide, John, who is the senior statesman of the camp - what an amazing pair of eyes he has got and he got us up amazingly close to various birds.
The staff are very friendly and attentive and the food is good. However the tents are a bit of a let down, clearly in need of refurbishment structurally. Everything is very clean with nice linens and a good mosquito net, but the carpets and window blinds have seen better days and there were holes in some of the external structure. Also, if you get noisy neighbours in the next tent you'll find the noise carries. I didn't mind being woken up by the sound of baboons fighting, but was less happy at being woken by loud talking coming from the next tent.
Overall though, it's easy to succumb to the charm of this place - oh and the choir is amazing!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Gill S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
walbots, Director of Sales at Camp Okavango, responded to this review, May 18, 2013
Many thanks for your review of Camp Okavango. We are pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us and saw the great value in our people and service. We would like to assure you that we mean no neglect on Camp Okavango and have scheduled a big refurbishment for the camp at the end of this current season. We are keeping a very close eye on general maintenance issues and will resolve these on an ongoing basis up and until the time that we have fully refurbished the camp. With many thanks and kind regards, Action, John and the Camp Okavango team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helena, Montana
Level Contributor
115 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed December 10, 2012

Stayed 2 nights at Camp Okavango and enjoyed the water-based experience with lots of bird life. Facilities are very good, spacious, well appointed, and meals were excellent. Staff very helpful although some managers a bit pretentious, and there was difficulty getting a receipt for a purchase in the curio shop. Activities were mokoro, river cruise, and walking safari which allowed getting out on the ground, seeing tracks and habitat, knowing that predators and prey were all around. Guide Robert was very experienced, excellent English, vast knowledge of the bush and what lives there. One remarkable siting of a Sitatunga antelope on the river cruise. Enjoyed our stay and the activities that are different from safari drives at our other camps.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Daniel E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
Level Contributor
37 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed November 29, 2012

Stayed here for 2 nights, the camp was great, food amazing, and the choir was the best!! I really enjoyed the performance the staff put on for us, it was over the top!

The guide we had was just ok, not that informative about the area or animals we saw. The river cruise was nice, but not a lot to see, did not see much on our walking safari and what we did see was a good distance away. This is definitely not a place for great game viewing like some of the others.

The camp itself was great, but I prefer more game viewing opportunities and do not think I would go back to this one.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank acj1967
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
179 reviews
86 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 92 helpful votes
Reviewed September 11, 2012

A nice tented camp in the delta, also Desert and Delta. It is well managed with wonderful enthusiastic staff who have won the company inter camp choir competition for the past three years. They didn't want to stop their pre dinner performance so it was amazing that the food was so good. Had a good walking safari with very knowledgeable guide, Robert, as well as our constant companion, Lynn, and walked within 200 metres of 12 elephants. The Mokoro trip through the marsh was O.K. but saw little and this not the place for a lot of game sightings but still well worth a visit. The river cruise was pleasant and peaceful.

Room Tip: Nothing to rate any one better than another
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank David C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Midlands UK
Level Contributor
20 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed September 2, 2012

We travelled here from Chobe having encountered great herds of animals and we were glad to have been there first as wildlife was not as plentiful here.
We were warmly greeted on our arrival at the grass airstrip and the Camp was beautiful, green and lush.
Accommodation is in tents which are beautifully equipped and extremely comfortable. We could hear the hippos at night and had a genet climbing on our roof at night but never felt threatened by anything!
Our first afternoon was taken up with a traditional mokoro canoe ride which was really relaxing and this is when we met Toffee our Guide who was great - very knowledgeable and welcoming. He was to be our Guide for the rest of our stay and found us elephants when on our walking safari as well as an injured Kudu. Apart from crocodiles and baboons in the camp we saw little else. There were birds of all shapes and sizes too.
Even though we did not see much we left Camp Okavango feeling very relaxed and well looked after by Robin, Mona, John Jr, Loveness, IT and the team.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mrsajd_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Level Contributor
14 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed July 16, 2012

On arrival at Camp O it was like being in a tropical garden, it was so peaceful and green. Set right on the water you had the most amazing views.
You do not come to Camp O to see the big 5, you come to take mekoro trips along the Delta channels and walk in the bush. I saw lots of wildlife including hippos, crocodiles, warthogs, various buck and lots and lots of birds. The guides here were so amazing and I had so much fun. It was so relaxing being at Camp O and you get to really experience the beauty of the area and it is a welcome break from game drives. Camp O is best combined with a “dry” camp so you can do game drives as well.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank ElaineSA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Okavango Delta hotels
54.3 mi away
Mankwe Bush Lodge
Mankwe Bush Lodge
#1 of 1 in Okavango Delta
3.5 of 5 bubbles 44 reviews
16.6 mi away
Sanctuary Chief's Camp
Sanctuary Chief's Camp
#7 of 27 in Moremi Game Reserve
5.0 of 5 bubbles 205 reviews
23.8 mi away
Third Bridge Campsite
Third Bridge Campsite
#16 of 27 in Moremi Game Reserve
4.0 of 5 bubbles 80 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
37.5 mi away
Kadizora Camp
Kadizora Camp
#16 of 70 in Okavango Delta
5.0 of 5 bubbles 71 reviews
33.3 mi away
Sanctuary Stanley's Camp
Sanctuary Stanley's Camp
#29 of 70 in Okavango Delta
4.5 of 5 bubbles 161 reviews
0.0 mi away
Xakanaxa Campsite
Xakanaxa Campsite
#19 of 27 in Moremi Game Reserve
5.0 of 5 bubbles 5 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Camp Okavango? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Camp Okavango

Property: Camp Okavango
Address: Nxaragha Island, Botswana
Location: Botswana > North-West District > Okavango Delta
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 70 Specialty Lodging in Okavango Delta
Hotel Class:4 star — Camp Okavango 4*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are very pleased to announce that the NEW Camp Okavango has officially opened 14 April 2016. The entire camp has been rebuilt and what has been the existing camp has been removed completely. Camp Okavango, due to its very unique location in the heart of the Okavango Delta, is one of the very few properties which can truly offer an authentic Okavango Delta water wilderness experience to prospective visitors. Camp Okavango is a stalwart of Botswana and Okavango Delta safari tradition. Camp Okavango is located on Nxaragha Island, which is surrounded by water all year round. This is a permanent water camp and the ideal location from which guests who truly want to experience the real Okavango Delta can do so. Accommodation is in spacious, elevated and unique safari suites, all raised on decks above the ground and with en-suite bathrooms. There are 11 standard safari suites and one double capacity, inter-leading family suite. Activities are all guided and take the form of boat cruises, mokoro excursions and guided walking safaris on the network of islands within this incredible water ecosystem. Camp Okavango has its own airstrip and can easily be linked to a network of other safari properties by means of light aircraft transfers. Camp Okavango is Managed and staffed by an enthusiastic team of Botswana citizens, some of whom have been at Camp Okavango for more than 36 years. Elevated walkways will connect the rooms to one another and to the main camp public areas, allowing guests to wind through trees as they walk to their rooms. The safari suites encompass a foyer and lounge, large bedroom and ensuite bathroom equipped with double vanity and shower, with an expansive deck accessible through large retractable doors from the room. The family suite has an additional bedroom with separate entree to the bathroom area. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Camp Okavango Hotel Okavango Delta
Camp Okavango Botswana/Okavango Delta

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing