We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Selinda Camp
Nearby Hotels
Mapula Lodge(Moremi Game Reserve)
$1,024
SA Hotels
View Deal
  • Breakfast included
  • Restaurant
Sanctuary Baines' Camp(Okavango Delta)
$1,356
SA Hotels
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Camp Moremi(Moremi Game Reserve)
$1,135
SA Hotels
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Breakfast included
  • Pool
Sanctuary Chief's Camp(Moremi Game Reserve)
$2,129
SA Hotels
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Sanctuary Stanley's Camp(Okavango Delta)
$990
SA Hotels
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Sango Safari Camp(Moremi Game Reserve)
$718
SA Hotels
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Delta Camp(Okavango Delta)
$1,609
Jumia Travel
View Deal
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Oddballs' Palm Island Luxury Lodge(Okavango Delta)(Great Value!)
$809
Jumia Travel
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Breakfast included
  • Restaurant
Wilderness Safaris Mombo Camp(Moremi Game Reserve)
$5,223
SA Hotels
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
$3,094
SA Hotels
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Reviews (208)
Filter reviews
208 results
Traveler rating
183
16
7
1
1
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
183
16
7
1
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviewswine cellarwild dogsgame drivessplash poolstand alone bathleopard huntingthe managersthe entire staffbathroom areablew us awayhighly recommend this propertyprofessional photographeroutstanding guideour honeymoonafrican winesbattery charginglion cubs
Filter
Updating list...
193 - 198 of 208 reviews
Reviewed January 8, 2010

If you're looking for a luxury safari experience that is warm and welcome (without any pomp), this is the place for you. This camp-exceeded all of our expectations in every aspect and I wouldn't hesitate to recommend it! We hope to get back our selves in the coming years.

We kicked off our honeymoon here and had such an amazing time that when we were leaving I almost cried! Everything was a cut above the rest! We received a lovely warm welcome from 3 or 4 staff upon arrival who explained thoroghally and helpfully the ins and outs of the camp. We were then shown to our luxury tent - complete with deck, outdoor (but screened and insect-proof) bathroom and four poster bed. All of the decor in the lodge was most tasteful and befitting the location.

Our dedicated guide, Kawane, took us out for our first drive...by dedicated, I mean, Kawane was our new best friend....he took only us out on twice-daily drives, found out our wildlife interests and tracked to them, woke us in the morning, ate meals with us and even walked us back to our tents after dark to ensure we were safe in case we met a black mamba or hippo in the dark. The service was second to none - not to mention the skilled tracking and guidance provided by Kawane.

The food was delicious - - who would think you would come to Africa to put ON weight?

The service was truly second to none...I joked about the Irish being famous for our welcome and service...but we could truly learn so much from the folks at Selinda Camp. In addition to the care and attention to details of accomodation, food, safari and regular guest needs....these lovely folks surprised us twice by going above and beyond to make our visit a truly memorable one! The first night, we enjoyed a bush dinner...gourmet food set in the wild surrounded by candles and lanterns...and with digestifs, the staff treated us to some local Botswanan songs and dance. On our last night, we arrived back to our tent to find a private dinner for two set up on the porch...a three course meal to the sound of bell frogs and hippos overlooking the sunset and the linyati. Spectacular! And so so thoughtful.

One final mention....this was one camp that we felt was truly inclusive of all the staff and visitiors. The management team is a blend of black and white african which (we felt) was unusual and was a pleasure. Our guides (aka new best friends) joined us for dinner as we re-hashed the days sightings of hippos, mating and roaring lions, cheetah, leopard, elephant, herds of giraffe and more.

Top notch all round!

  • Stayed: January 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank bidzar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 7, 2009

Looking for the perfect ending to your safari then look no further. This classic wilderness camp is a class operation thanks to the managers and staff who provide a PREMIER experience. From the hippos singing in your backyard, to Fred the elephant walking through camp you can see it all here! The guides/trackers (Marks was amazing) are smart and work hard to provide the African experience. Ella is warm and wise and makes you feel like family.
The food at brunch and dinner was superior!
If you are looking for a more upscale property look no further than the sister property Zarafa, it has every bell and whistle you can imagine.
Happy Travels

  • Stayed: July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank goodgirlfriend
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 20, 2009

This was the last of four camps and our 9th and 10th day of safari. Have to admit we were getting tired by this point. We did not want to be woken up at 5:30 and begged to be woken at 6:30 (Our guide, Gordon, was very accommodating). One of the drives was a walking guided trip and another was a fishing trip (until the hippos repossessed their pond). A nice alternative to drives after so many days on the road.
The rooms again were beautiful although this seemed like a dusty and dry location after 4 days on the flooded delta. The first evening drive, we sat watching the wild dogs for 1 hour while they slept and then started following them as they rose to hunt for their dinner. Fifteen minutes into the hunt Gordon indicated it was time for sundowners and left the hunt in search of an appropriate location. What was that all about? Anyway, we indicated that the two animals we were still trying to see were elephants and hippos and we were not disappointed!
They are in abundance at this camp, along with hungry male lions that didn't want to search for dinner and crocodiles. We saw more young with their moms here than anywhere else which was really special.

Our first evening, the staff set up candlelight dinner for the four of us which was beautiful and very special. Throughout our stay Sharon, the alternate manager, was available and meeting every potential need we could possibly have! A wine cellar was available to select your special bottle (free unless French) and the gift shop here was the best of all four sites.
A fabulous camp with many culinary delights and great staff.
Although 4 camps and 10 days is a bit much, because we found two of the camps lacking in sightings, we are glad that we booked four different camps so that we were able to take in all of the various locations and have a better chance of sightings.

  • Stayed: May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank TravelguruDanville
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 6, 2008

Of the 7 camps we visited in South Africa, Botswana and Zambia, Selinda was my favorite. Great staff.

Since we were the only group (3 couples flying 3 planes together) on our second night, the staff put together a traditional meal, dressing us up in traditional wraps (skirts and headdresses), while giving the men hats and glasses that could have been worn by Dr. Livingstone! The men sat at the table and smoked cigars while the women sat on the floor and gossiped.

The staff also put on a music and dance show and had us join in. Absolutely fantastic!

Of course, great wildlife viewing, although we witnessed some lion cubs that had been abandoned by their mother. The highlight of the trip was being surrounded by a pack of African dogs.

  • Stayed: July 2006, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank rovingt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 30, 2008

Selinda lived up to all of my expectations. To me this part of Botswana was a bit wilder - everything felt a little bit more raw, and that was fantastic. But Selinda is truly a beautiful camp. Overlooking waterways and expansive floodplains, there is an air of serenity about the place. The communal area was extremely comfortable. Places to share experiences with others and also easy to spend time contemplating the vast wilderness. The tents were gorgeous. Just the right amount of comfort - not too fussy. A great claw foot bath was magic (loads of hot water pressure). Such comfortable beds! The meals were the best I have eaten in Botswana. How do they cook such delicious food in the middle of nowhere?! The activities were excellent. Our guides were wonderful. They really knew their stuff and were so passionate about the land. They did everything they could to ensure you had a great experience on every drive. I saw a great variety of game and being charged by a herd of elephants was something I will never forget! The camp staff were terrific. There was a special warmth from Ella and Chris who could not do enough to make my stay as pleasant as could be. Selinda was the best! I will definitely return for more.

  • Stayed: June 2008, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank bluebotty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews