We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Established Camp, but with a complete cast of animals”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Great Plains Conservation Selinda Camp
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 1, 2013

Africa and Botswana are amazing, but the Guides really make the difference on these camp visits. As mentioned by other, Dicks and Mots, who we went out, did a superb job of getting to observe the balance of nature. With tracking expertise and intuition, we were able to see many of the animals in their habitat, fleeing or chasing as their nature, on each of our outings. All the while with fine accommodations and excellent food and wine, we came home each night with stories we are still retelling. All of our Botswana site were very good, but this one stands out for its experience and richness.

Room Tip: Tents one and two are apart from the others and a little more private, but all are set up equally in...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tremm298
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (202)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

132 - 138 of 202 reviews

Reviewed September 3, 2013

My husband and I just got back from our phenomenal honeymoon to Botswana and Mozambique, and I have to say that Selinda was the highlight. I don't ever write reviews but Selinda was just so far and above our expectations that I had to! Our guide, Mots, was simply out of the league of any other guide I have ever traveled with. Tracking is clearly part science and part art, and Mots has both of those down cold. He was constantly telling us what he believed had happened earlier in the day from looking at the tracks, and he was almost always exactly right. I was astonished by how many times he led us right to an animal that was hidden in tall grass munching on a kill. In three days, we saw two kills actually happen (which although very difficult for me to watch are experiences that will absolutely stay with me forever), a pride of lions (dad, moms and babies) playing and roaring, babies of every variety, a leopard searching for prey, hyenas and vultures finishing kills, and countless elephants, buffalos, antelope, zebras, giraffes and hippos. We were so happy to move onto Mozambique when leaving Selinda because we felt we'd seen everything.

In addition, the food and the tents are fantastic. It is almost impossible to believe that you can find such luxury so far in the bush, but we felt absolutely pampered. The staff there clearly love what they are doing and it shows. They even got my husband dancing in an impromptu African song and dance -- something I never thought I'd see. The entire experience was just magical and I can't recommend it enough.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sara M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 28, 2013

We spent 4 nights at Seliinda and had an incredible time. Our guide Dicks made sure we saw everything. We saw leopards,lions , elephants and more. The food was amazing as we're the accommodations. Kizzy the camp manager kept all running smoothly.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank reidbo007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 25, 2013

Selinda was our first safari experience ever, and one that will forever be rivaled. Our entire experience there was magical. We were greeted by Stuart and Lizzie who have to be the most charming people on the planet. The setting is spectacular with broad views of the expansive spillway. Our "tent" was wonderfully equipped and comfortable. The food was absolutely delicious and enjoyed in beautiful settings both around the campfire, in the small private dining room and on the main deck . There is no roughing it here. Our guide Dicks, and assistant Lets, were unbelievably knowledgeable and an absolute pleasure to hang out with all day exploring the wonders of Africa. Leaving Selinda was difficult because we felt like family here. Thanks to all the other staff too - Banike, Bessie, Satani, and those whose names escape us - who made our time at Selinda so special!

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ianpaigemac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 24, 2013

It is almost a year ago and we should have done this sooner... Our stay at Selinda camp on September 17 - 20, 2012 was absolutely a fantastic experience! Our tent was very luxurious, the bed was comfortable, the bathroom was spacious, has nice stone tub and a shower. It is camping in the wild with all the amenities of a 5-star hotel.

The food was great. You get a very early breakfast around a campfire, early lunch/brunch after which you get to rest before the afternoon drive and of course a wonderful dinner which is a time to unwind and share stories of safari experiences of the day with the staff and other guests of the camp.

The game drives were very exciting! "The Duke" our guide was excellent. we learned a lot about the animals that inhabit the reserve. Seeing the lion, elephant, buffalo, hippo, giraffes, hyena, wild dogs, zebras, lots of birds and many more in their own habitat gives you a better appreciation of the wild. You see beauty way past the brown grass, dry plants and down trees. It gives you a different perspective of what life is in the bush . It Makes you understand better the meaning of survival of the fittest! The water safari was equally thrilling, seeing the hippos up close and personal was a great experience.

Not to forget the absolutely wonderful staff of the camp. From the manager and his wife and the rest of the crew, who are all very helpful and provided us with excellent service. They gave attention to detail and always there to make sure everything is going well. The have all welcomed us warmly and has sent us off with fond and beautiful memories and an experience of a lifetime.

Given the chance, we love to come back again!

Nanette & Stuart Duzan
Fountain Hills, Arizona, USA

Room Tip: In my opinion all the tented rooms are great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank racoonian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 19, 2013

Selinda is the best place we stayed in Botswana. The staff is extraordinary, above all Lizzie the manager. For her the words "problem" or "not possible" don`t exist. The food was sensational. Well trained guids. High professionalism in this luxury camp. Highly recommendable.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Tina W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GreatPlainsConserve, Public Relations Manager at Great Plains Conservation Selinda Camp, responded to this reviewResponded August 23, 2013

Thank you so much for taking the time to write a review about Selinda. Lizzy is thrilled and is she so pleased to be able to share this with the staff. It makes all their hard work feel so appreciated. I hope we can welcome you back to Botswana soon.

Best wishes

The Great Plains Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 18, 2013

Our family, (4 adults and 4 grand children ages 13-16), went to three camps in Botswana...this was e best in all respects.
The staff from management, Eva and David, to the entire staff especially Maggie and Steven were great. They all knew our names and were prepared to answer all of our questions.
The accomodations were excellent tented rooms that were well-appointed. Robes, excellent linens, comfortable large beds were notable. Electrical outlets for charging on the desk top which also had thermoset of cold and hot water, plus scotch and sherry! How civilized! All aspects of the rooms were immaculate.
The food was great...our kids were not as enthusiastic. overall was the best of the trip. Drinks the best of the camps we visited. Wine cellar was a nice touch. Champagne was overpriced. Go with the other included wines of your choosing..
Game drives and our guide, Joseph, we're great. We saw a lot of animals including close-up views of lions and a leopard.
Would highly recommend this camp for the high quality of all aspects, accomodations, guiding, food and ambience.

Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
1  Thank drishi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GreatPlainsConserve, Public Relations Manager at Great Plains Conservation Selinda Camp, responded to this reviewResponded August 24, 2013

“Thank you so much for your kind feedback! We thoroughly enjoyed having you here with us and hope that you will come back soon. We'll make sure our stocks of sherry are full when you return next and Joseph send his warmest regards" Best wishes The Selinda Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Okavango Delta hotels
65.9 mi away
Kadizora Camp
Kadizora Camp
#2 of 72 in Okavango Delta
132 reviews
63.4 mi away
Jumbo Junction Camp
Jumbo Junction Camp
#51 of 72 in Okavango Delta
16 reviews
86.3 mi away
andBeyond Xaranna Okavango Delta Camp
andBeyond Xaranna Okavango Delta...
#16 of 72 in Okavango Delta
157 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
65.4 mi away
andBeyond Sandibe Okavango Safari Lodge
andBeyond Sandibe Okavango Safar...
#12 of 72 in Okavango Delta
241 reviews
0 mi away
Tuskers Bush Camp
Tuskers Bush Camp
#21 of 29 in Moremi Game Reserve
6 reviews
0 mi away
Sanctuary Baines' Camp
Sanctuary Baines' Camp
#26 of 72 in Okavango Delta
131 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Great Plains Conservation Selinda Camp? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Great Plains Conservation Selinda Camp

Address: Selinda Spillway | Selinda Reserve, Botswana
Location: Botswana > North-West District > Okavango Delta
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 72 Specialty Lodging in Okavango Delta
Price Range: $1,517 - $3,362 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Great Plains Conservation Selinda Camp 4*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Selinda Camp looks out onto the Selinda Spillway, a unique seasonal waterway that links the Okavango Delta with the wildlife-rich floodplains of the Linyanti marshes. Selinda Camp's nine spacious tents (including a family unit) are tucked away into the natural vegetation with wonderful views of palm-studded floodplains. Each tent has an en-suite bathroom and veranda. The main area is attractive, cool and under thatch and comprises dining, lounge and bar areas with spectacular views. Set apart from the main area is the photo and art gallery next to the camp's 500-bottle wine cellar, open-air deck, plunge pool and traditional campfire area. The Selinda Spillway winds its way through the Selinda Reserve and forms a magnet for the wildlife of the region. The area is thus an all-year-round wildlife viewing destination with large concentrations of elephant, buffalo, antelope, lechwe, giraffe, zebra, kudu, cheetah, wild dog, lion and leopard, with excellent birding of over 300 species in both the marshes and the dry country. Morning and afternoon-into-night game drives in custom-built 4x4 Land Cruisers with Guided nature walks, boating and seasonal fly-fishing ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity and Hotels.com so you can book your Great Plains Conservation Selinda Camp reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Selinda Camp Hotel Okavango Delta
Great Plains Conservation Selinda Camp Botswana/Okavango Delta

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing