We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Exceeded expectations”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Great Plains Conservation Selinda Camp
Certificate of Excellence
Nevada, USA
Level Contributor
18 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Exceeded expectations”
Reviewed December 25, 2012

We stayed 5 nights in Nov 2012. The camp and tents were beautiful and very comfortable. The indoor outdoor bathroom was lovely, the bed comfortable, the spacious private deck had a terrific view. We could hear hippos most evenings, and had elephants walk right past our deck during their tree snacking treks through camp. The staff couldn't have been nicer. Lizzie, the camp manager, was super efficient, accommodating, and helped make our trip extra special. The food was outstanding and I came home with a few recipes, as well as 4 extra pounds. November was very hot during the day, but cooled down nicely at night. The game viewing was absolutely terrific. Dicks was our guide for 4 of the 5 days, and his incredible knowledge, and patience with my photography requests, was very much appreciated. He worked really hard for us, and we saw some fabulous animal behaviour. Kops was our guide on the first day, and greeted us at the airstrip with, " A leopard has been spotted about 10 minutes from here. Shall we go see it before we check in?" Right then, I knew Selinda was going to be very special.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank diver115
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

185 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    167
    10
    6
    1
    1
See reviews for
37
110
13
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (45)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed December 9, 2012

We stayed at Selinda for two nights in October and loved every second!

The setting, design and layout of the main camp were fantastic and the boat ride such a nice way to arrive! The rooms were very spacious and the 'outdoor' bathroom (with nets to stop unwanted insects) was first class. Hippos were frequent visitors and provided excellent background noise for my massage on our room's deck! Highly recommended!

The food and drinks were plentiful and delicious...but afternoon tea was the highlight each day before the sundowner drive with some of the best cakes I have ever had! As with other camps we enjoyed sitting with the other guests and staff for dinner but we were also treated to a private dinner for our honeymoon which was lovely.

We had some incredible wildlife sightings including a skittish leopard. We were also lucky to find a wild dog pack (with pups) twice, once just after a kill which was very special...but somewhat gruesome! Our guide Dicks was particularly good in the dark and spotted a hyena on our way back to camp the first night, which we then watched as he walked straight past us.

John and Liz, the camp managers, were great and certainly had everything running like clockwork while we were there. The 'Joubert' gallery and books in each room are a great touch.

A very special camp of a very high standard.

Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Lindsey M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts, United States
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed December 4, 2012

My new husband and I chose Selinda as the first stop on our honeymoon safari tour of the Okavango and we couldn't have been happier. The staff was truly passionate about conservation and protection of the animals as well as the Delta itself. Our guide, Kops, was the best ever. He was able to find all of the game for us: large head of elephants, giraffe, hippo, male, female and baby leopards, lions, pack of wild dogs, cheetah, all of the varieties of antelope, hyena and wildebeest!! He didn't stop at the big game either, on the night drive back to camp he spotted rare owls and genet in the trees and during the day he pointed out all the varities of birds, snakes such as the black mambo and spitting cobra as well as lizards, etc. he was also able to explain the impact humans had on the animals, what role they play in the food chain, the reasons for their behaviors and what the impact has been on the animals who traveled into Botswana from neighboring countries such as Namibia and Zimbabwe. I felt safe with him and gained a new perspective on the animals of the Delta. We visited 2 other camps after Selinda and none could compare. The accommodations and food were top notch! I cannot say enough about Selinda. You must visit!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Laura R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
Level Contributor
37 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed November 29, 2012

I stayed at Selinda for 3 nights this month and it was amazing!! The property was top notch! The staff was extremely friendly and made us feel right at home. They were more than willing to accomodate our small group. The food was incredible. Our guide was very knowledgeable and did an outstanding job. Our game drives (especially in the afternoon/evening) were amazing. Selinda Reserve far exceeded our expectations, it was absolutely amazing.

I absolutely loved the hippos grazing in front of our room every day!

I highly recommend Selinda!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank acj1967
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth
Level Contributor
55 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed October 28, 2012

A well-run 5-star camp. The staff and management were knowledgeable, and went out of their way to help us. An example: My wife and I decided to pass up a game drive one evening, just to enjoy the camp and to view the wild life activity from there. Word came back to the camp that a group of cheetah had been spotted and would we like to see them? We went out on a special vehicle provided, and yes, we did watch this group for about half an hour. We will also never forget the elephant who visited out tent at about 10 PM and checked us out with his head over the verandah rail. He hung around foraging for a couple of hours. And of course there were the mating lions. Talk about being oblivious to all around.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank worldcitizenPerth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed October 2, 2012

We stayed at Selinda from September 6 -8,2012 . Selinda was everything we desired and more. It is a magical setting with outstanding game drives,guides and service.It was recommened to us by our excellent travel agency, Explore Africa. We cannot thank Explore Africa enough for their great recommendation of Selinda.

John and Liz are fabulous hosts and Managers and they run a terrific operation. The food was of very high quality and the selections were great and the afternoon tea time desserts were too die for.One afternoon we had lemon bread that was one of the best desserts I have had anywhere in the world. I was amazed how they could prepare such scrumtious desserts in the bush. The open air outdoor dining area was great with views over the spillways. We watched elephants come right up to the deck area eating brush from trees next to the deck. We had breakfast by the bonfire ,enjoying the crisp air with crepes cooked in a cast iron skillet.

We were blessed to have Dux as our guide. He was informative,extremely personable and humorous and was an absolute delight to have as our guide.All 4 of us loved his stories and all of our game drives with him.
We were able to see Lions,Cheetas,Wild Dogs,many other animal species and watching the wild dogs on an Impala chase was quite a thrill.
The setting on the spillway was lovely with sounds of the wildlife evident throughout the night. One night we had to be escorted to our tent by Dux as an Elephant was right outside our tent. The tents were very comfortable and they had great toiletries,flashlights,Port and Sherry in beautiful decanters,mosquito repellent,screens and very comfortable beds.

They have a very neat library where you can watch videos of the fabulous African game documentaries produced by the owners Beverly and Derek Jourbert.Several times after our morning game drive, while our adrenaline was still quite high, we would go to the libary and watch the videos and eargerly await the afternoon drive.
We loved everything about Selinda and hope to return in the near future and would highly recommend it to anyone . It was magical !

Room Tip: The tents were of very high quality with beautiful wood floors and had many amentities such as doubl...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank KennyAlameda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
50 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed September 9, 2012

We stayed at Selinda for two nights and very much regretted that we didn't stay longer. We also stayed at Tubu Tree and Vumbura Plains on the trip, but our experience at Selinda was the best by far. First, the staff, especially John, Maggie, and Rose, were fantastic, For example, our plane arrived late and John took us directly from the airstrip to meet up with the game drive so that we didn't miss anything. And good thing, too, because we saw lions mating within an hour of arriving at the airstrip! Also, Maggie arranged a private dinner for us in honor of our honeymoon one night and we were so touched by that and by the champagne she left us in our room. Our tent was beautifully furnished and the bathroom had a great shower and a deep bathtub -- something we did not have at any other camp. The food was also the best we had anywhere on safari -- there were always choices and the menu has something for everyone. Loved the location on the Selinda Spillway -- it was lovely to fall asleep to the sounds of the hippos and frogs at night! Finally, our guide, Kops, was fantastic. He found all kinds of great animals for us -- including rare ones like cheetah and wild dogs and also buffalo and lion, to name just a few, Highly, highly recommend Selinda.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Michele R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Okavango Delta hotels
62.3 mi away
Mankwe Bush Lodge
Mankwe Bush Lodge
#1 of 1 in Okavango Delta
45 reviews
86.3 mi away
andBeyond Xaranna Okavango Delta Camp
andBeyond Xaranna Okavango Delta...
#10 of 71 in Okavango Delta
148 reviews
65.9 mi away
Kadizora Camp
Kadizora Camp
#16 of 71 in Okavango Delta
74 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
75.5 mi away
Sanctuary Stanley's Camp
Sanctuary Stanley's Camp
#23 of 71 in Okavango Delta
166 reviews
0.0 mi away
Sanctuary Baines' Camp
Sanctuary Baines' Camp
#29 of 71 in Okavango Delta
118 reviews
0.0 mi away
Xakanaxa Campsite
Xakanaxa Campsite
#20 of 27 in Moremi Game Reserve
5 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Great Plains Conservation Selinda Camp? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Great Plains Conservation Selinda Camp

Property: Great Plains Conservation Selinda Camp
Address: Selinda Spillway | Selinda Reserve, Botswana
Location: Botswana > North-West District > Okavango Delta
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 71 Specialty Lodging in Okavango Delta
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Great Plains Conservation Selinda Camp 4*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Selinda Camp looks out onto the Selinda Spillway, a unique seasonal waterway that links the Okavango Delta with the wildlife-rich floodplains of the Linyanti marshes. Selinda Camp's nine spacious tents (including a family unit) are tucked away into the natural vegetation with wonderful views of palm-studded floodplains. Each tent has an en-suite bathroom and veranda. The main area is attractive, cool and under thatch and comprises dining, lounge and bar areas with spectacular views. Set apart from the main area is the photo and art gallery next to the camp's 500-bottle wine cellar, open-air deck, plunge pool and traditional campfire area. The Selinda Spillway winds its way through the Selinda Reserve and forms a magnet for the wildlife of the region. The area is thus an all-year-round wildlife viewing destination with large concentrations of elephant, buffalo, antelope, lechwe, giraffe, zebra, kudu, cheetah, wild dog, lion and leopard, with excellent birding of over 300 species in both the marshes and the dry country. Morning and afternoon-into-night game drives in custom-built 4x4 Land Cruisers with Guided nature walks, boating and seasonal fly-fishing ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz and Travelocity so you can book your Great Plains Conservation Selinda Camp reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Selinda Camp Hotel Okavango Delta
Great Plains Conservation Selinda Camp Botswana/Okavango Delta

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing