We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A fabulous colourful camp with a superb hide.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Great Plains Conservation Selinda Camp
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed November 17, 2011

Wonderful camp which is very cosy and has some lovely design features, Particularly liked the artists Keith Jouberts paints of wild dogs and lion on some of the furniture. Food delicious. Went out to a hide for lunch and enjoyed a delta experience on the way there. Sightings of elephant at the camp and a leopard eating a python which was definitely a first for us. Guides excellent.

  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank richardson30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (202)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

171 - 177 of 202 reviews

Reviewed October 23, 2011

My wife and i have just returned from a two week holiday in Botswana during which we stayed in a number of lodges. The wildlife was as exciting as others have described. But the stay at Selinda was memorable for a number of other reasons:

1) the accommodation was remarkably sumptuous, impeccably clean and tidy, and even had a wonderful bath;

2) the staff were friendly without being intrusive and were evidently happy in what they do. Impromtu singing after dinner was an added bonus;

3) and you could not wish for better hosts than David and Alice who should be applauded for their excellent training of the staff and the happy atmosphere.

Without wishing to be critical of other lodges, they were quite exceptional by comparison. Sadly they will be moving on to a new challenge nearby called Zarafa (www.greatplainsconservation.com). Although I have no doubt that Selinda will still be outstanding, i am confident that David and Alice will make Zarafa another gem. Selinda won a well-deserved award for best safari this year, an outstanding acheivement. It would come as no surprise were this to be repeated in their new venture.

I write such reviews very rarely which indicates how exceptional was our stay at Selinda.

Room Tip: We had lodge 8 which was a good location. We woke to count 63 elkeohants from our bedroom window.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank cmontanaro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 22, 2011

We are writing this having had no reponse from either Great Plains or Selinda after 4 monhts of waiting. We have been to Botswana some 10 times, Africa over 20 times and this is the only camp we have been disappointed with- it contrasts signifciantly with the high quality, excellent and flexible guiding/service from the sister camp Duba Plains.We spent 3 nights at Selinda, paid for our own private guide and vehicle. On 3 occasions we did virtually the same drive, not even ventruring to the Twin Pools area which was totaly accessible as we had to go past it to access the landing strip on our departure. One of the main reasons for going to Selinda was for the WIld Dogs, when we came accross them (they certainly weren't tracked by our guide as that would have been too much like hard work), on our full day drive, we were told we could stay with them for 20 minutes and had to leave by 12 midday- we were the only vehicle at the siting. On our whole day drive we left some 1.15 hours after everyone else and we were back by 3pm to find that the vehicle was going to be used by antoher group, despite it being for our exclusive use, (we did then have it foe a later drvie after much consternation and panic), although the intimation was that it was our fault! If you want wine tasting and staff who fawn over guests they deem most important you will not be disappointed. If you want a hint of the Joubert's books or films, forget it.

Stayed: June 2011, traveled as a couple
6  Thank Ian C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GreatPlainsConservat, Director of Sales at Great Plains Conservation Selinda Camp, responded to this reviewResponded October 26, 2011

Dear Ian

Thank you for your comments. I am sorry to hear that your stay did not meet with your expectations. It may sound as a cliche but we truly strive to produce life changing experiences for our guests at all our camps and criticism in all forms allows us to strive ever closer to that goal

I have emailed you directly and hope that you would send me copies of the correspondence you refer to as it has not crossed my desk as yet otherwise it would have been promptly responded too

It would appear that during the time that you most likely stayed with us, Mother Nature caught us off guard due to the extremely high flood waters that pushed into the Okavango Delta and Chobe river systems this year resulting in our Selinda Spillway flooding higher than normal and effectively splitting our concession in half. It also caused our existing airstrip to go under water.

Vehicle logistics had to be worked out each day to ensure that there where vehicles available to do the guest pick-up and drop-offs during the day at our neighbour's airstrip an hour's drive away, as well as having vehicles available for game drive activities.
This meant that some guides had to do drives on the Southern side of the concession and some on the northern side each day to accommodate early or late arrivals and departures of our guests.

From the diary it looks like the 5th of June might have been the day that you had to wait for the vehicle. We had 3 arrivals arriving after 14h40 and with our airstrip being closed on that day, the arriving flights were diverted to our neighbours airstrip. This resulted in the afternoon's activities running later than usual as we needed all 5 of our game drive vehicles for the afternoon's safari

With regards to the wild dog sighting, we implemented a strict sighting rule around their den over this time. This particular wild dog pack had just had new born puppies which I am sure your guide would have told you about. Because the puppies where so small we only allow 2 vehicles in the morning and 2 in the afternoon to book and visit the sighting. Further more only 1 vehicle at a time is actually allowed at the den itself so as to cause as minimal disturbance to the pack during these crucial first few weeks.

This meant that we could not allow for unlimited viewing opportunities over this period which I am sure you will agree with now. This is only the second year that these wild dogs have denned on our Selinda Concession which must mean that they have not felt threatened in any way previously and we appreciate that.

I trust this has managed to clear up some of your frustrations following your stay but trust you feel that we were always focussed on delivering the best experience possible in the natural wilderness where Selinda is based

I look forward to hearing from you in hopefully the not too distant future
Best regards

Hilton Walker
Group Sales, Marketing and PR Manager
for Selinda Camp - a proud member of Great Plains Conservation

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 7, 2011

A truly exceptional place in one of the world's most stunning landscapes. All 30 + staff, the great managers, Dave, Alice, OT and the gang were phenomenal. Being guided by Mots, Pat the Great, Foster, Mokopi and generally being treated like a lord will live long in my memory. To see lion, leopard, giraffe, buffalo, zebra, cheetah, and the countless other species in their natural habitat was breathtaking and often electric in its intensity. But but being taught so much about the birdlife here, something I've never really cared for has taught me so much about the natural environment here. Selinda truly is a remarkable place. Everything about this place sings of a deep and very real understanding of what guests want from such an experience and with conservation at its very heart, the management and those countless people behind the scenes both in camp and in Kasane and beyond deserve the utmost credit. Destinations everywhere could and should learn something from the people, attitude and ethos here. Can it be possible that all the game know this too?! And lay on the greatest show on Earth, daily? Selinda, I salute you.

Room Tip: They all look exceptional but Room 7 was phenomenal
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Sivaharan_S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 16, 2011

I stayed here at the end of a long, 6 week journey across Africa. I was tired, I had seen a lot, and was nearing the end. It takes a lot to get excited when it has been that long, but Selinda delivered in spades.

No matter how tired or jaded you are the welcome at Selinda is unlike any other camp I have been to in the Delta. All staff are charming, generous and kind. The welcome is enthusiastic from managers and staff and it is soon apparent that they flex around you rather than you having to conform to a timetable. Sure there are game drives, but if you want to sit out or do something a bit different that's no problem. And if you do go on game drives there is so much to see it is ridiculous: Hyena den, Wild Dog puppies, large prides of lions and while I was there even a Kudu kill.

Guests here also seem to understand what it is about Selinda that is so nice. They come as the place really does feel like a proper safari experience rather than being molly-coddled to manufactured. It's luxurious in a wild-experience kind of way rather than being too airy-fairy, and that makes it exciting. And a good mix of guests from families with kids to honeymooners to more senior couples who've visited 3 or 4 times before. And a mix of nationalities and experiences too.

Dave and Alice run a wonderful camp with lots to do, but with an attitude that's inclusive and relaxed. Their team pull together well and deliver warmth and friendship (especially Agnes) and the safari is brilliant. I will be back. Hopefully in October!

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank ButchandSundanceLive
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 4, 2011

We often visit game lodges in Southern Africa. At Selinda the following was outstanding:
knowledge and dedication of guides.
The three day cano trip in the Spilway is a unbelievable. It is truly remote, the camps and food was execent and the guide, Cliffie Phillips very experienced, careful with a vast knowledge. The chef, Dollar, was amazing, freshly baked bread and wonderful food, without any formal kitchen or stove. One of the food channels should make a flim about this chef.
The lodge was great.

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Imalivest
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 12, 2011

4 nights of bliss. From the genuinely warm welcome until the final goodbye we experienced a level of hospitality that bettered most 5 star hotels.To achieve this, given the logistics of a camp in a remote area of Africa, the Selinda team deserves the highest praise.
The standards of accommodation, food and personalised service are top class. The location is simply stunning, truly tranquil except for the sounds of toads and hippos at night. Animal and birdlife is plentiful and varied even though the huge amount of water means that wildlife is more dispersed than in dry years.
A special word for our very special guide Moses whose knowledge, skill and courtesy put the icing on our Selinda cake.

Room Tip: Ask for Moses as your guide
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank afcok
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Okavango Delta hotels
65.9 mi away
Kadizora Camp
Kadizora Camp
#2 of 72 in Okavango Delta
130 reviews
63.4 mi away
Jumbo Junction Camp
Jumbo Junction Camp
#51 of 72 in Okavango Delta
16 reviews
86.3 mi away
andBeyond Xaranna Okavango Delta Camp
andBeyond Xaranna Okavango Delta...
#15 of 72 in Okavango Delta
157 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
65.4 mi away
andBeyond Sandibe Okavango Safari Lodge
andBeyond Sandibe Okavango Safar...
#13 of 72 in Okavango Delta
241 reviews
0 mi away
Tuskers Bush Camp
Tuskers Bush Camp
#22 of 29 in Moremi Game Reserve
5 reviews
0 mi away
Sanctuary Baines' Camp
Sanctuary Baines' Camp
#27 of 72 in Okavango Delta
131 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Great Plains Conservation Selinda Camp? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Great Plains Conservation Selinda Camp

Address: Selinda Spillway | Selinda Reserve, Botswana
Location: Botswana > North-West District > Okavango Delta
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 72 Specialty Lodging in Okavango Delta
Price Range: $1,517 - $3,310 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Great Plains Conservation Selinda Camp 4*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Selinda Camp looks out onto the Selinda Spillway, a unique seasonal waterway that links the Okavango Delta with the wildlife-rich floodplains of the Linyanti marshes. Selinda Camp's nine spacious tents (including a family unit) are tucked away into the natural vegetation with wonderful views of palm-studded floodplains. Each tent has an en-suite bathroom and veranda. The main area is attractive, cool and under thatch and comprises dining, lounge and bar areas with spectacular views. Set apart from the main area is the photo and art gallery next to the camp's 500-bottle wine cellar, open-air deck, plunge pool and traditional campfire area. The Selinda Spillway winds its way through the Selinda Reserve and forms a magnet for the wildlife of the region. The area is thus an all-year-round wildlife viewing destination with large concentrations of elephant, buffalo, antelope, lechwe, giraffe, zebra, kudu, cheetah, wild dog, lion and leopard, with excellent birding of over 300 species in both the marshes and the dry country. Morning and afternoon-into-night game drives in custom-built 4x4 Land Cruisers with Guided nature walks, boating and seasonal fly-fishing ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity and Hotels.com so you can book your Great Plains Conservation Selinda Camp reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Selinda Camp Hotel Okavango Delta
Great Plains Conservation Selinda Camp Botswana/Okavango Delta

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing