We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A little paradise in the Okavango”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Okavango Delta
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Wilderness Safaris Xigera Camp
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 30, 2010

This is a lovely camp to visit. I felt like I was on a fantasy island, surrounded by lush trees and reeds, all in perfect harmony. In addition, the camp was extremely comfortable with the most gracious and interesting of camp managers. It was a pleasure to be out in little boats during the day and equally as much fun to chat about all sorts of topics with the other guests and managers in the evenings. All in all, I loved the social aspect of this camp the best, out of the 7 Wilderness camps I visited in Aug 2010. The rooms were clean and comfortable with hot water bottles placed in the beds at night due to the coolness of the evenings. This part of the Okavango is just like a dream, please go and visit it.

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank marleemia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (124)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

101 - 107 of 124 reviews

Reviewed August 19, 2010

I went to xigera with my father and we found the experience amazing. First of all the lodge was outstanding. It's situated in an idyllic place in the inner delta completely surrounded by water. All the tents looking the water, from where we saw red lechwes and elephants. The inside of the tents is very good, and you have anything you should need except technology (phone, TV, etc.). But we found that great, because in such a remote place they just don't make sense. Food was very good (perhaps just to many meals and tea stops...) and service was very attentive and warm.

The animal viewing was also great. we could almost what could be seen in such a waterly habitat: antelopes of all types, elephants, hippos, cocodriles and lots of birds (obligatory stop if you are a bird lover!!!!). Big game viewing is limited due to it's location, so make such that you spend a few night on a land based camp to see the big five and others suchs as cheetah, etc.

Overall, i must say that this was an unforgetable place in an unforgetable trip. I think when you come to Botswana must combine a water based camp like Xigera and one or two land based, so that you can see all the habitats and animals. And for the water experience of the delta i cannot think of a better place.

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank vifing
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 11, 2010

This was the most interesting, exciting, lovely, fun.....this was everything an adventure setting should be. The staff was superior. The accommodations were lovely. The birds and wildlife sightings were unequaled.

  • Stayed: March 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank pennstatetraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 9, 2010

Loved Xigera! In retrospect, I was really happy we started the trip with Xigera. As it is a water camp, you don't see many big game here, esp in big numbers like you do in the Linyanti and other areas. We did, however, see a herd of giraffes and zebras running across the floodplain while lunching on Chief's Island. What a thrill! And as we are bird lovers, Xigera is a perfect place to see a great variety of them.

I cannot say enough of the camp and the staff. They were outstanding, friendly and so accommodating. The camp manager organized a basket weaving demonstration for us as well, when we told her of our interest in them. Really a wonderful craft and some of the most treasured souvenirs we came home with.

The food is delicious and the accommodations are really comfortable. It was really exciting to hear the elephants trumpeting and splashing about one night right outside our tent! A wonderful experience.

  • Stayed: May 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kittyhead
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 4, 2010

We just spent 2 nights at Xigera. We especially enjoyed the all day boat trip with "picnic" lunch on an island in the middle of the Okavango. It was amazing to have a toilet, sink, and linen covered table set up with a nice lunch - out on an island in the middle of no-where! We were also lucky enough to be there on one of the nights where dinner is held down in the Boma - around the fire and including some beautiful singing. The staff could not be more professional or accomodating - and we enjoyed talking with them very much. We thought the food quality was excellent. We were also very impressed with the level of training that the guides had gone through. They are really sharp! Because it is in the national park - no night activities are allowed...so we got a little extra sleep (up at 6am rather than 5am!) before the morning game viewing activity. Make sure to use a LOT of sunscreen and have long pants and shirt available if you go on the all day boat ride - even if the boat has a cover - exposed skin will get fried! Lots of hippos and elephants and birds as well as red lechwe...and we saw one buffalo and one croc.
Watch out for the monkeys...a few have learned to take advantage of unguarded food away from the main table!

  • Stayed: March 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ACP1986
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 11, 2009

Xigera Camp in the Okavongo Delta was a dream come true. The camp itself is truly beautiful. The high wooden walkways to each luxury tent made it possible to view the wildlife in camp from the safety of hight. A very large elephant visited below our tent the first night and was quite exciting. I can't say enough about the wonderful staff and the food was to die for. All activities were water based allowing us to view hippos, crocks and even lions up close and in comfort (no bouncing landrovers). The entire trip was the experience of a lifetime but Xigera was the high point. I highly recommend this Wilderness Camp.

  • Stayed: October 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Travelbug523999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 4, 2009

The camp is located in a beautiful lush area, and is a paradise for bird lovers (we saw tons of birds, including adult/juvenile Pel's fishing owls). The water activities (mokoro/boat cruise) were great - a lovely relaxing way of seeing the delta and also a nice perspective for seeing elephants, red lechwe, buffalo, hippo, painted reed frogs. The full day boat cruise is highly recommended - you get to have a picnic by the water, often with herds of babboons, elephants, zebra, impala nearby.

Negatives for the camp were limited big game viewing (but that’s not why you come here - just make sure you have some time at a dry camp in Botswana for this), average food for the price, no hot breakfast, service a bit too laidback/unprofessional (some people may find this ok), the rooms were not as big, comfortable or as well laid-out as other Wilderness camps we stayed at.

We stayed for a total of 2 nights which was about right for us (we are not avid bird lovers). As long as you are aware of the nature of this type of camp, and the activities on offer, i think you will enjoy it. It works reasonably well as a camp to slot in between dry camps where you chase big game wildlife viewing, although I'm not sure whether more time (eg. 4 nights) at a mixed wet/dry camp (eg. Little Vumbura) would be a better option (ie. compared to 2 nights at a dry camp, then 2 nights here). Perhaps someone who has done both options could comment on choosing between these options.

  • Stayed: September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Blueman79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Okavango Delta hotels
0.0 mi away
Wilderness Safaris Mombo Camp
Wilderness Safaris Mombo Camp
#8 of 29 in Moremi Game Reserve
229 reviews
0.0 mi away
Sanctuary Chief's Camp
Sanctuary Chief's Camp
#4 of 29 in Moremi Game Reserve
232 reviews
0.0 mi away
Camp Moremi
Camp Moremi
#5 of 29 in Moremi Game Reserve
288 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Great Plains Conservation Selinda Camp
Great Plains Conservation Selind...
#15 of 71 in Okavango Delta
199 reviews
0.0 mi away
Sanctuary Stanley's Camp
Sanctuary Stanley's Camp
#20 of 71 in Okavango Delta
180 reviews
0.0 mi away
Kadizora Camp
Kadizora Camp
#2 of 71 in Okavango Delta
122 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Wilderness Safaris Xigera Camp? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wilderness Safaris Xigera Camp

Address: Paradise Island | Moremi Wildlife Reserve, Botswana
Location: Botswana > North-West District > Okavango Delta
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #29 of 71 Specialty Lodging in Okavango Delta
Price Range: $737 - $1,099 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Wilderness Safaris Xigera Camp 4*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Deep in the Delta, surrounded by crystal-clear channels of water and lush vegetation, Xigera Camp is the quintessential Okavango experience. This blue-green world is home to a number of water-loving Okavango 'specials' including spotted-necked otter, Pel's fishing-owl, wattled crane and the Delta's highest concentration of the elusive sitatunga antelope. Situated on the aptly-named Paradise Island, the almostyear-round water makes this the ideal camp for exploring by motor boat and mokoro (dugout canoe) - an idyllic connection to a bygone era that allows silent and tranquil progress across waterlily-dotted waters. •10 tents (1 family) • mokoro • motorboat • game drives (water dependent) ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Xigera Camp Hotel Okavango Delta
Wilderness Safaris Xigera Camp Botswana/Okavango Delta

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing