We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“This is a fabulous camp and different” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Wilderness Safaris Xigera Camp

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Okavango Delta
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Wilderness Safaris Xigera Camp
Certificate of Excellence
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
85 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“This is a fabulous camp and different”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 18, 2013

My partner and I flew into Xigera in Oct. and it was magical. Very laid back and our guide, named Onx, was fabulous. He really knew what he was doing and was communicative and informative. Plus the water was low and he still got us where we needed to go. We saw about 35 species of birds up close and personal and Onx knew them all. We selected this camp for birds and we were not disappointed. We also saw crocs and other land animals but the birds were the best. Excellent complement to a land exprience like Leopard Hill. The staff was excellent and i had hurt my foot and could not walk that well and they moved us closer to the dining room and brought food to our rooms when we were too tired to go down to dinner. Food excellent. Would definitely go back.

Room Tip: There are far tents...like 10 and near tents like 3 or 4. All were very quiet with no noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank cheryl t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

112 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    88
    19
    5
    0
    0
See reviews for
24
56
11
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
london
Level Contributor
86 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 10, 2012

Unique location in the centre of Delta, unlike in other camps, secures there are always water chanels around this location, meaning high likelihood of wildlife siting. This particular area has been known for siting the Pel's owl (i confirm and have photos to prove!).
Every day entertainment is velvet monkeys trying to steal breakfast leftovers, baboons' attempts to gross over to the camp from another island, resident male hippo grousing by the broadwalks in a broad daylight, elephants and kudu family passing through and many many birds!

Camps are of high finishing standards and staff are very attentive. Managers running the camp at the time of my stay were going out of their way to accommodate guests' requests.

Room Tip: if you like watching large animals - there is a lot of activity in the morning at the last tent of t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank sotola
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 3, 2012

How anyone can give Xigera less than 5 starts is beyond me. Coming in from the airstrip on the boat an elephant crossed the channel right in front of the camp. Stayed 3 nights at Xigera as part of a longer trip to a few Wilderness Safari camps. This camp was was a really nice break between land camps. Much calmer and more relaxing. Stayed in tent #2, which had a nice view and outside seating to enjoy it. Tent was fantastic. Bugs were not a problem, though we kept the door closed and used the provided bug spray daily. The outdoor shower is great. When we arrived, tent #3 was under construction, which worried us. But needlessly, as they only worked when the guests were away from camp or at meals so it was never a bother. But if #3 had been in use, our tent would not have been as private as I would like.

Food was excellent. Drinks were really excellent. Try the Okavango Splash (the regular welcome drink with a shot of vodka). Staff was very friendly and attentive.

Did two mokoru trips (bush canoe) and one boat ride, and one jeep drive. All were wonderful but particularly loved the mokoru trips. True, you dont see as much big game as in a land based camp. But we saw plenty. Lots of elephants and hippos, a few giraffes, reed bucks, cape buffalo, impalas. We did see many birds, monkeys, reed frogs, lily pads, birds nests, Pells Fishing Owl. And its a different perspective from the water, than from the land. The majority of our favorite landscape pictures from Africa are from Xigera. Give it a try!

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank TooMuchRain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
36 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 14, 2012

I loved our water safari at Xigera-- a lovely change from the normal bush safari. Just two of you and a guide in a low canoe, you can reach out and feel the reeds brushing by. Lots of bird life, hippos, and some of the most beautiful elephants we saw in Botswana. My favorite, though, were the little reed frogs. Elephants brushed by our tent at night-- magical is right! The staff was wonderful, the food excellent-- one of the best camps we visited. Thank you!!!

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 288Maisie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
south africa
Level Contributor
59 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 12, 2012

Xigera is a magical place. It is set in one of the most beautiful areas in the Okavango Delta and a true water camp. No wonder it is referred to as paradise. You feel as though you are lost in paradise from the moment you get in the boat to the camp.
Everything about this camp is truely great. The atmosphere, the staff, the food ,the accommodation, the water activities, absolutely everything.
Visiting in June was a dream come true, as we always wanted to be in the Delta when the inundation is at it's highest. We enjoyed the boating to Chief's Island with a picnic lunch, as well as the Mekoro trips through the channels. On one occasion we got to spend time on an island to watch 2 Pal's Fishing Owls. So humbling to see this rare bird. Birding here is good even though this is not the time when the migrant birds are here or the birds are nesting yet.
I have to mention the exceptional food, cleanliness of our tent and the friendliness of the staff as the highlights of our 3 night stay. Do not stay shorter, as there are too many things to do. Just relax in this little paradise, sit at the fire at dusk, or on your veranda with coffee in the morning, have a drink at the pool, or read a book in the library and watch the stars at the stardeck at night!
As a bonus the guests in tent 1, saw a leopard right in front of their tent.

Room Tip: All rooms have views of the foodplains to the west. Rooms 1 to 4 are close to the communal area. The...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank ritaSouthAfrica
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brussels, Belgium
Level Contributor
15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 9, 2012

This is a magical place. The food was good the tents were so good and a very good services!!! We arrived very late at the camp so we missed the last safari and they provided are terras with some candles and some little food and a bottle of champagne to compare this! Our thanks to the managers they were so great a very nice couple !!!! Also the guide we had was very good. He did everthing to make it very good for us. The area were the camp is situated is so beautifull. Ask for tent 7 you have a direct view over the lagoon.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Cederic123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
79 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 23, 2012

This is a magical place. From the moment you turn up in the boat to a typically friendly, and noisy, Bostwana welcome you feel as if you belong. Everyone is friendly and helpful, and the atmosphere is that of a family party. Despite the fact that you are way out in the wilderness the rooms are extremely comfortable with glorious big beds, and there is always hot water at the turn of a tap. The guides are all extremely knowledgeable and are amazing at finding animals and identifying birds. An evening by the campfire in the Boma was a great experience, and we shall remember this place for ever. Even being wakened at 6am for breakfast at 6.30 so you could be out on an activity (bush drive, mokora or boat trip) at 7am was worth it. Equally evening trips, including a sundowner (gin and tonic being the favourite) were magical experiences.

Room Tip: All excellent
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Roseananne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Okavango Delta
0.0 mi away
Sanctuary Chief's Camp
Sanctuary Chief's Camp
#7 of 27 in Moremi Game Reserve
5.0 of 5 bubbles 201 reviews
0.0 mi away
Ghoha Hills Savuti
Ghoha Hills Savuti
#1 of 20 in Chobe National Park
5.0 of 5 bubbles 230 reviews
0.0 mi away
Sanctuary Baines' Camp
Sanctuary Baines' Camp
#35 of 71 in Okavango Delta
4.5 of 5 bubbles 111 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Mapula Lodge
Mapula Lodge
#18 of 27 in Moremi Game Reserve
4.5 of 5 bubbles 78 reviews
0.0 mi away
Sanctuary Stanley's Camp
Sanctuary Stanley's Camp
#26 of 71 in Okavango Delta
4.5 of 5 bubbles 159 reviews
0.0 mi away
Meno a Kwena Tented Camp
Meno a Kwena Tented Camp
#2 of 9 in Makgadikgadi Pans National Park
4.5 of 5 bubbles 92 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Wilderness Safaris Xigera Camp? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wilderness Safaris Xigera Camp

Property: Wilderness Safaris Xigera Camp
Address: Paradise Island | Moremi Wildlife Reserve, Botswana
Location: Botswana > North-West District > Okavango Delta
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #33 of 71 Specialty Lodging in Okavango Delta
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Wilderness Safaris Xigera Camp 4*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Deep in the Delta, surrounded by crystal-clear channels of water and lush vegetation, Xigera Camp is the quintessential Okavango experience. This blue-green world is home to a number of water-loving Okavango 'specials' including spotted-necked otter, Pel's fishing-owl, wattled crane and the Delta's highest concentration of the elusive sitatunga antelope. Situated on the aptly-named Paradise Island, the almostyear-round water makes this the ideal camp for exploring by motor boat and mokoro (dugout canoe) - an idyllic connection to a bygone era that allows silent and tranquil progress across waterlily-dotted waters. •10 tents (1 family) • mokoro • motorboat • game drives (water dependent) ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Xigera Camp Hotel Okavango Delta
Wilderness Safaris Xigera Camp Botswana/Okavango Delta

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing