We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (304)
Filter reviews
304 results
Traveler rating
252
36
12
3
1
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
252
36
12
3
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviews game drives safari lodge a wonderful stay first morning special dinner last stop amazing experience great sightings common areas southern africa andbeyond butler ranger tracker cheetah bruce zane
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
192 - 197 of 304 reviews
Reviewed February 22, 2015

My wife and I spent four days here: our second trip with &Beyond and our fourth camp. Everything that others have said is true. The newly rebuilt lodge and rooms are beautiful and the game drives were amazing. What makes &Beyond stand out, however, is the fact that the company really cares about the staff, and as a result, the staff are genuinely happy and truly interested in doing everything they can to make you happy. Whether it's a romantic dinner for two on the deck of your room, or a surprise lunch in the bush overlooking a river full of hippos, or the off-road pursuit of a leopard, they seem to live for your delight.

The rooms are beautiful, with a private plunge pool and a large deck completely hidden from outside view. Enormous bed, wood burning heater for chilly winter nights, indoor and outdoor shower, double sinks.

The wildlife in this area can't be beat. Huge numbers of elephants, giraffes, zebra, baboons, monkeys, various species of antelope, and hippos, plus the ones that are sometimes hard to see: cheetah, leopard, wild dog, lion, hyena -- we had multiple sightings of each of these over the four days. The only downside is that the concentration of these animals means that the chances of having a dangerous animal like elephant or hippo on the grounds of the lodge during your stay is reasonably high. Even though the real danger is minimal, it can make some people nervous.

Date of stay: February 2015
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Tim H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 20, 2015

Have just come back from 3 days at this wonderful place. From the moment we were collected from the tiny airstrip to when we left we loved every minute. All the staff were efficient caring and friendly. Our room was lovely - look on the website - and the main lodge- words fail us. It was built ecologically in the shape of a Pangolin(anteater). There are no fences around the site so all animals can roam through at will ie hyena lions impala etc. The food was wonderful ,anything you wanted. The safaris incedible- the staff are all so knowledgeable We had SK and Tuealo(hope I've spelt that correctly) as our guides. The managers- Michelle and Aaron could not have done more. On the last night Sandra organised a special St Valentines meal on the deck in our room over looking the bush. I had a wonderful massage from Amy and all our cleaning was done for nothing.

Date of stay: February 2015
  • Trip type: Traveled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Sara D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 26, 2015

WOW, LOVED LOVED Sandibe Lodge - we stayed 4 nights in order to truly explore the area and experience everything this newly rebuilt lodge had to offer in addition to great game viewing. We LOVED our guide GEE…he is from the area and has worked that area for years and years and just has a feeling for finding the animals. When we decided to set out to track Cheetah or Wild Dog, we knew we may need a couple of game drives to do it…we are safari junkies and don’t just go out game driving to see a plethora of game like "one and we're done let's move on". No way, we love tracking for very specific animals and then just sitting and observing them - after all this is how you get to see extraordinary events and interactions among the wildlife... We would give Gee ideas of what we wanted to look for…he would tell us if he thought it was possible due to animals working their territory etc…then we would go do it…and we were always successful….patience and Gee and then Gee said we were goodluck charms also, LOL!!! But we were patient so we saw EVERYTHING but Rhino which was expected of course and we saw everything in big numbers. We had fabulous sightings of cheetah, leopard, elephant, lion, wild dog and all the usual animals one expects and hopes to see on game drive plus quite a few rare nocturnal species.

Sandibe lodge is well run…management is awesome and I can ONLY say tons of great stuff about the food at the lodge, the staff in general - all very friendly and lovely to chat with, the rooms are awesome and the plunge pool very refreshing and the view from the rooms and terrace are spectacular…they even made Christmas eve and day a very special occasion--this was definitely the best way to spend family Christmas!!….and we made new friends that we kept crossing paths with throughout our trip. I definitely recommend this lodge to travellers! There is FREE wife throughout the lodge and rooms.

Only recommendation is that a privacy wall at the indoor shower would be useful. Our teens commented that they could not shower with the other in the room because the bathroom is a completely open plan and there is no privacy. Fortunately we had the 2 rooms connected by protected walkway so each teen could come to our room while the other showered. And the Boma tables need to face the bona and none should face away into the dark, and bona service should start early enough that it can be enjoyed. After long game drive, our bona dinner started at nearly 10 pm, so we skipped out before dinner was served.

Date of stay: December 2014
  • Trip type: Traveled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank OTBPGourmet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 18, 2015

We were at Sandibe one week ago and enjoyed it very much. the nice hotel is very new and modern, beautiful lodge and rooms with pool. the water in the pool was a bit chily but good for a hot day. The food and service very good and also the game drives just perfect. We were not many people there so we had most time a private drive, but was also enjoyable with other couples.
As the lodge has no fence we had once a lion and a elephant as visitors. they disapeared after a while. a great experience, very good quality lodge and nice game drives.
The only thing was for us that the lodging is not very african, too modern for the bushes.
Just to say that sunsets are just great in this area and also the animals we saw, everything! Leopard, Cheetah, Leos, Elephants, Impalas, Zebras, Giraffes etc.- just the best experience you can have in the bushes.

Room tip: We had room no 5, this is not too far from the lodge, has some shade. was very nice.
Date of stay: January 2015
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank debbiekie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 15, 2015 via mobile

This is newly refurbished lodge in the delta with amazing design and high luxury - air con, private swimming pool and high quality furnishings.

We had an amazing game drive (7 different cat sightings) but think this was more luck than normal, though there is clearly very good concentration of game in the area.

The only remark is that the staff is not as friendly as in other lodges (though perfectly professional) and that it ends up being "too much" luxury, and taking us away from nature. This is just me tho and my wife loooooved the extra luxury.

Date of stay: January 2015
Thank lancemy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews