We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
andBeyond Sandibe Okavango Safari Lodge
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Mankwe Bush Lodge(Okavango Delta)
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Reviews (249)
Filter reviews
249 results
Traveler rating
205
31
11
2
0
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
205
31
11
2
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsgame viewingwild dogstoyota land cruiseroutdoor showerplunge poolon a daily basisrooms are gorgeousguide driverlion killunder canvasour honeymoonincredible experiencebaby elephantbush experiencesouth africaloved every minuteonce in a lifetime
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
194 - 199 of 249 reviews
Reviewed June 19, 2012

The "Sandibe Safari Lodge" is an exclusive location in the Okavango-Delta: accommodation facilities are very generous, the single-unit detached houses are at best equipped and furnished, excellent meals, friendly cheerful members of staff and safari-guides, who know the bush from childhood. They made an unique wild-game-watching possible. Special thanks to Gift an Jonas, our Super-Guides!

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JoseZH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 3, 2012

Coming from a mild experience with andBeyond experience in Kichwa tembo, Kenya (in 2011) but also plenty of good before, we were a little anxious about what would come out of Sandibe.

We have the spent 4 nights there in May with the idea to focus on photography of predators mostly. We have not been disappointed by anything there: the lodge, staff and activities were just perfect. We were guided by Jonas and Tssabo who make a fantastic duo always wanting to make the extra mile for you and show and explain things the more they can. The safari vehicle was good and comfortable (even though you have a lot of gear) and you are never more than 4 per drive which is quite good.
As far as the wildlife is concerned we have been particularly lucky: leopards, lions, wild dogs, elephants (even one very close in the camp), tssesebe, zebras, red lechwe, buffalos (big hard), giraffes and so much more (not mentionning the birds). The funny part is also that the camp offers the shelter to a colony of large epauletted fruit bats that you can observe closely. And sometimes you get to see a large bull in the camp itself (one came 3 meters close to the restaurant and was quite relax with us not so far). Sure the camp is unfenced, but this is the essence of going to Botswana: untamed nature at its best!

The night drives are also a nice addition! We haven't felt too much that the concession is rather small: the landscapes and environments are very different from one place to another.
Last but not least you have to do a boat ride: this is really nice and if you are lucky you'll meet an elephant crossing of one the numerous channels like we did!
Thank you Sandibe!

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank jboule
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 21, 2012

Sandibe grew on us. It was the third camp we visited on this trip and our first impression was not so great. We arrived after dark, tripped over tree roots on dusty, unlit dirt paths to our tents, saw dim lighting everywhere, and noted the absence of fencing around the property to keep out large animals. A big contrast from our previous camps. Morning light made everything all right. We saw the raised gazebos in front of each cabin, private platforms for viewing the marshes and wildlife; the lovely sunrise views from the terraces of the main lodge; and the fireplace which warmed guests before morning drives and in the evening . We learned our way around the camp and got to know the staff who were uniformly warm and enthusiastic. We laughed at the good natured duel between staff and wildlife who tried to fend out vervet monkeys, robin chat and crested barbets birds determined to steal our high tea. We were blown away by the special experiences created for us - a surprise picnic lunch next to the Moremi Reserve complete with warm water to wash our hands, grilled bream, and cushioned chaise lounges under trees for napping afterwards; a private candlelight dinner by the pool. Tschabo and Jonas, our guide and tracker, were excellent. Low-keyed, they listened carefully to what we were hoping to see (cheetah and wild dogs) and made it happen. With their help, we saw more birds and game at Sandibe than at any other camp we visited.

The only negative we might report has to do with the adobe-like ceilings in our cabins (designed to look like round African huts with thatched roofs). We regularly found debris on top of our belongings and the see-through canopy over our beds. Not a big deal to brush it away and remembering to keep your bags zipped, but definitely a demerit for cleanliness.

Room Tip: There is a hippo crossing next to #4 - hippos pass by there during the cold winter months to graze on the grass on the other side of the camp. This is either good or bad, depending on your appetite for adventure.
  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank bluenote18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 3, 2012

This beautifull place is outstanding in everything.
From the moment you arrive you are served by your personal butler our was TT and he took care off us for 5 days.You tell him how you like to dink your coffee or coctail and what time and he takes care off it.
The houses are very private with sundeck to relax.At night you can watch the thousands off firefly,s from your lounger.Elephant walk by within a few meters off your house to graze in the swamp.
Beds are very comfi as well the outside shower under the trees.
Surprise part everyday dinner at different location as well the gamedrives with high wauw factor because the landscape is very different along the drive also nice the stops in the morning for coffee and in the evening for sundowner.We did 26 gamedrives before we came to Sandibe and never saw leopards.We saw 5 total and 1 mother with cub just caught an impala.
Lion kill a zebra ect you will not be dissapointed by wildlife here is was our best we had.
The wildlife here is so pure because off limited tourist.Most animals are not amused with people so you get the change to watch them how it should be in their own environment.
Sandibe is not a waterbased camp i think that is an advange because you get to see a lot more game .
Tip;this place is expensive so go to their own site and you will see that there are short periods that you can book for half the price.We were there in third week off november 2011 and they gave us a very good offer for 5 day stay + the choice to make a combination with there other camp in the Delta.If you are flexible with your plan you can save a lot off money.
When you don,t feel for organize yourself go to Island-safari.com we let them plan the other 3weeks stay in Botswana and Zimbabwe for very reasonable price and everything from transfer by air to airport pick up was arranged perfectly.

Room Tip: All the rooms are the same with sundeck+loungers view into the swamp
  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank mimiton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 2, 2012

Was at 4 camps in Bots in November and am finally getting around to finish all the reviews. We stayed at Selinda, Savuti, Tubu Tree and Sandibe. On the upside, the game viewing was very good at Sandibe and for 2 days we saw a good number of lions (males and also a pride of 5 lionesses), a leopard, and a whole lot of Hyena oddly enough. Another up was the management who was very accommodation. The downside, the concession felt small - like we kept driving around the same areas again and again. The Lodge also felt dated and the staff was not very attentive. In contrast to other places, the lodge at Sandibe is very low-lying so you have no view other than the reeds about 15 yards in front of you - this felt odd after all the very well sited places we stayed. Rooms are the same - no view, other than to the reeds in front of you. Just something to think about.

  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank timgrubb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews