We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fabulous in the Okavango Delta!”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Okavango Delta
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
andBeyond Sandibe Okavango Safari Lodge
Certificate of Excellence
Austin, Texas
Level 5 Contributor
64 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Fabulous in the Okavango Delta!”
Reviewed January 21, 2012

It's been a dream of mine to go to the Okavango Delta - ever since watching PBS nature shows from many years back. We made it a reality last month and chose the &Beyond lodge Sandibe. We were not at all disappointed! Nothing is inexpensive in the Delta but when you realize how remote it is and how difficult it is to get food, water, and pretty much everything, you understand that it's just the way it has to be. While being quite remote, luxury was not neglected and we were treated like royalty. The only way into camp is a 15 minute bush plane ride from Maun and then from the tiny airstrip another 45 min drive to camp. We were met with cool towels and refreshing drinks and were catered to throughout our stay. Our guide (Gift) and tracker (Steve) were awesome and helped us make MANY memories that will last a lifetime. The Okavango Delta is a magical place in itself and the staff of Sandibe somehow increased that charm.
The only reason for my 4 star on sleep quality is that on our last night there, I realized I'd been sharing my bed and mosquito net with a spider family and I'm terribly afraid of spiders!! I still managed to get some Zzz's that night but that was the only tiny blemish on a wonderful stay.
I would go back in a heartbeat.

Room Tip: There are only 8 buildings - each their own private room/lodge of your own - can't imagine there...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank kerichmelik
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

234 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    193
    29
    10
    2
    0
See reviews for
65
116
13
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (45)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level 5 Contributor
59 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed January 1, 2012

This was our second trip to Sandibe and still outstanding. Food was excellent, tasty and innovative as usual. Shaka and Goms proved to be outstanding guides, tunning into our needs perfectly. The lodge staff are what makes a trip to this camp special and this time was no exception, thank you for a restfull 4 days. game viewing; even in the wet season was fanrtastic!

You will not leave disappointed or without making a memory to last a lifetime.

Room Tip: Rooms 1 and 8 are great if you like the quite and solitude of the bush, with minimal human noise. be...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Arthur M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
358 reviews
86 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 190 helpful votes
Reviewed December 17, 2011

Sandibe will always have a special place in my heart. It is a wonderful destination for a visit. A small lodge situated on a large concession, the lodge is beautiful designed to blend in and enhance your visit to the Okavango Delta. Each "room" is a charming private "hut" that is lavishly furnished. Even to the point of flush toilets, hot running water and showers, and a massive king-sized bed. The staff were warm, welcoming and extremely attentive. Their service was consistently supert and they especially made this a wonderful destination. The food was consisistently of gourmet quality and that was only the beginning.

What especially made this such a fantastic trip for us was the wonderful wildlife viewing. We were at Sandibe 3 days and each day was filled with hundreds of animal encounters, many being so exceptionally close. Our guide, Gee, did an absolutely fantastic job of positioning us to optimally see the animals. I've dozens of wonderful photos to help me remember this experience. If you love animals, then it's hard for you to go wrong with a visit to Sandibe. If I ever get back to Botswana, a return visit to Sandibe will certainly be part of this visit.

Room Tip: Any of the "rooms" (each actually its unique hut) is fine.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank drfumblefinger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, New Zealand
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed August 17, 2011

We stayed at Sandibe for 2 nights as part of our recent trip to Botswana. Everything about our stay was great, from the wonderful arrival, to our luxurious rooms and the excellent food. Tsabo our guide and Goms our tracker went to every length to show us as much game as we could possibly want, from leopard kills to the great close up experience with a pride of lions on our last drive to the airstrip on the way out. Highly recommended. An unforgettable luxury wildlife experience with a team that go the extra mile.

Room Tip: All the rooms are good with their own veranhda over the water
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Graeme M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
Level 6 Contributor
113 reviews
60 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
Reviewed June 14, 2011

We stayed at four lodges and the Sandibi was the favorite of both my mother and myself. First, the game - we had an awesome guide (Tsabo) and were literally blown away by the game we saw. In just one day, we saw lions, a leapoard, a cheetah, buffalo, wildebeest and obviously tons of elephants, giraffes, zebras, etc. Not to mention about 30 different birds. The terrain was the most varied of anywhere we went and it seemed like every 10 minutes you were in a new place. The staff back at the camp was fantastic, Kate (manager) and Judy became like family. Food here was the best we had. Rooms were very comfortable. Note that this was also the only camp we stayed at with internet. Our overall impression though was that this is a very well-run camp and it is blessed with spectacular opportunites to see wildlife.

  • Stayed June 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank EricfromParis02
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
79 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
Reviewed June 10, 2011

We were very excited to arrive in the Delta as my son and I had recently appeared as fictional characters in Tony Park's latest book on Africa "The Delta". Because we have enjoyed &Beyond's amazing hospitality before we decided to stay 3 nights at Sandibe and 2 nights at Xaranna. We also love the fact that &Beyond do take children in their lodges as well disciplined children can open our eyes to new experiences in the bush. We absolutely loved Xaranna and enjoyed Sandibe. The 8 cottages are nice but are looking a little tired and do need a bit of a pep up for the money (I would apply this to the main lodge area as well) However the decks attached to each cottage are very nice for relaxing, the beds certainly comfortable and the showers fine. Unfortunately for us during our stay at Sandibe every other vehicle seemed to having a lot more luck with predator sightings than us which can be frustrating when all of our family are keen photographers. Instead we took lots of giraffe, zebra and bird photos. Not quite what we had envisioned a stay in the Delta would entail. In this case I would comment that the guides we had could have worked a little harder to make the small game more interesting.i.e we broke down for an hour and a half miles from anywhere and the guides just did their own thing. They could have used the time to highlight info about the plants birds etc.
My mother had her birthday on the first evening and the manager arranged a lovely cake as a surprise with singing which was very much appreciated and a lovely touch. The staff were all lovely and food coming from the kitchen was absolutely delicious. The chef is doing a A1 job. When we were there an elephant came into camp on one of the evenings which was great excitement.
In summary a lovely spot to spend time in the Delta but a property which &Beyond could improve upon.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Imfundu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
katonah, ny
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed January 14, 2011

Our visit to Sandibe was incredible. Tsabo and James literally found us every animal there was to see. And our photos from Botswana look like we photographed pages from National Geographic. Loved breakfast provided by Tsabo and James on the banks of the river! Tsego, Virginia and Kate and others too numerous to mention made us feel like family. We loved the intimacy of Sandibe. The beautiful thatched roof lodge and bungalows! It reminded me a lot of my childhood in Hawaii! The singing and dancing were charming. The food wonderful. Really A+. Karen at &beyond arranged our tour and was amazing!

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kalolam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Okavango Delta hotels
39.4 mi away
Mankwe Bush Lodge
Mankwe Bush Lodge
#1 of 1 in Okavango Delta
46 reviews
28.8 mi away
andBeyond Xaranna Okavango Delta Camp
andBeyond Xaranna Okavango Delta...
#14 of 72 in Okavango Delta
149 reviews
19.1 mi away
Camp Moremi
Camp Moremi
#2 of 28 in Moremi Game Reserve
273 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
14.0 mi away
Third Bridge Campsite
Third Bridge Campsite
#15 of 28 in Moremi Game Reserve
83 reviews
65.3 mi away
Great Plains Conservation Selinda Camp
Great Plains Conservation Selind...
#12 of 72 in Okavango Delta
190 reviews
10.2 mi away
Sanctuary Stanley's Camp
Sanctuary Stanley's Camp
#24 of 72 in Okavango Delta
171 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to andBeyond Sandibe Okavango Safari Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about andBeyond Sandibe Okavango Safari Lodge

Property: andBeyond Sandibe Okavango Safari Lodge
Address: Sandibe, Botswana
Location: Botswana > North-West District > Okavango Delta
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 72 Specialty Lodging in Okavango Delta
Hotel Class:4 star — andBeyond Sandibe Okavango Safari Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
AndBeyond Sandibe Okavango Safari Lodge is a serene, earthy camp that is camouflaged under a tumbling canopy of wild palms and fig leaves. The eight romantic thatched cottages blend seamlessly with the leafy surrounds right on the very edge of the Okavango Delta's permanent waterways. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Sandibe Safari Hotel Okavango Delta
AndBeyond Sandibe Okavango Safari Lodge Botswana/Okavango Delta

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing