We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wow!!! Unforgettable experience! Can't wait to return!”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Okavango Delta
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
andBeyond Nxabega Okavango Tented Camp
Certificate of Excellence
Hattiesburg, Mississippi
Level 6 Contributor
135 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Wow!!! Unforgettable experience! Can't wait to return!”
Reviewed June 4, 2014

My husband and I can't quit talking about what a fabulous, transformative experience this was. Our tent accommodations were wonderful. The meals were all delicious! It was very different from our experience on safari at Sabi Sabi--all excitement and adrenaline there (wonderful, also)--while the pace here was much more relaxing and really grew on us. We liked it more each day, and after our third night we felt like we were leaving good friends. Sandy and Mesh outdid themselves in providing for our every need, and KD our ranger and Equator our tracker were out of this world--knowledgeable, aiming to please, fun, all we could ask for and then some. The singing was a highlight as were the boma, the makoro boat ride, and the massage by Rose on our tent deck. We will definitely return!

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank daisygirl2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

197 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    166
    23
    5
    2
    1
See reviews for
49
111
6
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (46)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Miami
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed June 4, 2014

This was the 9th AndBeyond lodge I've been fortunate to visit. My first in Botswana and my first tented camp. The tent seemed adequate and was acceptable. It was one square area with minimal or no separation between bed, shower, toilet, or dressing area. I traveled solo and it was okay, but not up to my previous andbeyond luxurious accommodations. I was lucky that I finished my safari at the and beyond Xaranna camp, also in the Okavango delta. That is a 5 Star Tented Camp, see my review.
The staff, Ak, Bt, Cecilia(a fantastic therapist) were excellent and very warm and familial.
My two major complaints were the poor wifi service at both camps, and the pre-drive b'kfst. Had a selection of 1 fruit vs, 4-5 at Xaranna
Overall good experience, but would prefer Xaranna for a return visit

Room Tip: Room 5 was great
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MiamiHappy_Traveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed May 28, 2014

Nxabega was the absolute highlight of our trip to Africa. We stayed for 4 nights and enjoyed every minute of it. We had the best game drives here, our favourite were watching the lions (two females with a cub). Our guides were so accommodating and put in every effort to deliver. The staff were extremely friendly and helpful, our room was very clean and comfortable. The food was very good and the little surprises along the way are memories we will always hold very dearly.

Amazing stay, highly recommended!

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sarah A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level 6 Contributor
185 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
Reviewed May 17, 2014

This was the 3rd of 4 Lodges/Camps on this trip, and was BY FAR, our very favorite!! Most times, when places say you’ll feel “like family” by the time you leave, it’s just a slogan…but here, they really mean it, and it really happens!! The staff was amazing…constantly anticipating your needs and adding small luxurious touches (like hot water bottles in the beds and on the seats during chilly morning game drives), and constantly on-hand, without appearing to hover. This camp is pretty removed from civilization, so the staff spends a lot of time together, and you can tell how well they get along…they are always smiling, and laughing, and treating guests to spontaneous singing and dancing at all times of the day. Our favorite staff included Sandra (Assistant Manager), Kedi (Butler), Rose (Masseuse), and Kux & Fred (our FABULOUS Guide & Tracker). I truly felt like part of the Nxabega Family by the time we left! The tents are beautiful, as are the public spaces of the camp…the variety of drives & activities is lovely….and the special dinners make your evenings both relaxing and memorable. Seriously, if you are planning time in the Okavango Delta region, make Nxabega your first choice!! (Though Sandra is about to become the Manager at the newly renovated Sandibe Okavango Safari Lodge, so I have a feeling that place is about to become “the place to be”!!)

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Merrill O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Queenstown, New Zealand
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed May 13, 2014

We spent 2 nights at this camp. This was our first Safari Camp and can recommend & Beyond. They have great service, Guides are fantastic and go out of their way to try to ensure you see as much Wild life as possible. The service was excellent. We did feel a little pressure to change our activity option because they already had 1 boat full. But they did accommodate us. The accommodation in the tented rooms is excellent.
The food compared to our other &beyond camps was on the small portion size and bland.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pris54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barcelona, Spain
Level 6 Contributor
68 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
Reviewed May 10, 2014

Booking just one month in advance (excellent service from &Beyond travel planner), we were lucky enough to spend two nights at this amazing lodge in the Okavango Delta by the end of April.

Even though it was a short stay, Patrick (the manager at this camp) was really helpful and accommodating. We planned with him our two days and went on game drives, motor boat and even had a memorable night drive after dinner.

Our ranger Palo and tracker Kenny were brilliant, and really passionate about their job. Never in a hurry and always willing to offer more than you could expect. We had incredible sightings: wild dogs feasting on a young red lechwe, spotted hyenas at their den, lions stalking and chasing zebras, hippos grazing in the evening out of the water and lots more.

We really liked the way they tracked the animals and how every drive was conducted, sometimes lasting for more than five hours. As for the motor boat, we did enjoy the most beautiful sunset and learnt about the flora in the Okavango Delta (as you need to reach the boat station, you are also having a short game drive on each way, which is nice).

The staff was very helpful and we will never forget the bush dinner they prepared after the evening game drive. The fire, the lights, and the singing...in that incredible setting. Good to know that we were always offered a table for two, lunch and dinner.

Accommodation was excellent in a tent with all the comforts. All in all, a great experience, which we are already planning to repeat.

Thank you to all the Nxabega family for a memorable stay!

Room Tip: Rooms 7 to 9 seem to have better views and you will avoid hearing the generator
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank XenaTR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed May 2, 2014

Ever since I came to Africa I wanted to visit the Okovango Delta. Last month we made the trip. It's a fly in, so you get to see the delta from the air. The camp is not new, it's established and hidden away. It's the lap of luxury in a tent. The setting is beautiful. The tents are lavish, the food and service superb, but the best of the best are the guides. It's not "canned", they don't know where all the interesting animals are all the time, but they work as a team and keep in touch, so if you have the desire to see something specific, they will do their very best to find it for you. We wanted Leopard, and on the second morning they found one, it was a long and bumpy ride, but oh so worth it, we spent about half an hour in the company of a beautiful female. We were fortunate to have two guides called Pahlo and Richard, friendly, knowledgable and obviously in love with what they do
They don't just offer game drives, we spent an afternoon on the water in a smallish boat, my only complaint was a lack of shade, but you can't have everything, what we did have was Hippo's at sunset. Brilliant, it's not cheap, so save up and go, it's worth every penny

Room Tip: All very good
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jeffurson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Okavango Delta hotels
74.9 mi away
Mankwe Bush Lodge
Mankwe Bush Lodge
#1 of 1 in Okavango Delta
46 reviews
13.5 mi away
andBeyond Xaranna Okavango Delta Camp
andBeyond Xaranna Okavango Delta...
#16 of 71 in Okavango Delta
149 reviews
17.1 mi away
Sanctuary Chief's Camp
Sanctuary Chief's Camp
#3 of 29 in Moremi Game Reserve
224 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
43.2 mi away
Kadizora Camp
Kadizora Camp
#3 of 71 in Okavango Delta
102 reviews
19.2 mi away
Wilderness Safaris Mombo Camp
Wilderness Safaris Mombo Camp
#9 of 29 in Moremi Game Reserve
224 reviews
83.2 mi away
Great Plains Conservation Selinda Camp
Great Plains Conservation Selind...
#13 of 71 in Okavango Delta
192 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to andBeyond Nxabega Okavango Tented Camp? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about andBeyond Nxabega Okavango Tented Camp

Property: andBeyond Nxabega Okavango Tented Camp
Address: Moremi Game Reserve Border, Botswana
Location: Botswana > North-West District > Okavango Delta
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #17 of 71 Specialty Lodging in Okavango Delta
Hotel Class:5 star — andBeyond Nxabega Okavango Tented Camp 5*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
AndBeyond Nxabega Okavango Tented Camp is ideally positioned to explore the magnificence of the Okavango Delta. Merging the simplicity of canvas with the utmost elegance, nine tented suites create an experience that is rugged yet luxurious, blending the remoteness of the breathtaking setting with utter comfort and style. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Nxabega Okavango Tented Camp Hotel Okavango Delta
AndBeyond Nxabega Okavango Tented Camp Botswana/Okavango Delta

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing