We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Super safari”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Okavango Delta
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
andBeyond Nxabega Okavango Tented Camp
Certificate of Excellence
Wilmington, North Carolina
Level Contributor
245 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 164 helpful votes
“Super safari”
Reviewed March 28, 2013

First up: Nxabega has a brand-new airstrip, so no more 2 hr drive from PomPom (unless you are on a driving safari, obvs). Second: the manager, Patrick, is great- very present, very hands-on. Third: the place is in good condition (as of late March, 2013). Fourth: although other sites (such as Sandibe) have more of a reputation for sightings, some of that is volatile, as the entire region is open, and the animals do move (we had leopard and elephant tracks on the path to our tent every morning). Again, as of March, 2013, the difference in the presence of animals between Sandibe and Nxabega was small. Fifth: go out on the speed boat at sunset, for a beautiful outing- not animal viewing!

We had an amazing time at Nxabega, in large part because of the atmosphere. It may have just been luck (and was certainly helped by the fact that several of the other guests had already met up at another site), but it was a terribly collegial group. One of the great things about the &Beyond set-up is the balance between time around on your own and around other people.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kate3717
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

189 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    158
    23
    5
    2
    1
See reviews for
47
105
6
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (43)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed March 16, 2013

This was our first experience of a safari lodge and it could not have been better. Yes, the tents are showing signs of age but apart from that it is hard to find anything negative to write. The banquets in the bush were magical, the food outstanding, the staff quite amazing in their focus on meeting every guest request. A massage on the veranda of our tent to was the best ever. The pool is a real plus, actually big enough to swim in.
We had to drive to Xnbega from Pom Pom as the airstrip wasn't ready, but this was a high spot, lunch served by a lake, followed by seeing lions resting from the heat. Our driver guide and tracker were both excellent. The wild terrain is beautiful and the sense of being so far from civilisation quite extraordinary. The stargazing in the bush is unforgettable.

Room Tip: Close to main lodge is best.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SueinLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
22 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed March 4, 2013

Nice lodge and accommodation. Staff were lovely and really helpful and attentive. Game viewing was sparse but didn't detract from the overall experience. The food is very good and varied. The accommodation is in lovely tents with a great shower. Thanks to all the staff - their singing is great and hope they are working on producing their CD!!

Room Tip: Avoid tent number 6 as it is the tent closest to the main lodge area and has very little privacy!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank africaval
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coastal South Carolina, South Carolina
Level Contributor
28 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed February 11, 2013

Our time at Nxabega was just magical. This tented camp in the Okavango is about as remote as you can get- no other lodges for miles- no other vehicles ( except the camps one other) at any sightings. Situated on the western edge of the Delta, Nxebega is not for first timers looking for lots of game- there are camps in other areas with far more abundant animals- but if you've done game lodges before and want to experience the delta this is the place. For Feburary there was still plenty of water- a wonderful eveing baot ride thru papyrus and wterlilies was a great way to see the area.

Patrick and the staff were all amazing. Our Ranger Lesh and TT our tracker were very knowledgeable and willing to please. My husband is a great birder and we stopped to see every one- and there were many. They also found whatever wildlife there was- including a pride of lion just after a zebra kill which we watched for 3 hours- playing, drinking and then back to gorging themselves again- all the while keeping the vultures away.

The tent was comfortable and just rustic enough for me- the weather perfect- food great and the entire team, Sandra, Gloria , Kitso our butler - everyone was just warm and wonderful. We strongly recommed Nxebga for your Delta adventure.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sheilab56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
florida
Level Contributor
192 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 99 helpful votes
Reviewed January 25, 2013

We stayed 3 nights at this luxury tented camp owned by and beyond. This was by far the nicest tent setting we stayed in on our trip. We had a great hot running shower & even a hair blow dryer. The location is beautiful. We enjoyed the water activities, fishing, boating & of course the Mokoro canoe ride. We ate the best food which was served in such a beautiful display. Service was excellent & the guides were knowledegable. Lesh, Swallow & Bee. Touille the manager does a professional job of managing this place. I recommend going.

Room Tip: Stay in tent 4 or 5
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank FloridaTraveller1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
18 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed January 7, 2013 via mobile

What an amazing experience!The accommodation was awesome and the camp shared areas were stunning! The staff of Nxabega were some of the most hospitable, caring people we have met! There attention to detail outstanding and every guests names were always remembered and used when talking to.

We did so many things such as daily game drives, night drive, boat through the delta, mokora ride in the delta and a walking safari. We saw so many amazing sites from the smallest of frogs that the naked eye can hardly see, to a leopard devouring her kill right in front of us. We saw breeding herds of Elephant, with the tiniest of babies and similarly Zebra. All the antelope varieties and of course the hippo! There were many other wonders too many to mention.

This is a fantastic camp to visit and we felt like part of the family. They have separate dining for the guests but you can pretty much tell them what you want and they will do whatever they can to meet your needs! BTW they have a resident Hippo in front lake and many animals frequent the camp site! AMAZING!

Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Dave C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane
Level Contributor
88 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
Reviewed October 10, 2012

My wife and I experienced the hospitality of this wonderful camp for 2 nights in mid-September 2012. We had just come for the luxuries of Sabi Sabi in the Kruger the Royal Livingston Hotel at "the Falls" and Savute Safari Lodge (review elsewhere) and approached the tented camp with some degree of trepidation and excitement. We were headed to Xaranna after this sojourn -more on this later.

We were blown away by the welcome, the food, the care and attention of the staff, the flexibility to fit in with our requirements and wishes and the comfort of the whole camp. To call this a mere tented camp is some understatement! The main lodge is beautifully decorated and homely in its comforts. The ensuited "tents" were more than we could have wished for - down to the complementary ice-box with drinks provided at your request.

From the sunset mokoro ride on our first afternoon (finishing with sundowners in the most idyllic of settings) to the last game drive our stay here was fantastic. Our guide and tracker (Bee and TT) were expert in their efforts to show us what the area had to offer. I've seen other reports that were dissappointed in the game on offer - we observed a multitude of elephants, giraffe, impala, Red Lewche, hippos, monkeys, baboons and even a crocodile. A highlight was when Bee tracked a leopard back to its kill and we sat entralled for nearly an hour until it tired of us and climbed a tree with a very full belly for a snooze!

Would I recommend Nxabega - absolutely! Would I return - Absolutely!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank tshields
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Okavango Delta hotels
74.9 mi away
Mankwe Bush Lodge
Mankwe Bush Lodge
#1 of 1 in Okavango Delta
3.5 of 5 bubbles 44 reviews
17.1 mi away
Sanctuary Chief's Camp
Sanctuary Chief's Camp
#7 of 27 in Moremi Game Reserve
5.0 of 5 bubbles 205 reviews
33.0 mi away
Sanctuary Stanley's Camp
Sanctuary Stanley's Camp
#29 of 70 in Okavango Delta
4.5 of 5 bubbles 161 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
43.2 mi away
Kadizora Camp
Kadizora Camp
#14 of 70 in Okavango Delta
5.0 of 5 bubbles 71 reviews
0.0 mi away
Sanctuary Baines' Camp
Sanctuary Baines' Camp
#28 of 70 in Okavango Delta
4.5 of 5 bubbles 117 reviews
83.2 mi away
Selinda Camp
Selinda Camp
#16 of 70 in Okavango Delta
5.0 of 5 bubbles 181 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to andBeyond Nxabega Okavango Tented Camp? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about andBeyond Nxabega Okavango Tented Camp

Property: andBeyond Nxabega Okavango Tented Camp
Address: Moremi Game Reserve Border, Botswana
Location: Botswana > North-West District > Okavango Delta
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #17 of 70 Specialty Lodging in Okavango Delta
Hotel Class:5 star — andBeyond Nxabega Okavango Tented Camp 5*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
AndBeyond Nxabega Okavango Tented Camp is ideally positioned to explore the magnificence of the Okavango Delta. Merging the simplicity of canvas with the utmost elegance, nine tented suites create an experience that is rugged yet luxurious, blending the remoteness of the breathtaking setting with utter comfort and style. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Nxabega Okavango Tented Camp Hotel Okavango Delta
AndBeyond Nxabega Okavango Tented Camp Botswana/Okavango Delta

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing