We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Tripadvisor
Okavango Delta
Post
Inbox
Search
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (200)
Filter reviews
200 results
Traveler rating
179
15
3
1
2
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
179
15
3
1
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviews ear muffs course tasting menu beautiful furniture game drives outstanding lodge telephoto lens beautiful wildlife bull elephant writing desk african wines safari experience excellent guide piece of paradise life changing incredible experience once in a lifetime bird life
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
106 - 111 of 200 reviews
Reviewed October 6, 2014

Pierre and Antoinette are outstanding hosts! Antoinette ensures every wish is granted and Pierre makes the most wonderful food and is generous about sharing his recipes. The rooms are beautiful and very comfortable. Wildlife viewing is outstanding and every day was an amazing surprise.
We met other guests who were there on their 3rd, 4th and 5th visits. I can see why! We'll return too.

Room tip: All rooms are wonderful, clean and comfortable.
Date of stay: September 2014
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank islandgirlinkeywest
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GreatPlainsConserve, General Manager at Great Plains Conservation Duba Plains Camp, responded to this reviewResponded January 11, 2015

Thank you so much for your lovely review.

We appreciate the praise and are glad that you enjoyed your stay with us.
We look forward to welcoming you back on your return visits in the future.

Warm regards
Antoinette, Pierre and the rest of the Duba Team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 17, 2014

We did enjoy Duba Plains with our daughters, but nature is fickle! We trailed lions who were also trailing a very large herd of buffalo for 3 days only to be disappointed to see the herd cross over the marsh to Paradise Island!! A well chosen name. The camp however is very comfortable, wonderfully managed by Antoinette & fed by the brilliant Pierre. Probably the best food we have experienced while on any safari.

It is possible that because the prides of lion & herds of buffalo are down that the reputation of Duba Plains is not as exciting as it used to be, but there were wonderful birds, varieties of antelope & elephant that kept us absorbed & it was a very good start to our safari holiday in the Okavango Delta & Zambia over the next 18 days. Our guide James, is to be complemented for all the effort he made.

Date of stay: August 2014
  • Trip type: Traveled with family
    • Service
Thank gizzy229
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GreatPlainsConserve, General Manager at Great Plains Conservation Duba Plains Camp, responded to this reviewResponded January 11, 2015

Dear Janet

Thank you for your review.
It was a pleasure to host you, John, Kristin and Susie at Duba Plains.

You’re definitely right about Nature being fickle, Mother Nature still surprises us daily.
We’re happy to hear you enjoyed your time with us.

Send our regards to the rest of the family.

Bush greetings from Antoinette, Pierre, James and the rest of the Duba Team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 17, 2014

4 of us traveled from the UK to Duba Plains at the beginning of June- it has always been a camp we have wanted to visit- we loved everything about it- from the amazing food prepared by Pierre (probably the best we have had on any safari) and Antoinette's camp management- to our wonderful guide 007 James who had endless patience.
We weren't quite lucky enough to see the lions actually kill a buffalo (though they did have a few tries) but loved watching the animal interactions- and the excitement and thrill of seeing the lion and buffalo so close together- and then unexpectedly come across a second pride out of their territory.The water was very deep at the time and it was amazing to see lions and elephants wade though it - and huge skill to drive the jeep through the deep channels.
It was very cold both morning and night and we had on lots of layers- great ponchos in the jeep and hot water bottles.
One afternoon a young elephant surprised my husband by coming along outside our tent and eating most of the tree that was blocking his view of the land- very exciting for him- I had a nap by the pool and woke up to a large female warthog with young staring at me- don't know who got more of a fright her or me!
The tents were spacious and well appointed- great to have electricity inside.
We felt extremely privileged to have been able to come here and see what Duba has to offer and would highly recommend it - especially if you want to see the interaction between the lion and buffalo (which after all is what it is famous for). However don't expect to see a huge variety of game it is a very specialized area and we loved it.

Date of stay: June 2014
  • Trip type: Traveled with friends
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MoniqueLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GreatPlainsConserve, General Manager at Great Plains Conservation Duba Plains Camp, responded to this reviewResponded January 11, 2015

Thank you Monique for your lovely review of Duba Plains.

We so enjoyed hosting you, Gary, Richard and Lynda.
By the detail in your review it sounds as though you thoroughly enjoyed the magic that Duba Plains has to offer and we’re happy for that.

Hopefully we’ll see you back soon for more!

Kind regards from Antoinette, Pierre, James and the rest of the Duba Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 11, 2014

Our fourth visit and of course, with the expectation that we could witness one of the three Lion prides strategise for their Buffalo hunt, and possibly succeed. This event is controlled by the natural order of this ecosystem so largely it is dependent on one's luck...to see a prey fall victim to its predator or manage to survive yet another attack from the lions. However, what is in control is the camp experience. Pierre's flavours, Antoinette's management, OT's team and Kop's guiding created magic. We saw an unbelievably relaxed leopard - something we have never seen before in this area. The rooms are small but very well organised with a touch of luxurious detail that makes you feel a bit special. Slippers with embroidered shells for chilly mornings, comfortable bed with a gorgeous azure sham, frankincense burner subtle and effective, ergonomic dressing area, personalised water canisters, binoculars, exquisitely stocked shop. Thank you Duba Plains...we will keep coming back.

Room tip: Beautiful outlook to every room, however, if you wish to walk the least, choose room 1.
Date of stay: August 2014
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank shvetat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GreatPlainsConserve, General Manager at Great Plains Conservation Duba Plains Camp, responded to this reviewResponded January 11, 2015

Dear Shveta

It was so lovely to see you and Prashant at Duba Plains again.

Thank you for your lovely photographs and accurate review of Duba Plains that I’m sure will be helpful to many.

We look forward to welcoming you back on your fifth visit!

Warm regards
OT, Antoinette, Pierre, Kops and the rest of the Duba Team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 10, 2014

We just finished a delightful 3 night stay at Duba Plains. As others have said, the staff, service, and food were excellent!! Antoinette and Pierre, along with OT and the staff are very attentive to all needs and preferences. Pierre makes the most amazing dishes, and this, by far, is the BEST food we have ever had in our three trips to Africa so far!! Pierre is a master of spices and herbs, and has some of the most inventive, delicious combinations imaginable.

Now, to the primary reason to choose Duba Plains over a any other camp in the Okanvango Delta...the highly touted and advertised lions and buffalo interaction. Well, it only happens if the buffalo are there at the time you visit. If not, tough luck...and you still get to pay almost $3,000 USD per night for two. And we had extremely bad luck on this count. It seems three of the lions had taken down a buffalo two days before we arrived at Duba. After the hunt, the ENTIRE herd of buffalo crossed over to Paradise Island.....we were actually greeted by our guide, Stanley, at the airstrip with " The buffalo are gone, and we are not sure when or if they will be back"!!! Are you kidding me? I could have chosen many other beautiful camps in The Delta.....I understand that Mother Nature does not always guarantee what you expect, but REALLY???? Why does Duba put such a strong emphasis on the lion/buffalo interaction, get everybody hopped up with expectations of seeing something totally different, and then it really only happens about once every four days. And it NEVER happens if the buffalo have left the area!! ( which by the way they do in the dry season because of less grass to graze)

The price does not go down without buffalo....but the action certainly does! Even one afternoon as we watched a pride of six lions sleeping our guide, Stanley, quipped " It really is so boring here without the buffalo!!" That did not help overcome my expectations. We did see some of the most beautiful and HUGE lions we ever saw in Africa. They get very big and strong from eating buffalo meat and swimming the channels in the wet season.

So, I guess my comments would be to choose Duba Plains in the wet season in the Delta. Then all the animals are trapped on islands, and the buffalo herd has a more difficult time escaping the lions. We were just there and the Delta was quite dry in September. The only other highlight was seeng a leopard out in the open jump into a tree to finish her catch from two days before.

Our guide, Stanley was okay. He works at Selinda, a sister camp, but used to guide at Duba. He knows the area and we did find various lions, because of his tracking experience. However, he was very set in the "process" of each game drive. Make sure coffee and sundowners are a specific time, show guests what you think they want to see, as opposed to listening to our requests. Also, he did night drives with a light every time we were headed back to camp. We told him we did not care about night drives, as it s very hard to even see anything...just drive back so we can get a. Shower and make the 8:00 dinner time.it was like he did not hear us at all. We got back two nights at just about 8:00, and saw NOTHING on the lit drive to warrant the rushing around to try to keep dinner from being late for the other 10 guests.

So, all in all, an average experience on safari, compared to some others we have experienced. Go to Duba if you want to see some of the biggest lions ever, and experience outrageously great food! But do not go with the inflated expectations of seeing lions even tease the buffalo.

Date of stay: September 2014
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
3  Thank Marla O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GreatPlainsConserve, General Manager at Great Plains Conservation Duba Plains Camp, responded to this reviewResponded January 11, 2015

Dear Marla

Thank you for your detailed review of Duba Plains.
We appreciate your praise and feedback.

We’re sorry to hear your disappointment around your expected lion and buffalo inter action.
As with all safari experiences we are at the mercy of what Mother Nature has in store for us. As you can imagine the buffalo appreciate the respite they receive on Paradise Island for the short while they there as the lions don't pursue them there and thus they have a breather from being hunted and are able to regroup.

It was a pleasure to host you and Alan and we hope you are keeping well.

Kind regards from OT, Antoinette, Pierre and the rest of the Duba Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews